We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location, location, location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save Saved
You added River Hotel to your Saves list
River Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #44 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
1 review
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Location, location, location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2014

We chose the River Hotel solely by internet research, based on location (directly on the river) and the architecture (I'm an architect). It's a quirky/cool highrise from 1928, that looks like a 40-story rocket...a seemingly secret gem that even the locals don't know about - right under their noses. Just steps from Michigan Ave, the River Hotel is really in the center of everything. My wife and I arrived in the early afternoon mid-week and asked for a river-facing room, if available. Pedro, who was running the desk, assigned us a room on the 6th floor with an awesome view due west of all the bridges crossing the river. And directly across the river in full view from our large window: the Marina Towers, the Tribune Tower, a Mies van der Rohe highrise and the recently completed Trump Tower...a visual feast of what Chicago does best! The room was compact but extremely well-designed, and the bathroom was clean and functional. If I could offer one negative comment, the room security card was frequently "glitchy" when we tried to operate the elevators from the main lobby, and we had to summon assistance on several occasions. A minor nuisance - this was one case where the hotel made the trip truly memorable. We stayed 4 nights and for the price this was one of the best hotels I've ever stayed in - and I travel a lot for business.

Room Tip: Absolutely request a room facing the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

539 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    204
    59
    39
    21
See reviews for
64
173
69
112
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (115)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014 via mobile

We stayed for two nights when we ran the RNR Half Marathon this past weekend. We were extremely satisfied about our stay. The room was clean, and we had the best view of the river! We cannot be more than happy with Tania at the front desk!! She was awesome, very helpful and accommodating. We will definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Limassol Cyprus
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2014

I booked a small double room, so I expected it to be so, but it was more than adequate, and sufficient space in the bathroom. Although I was a solo traveler, two people could have coped ok with it, for a good price. It was clean, quiet and comfortable. There was complementary chilled water on every floor and on one floor (2nd or 3rd, I forget) there was complementary coffee and snacks.
The location was ideal, across from the Trump building, the 'corn towers' and the river. It was easy walking distance of the Art Institute and other attractions. The Navy Pier was in walking distance but study the map carefully as there are three different levels. The Cultural Centre is close by and very helpful.
There is a good Italian restaurant in the hotel with a pleasant bar. All the staff were helpful, particularly Gerard at the front desk.
I enjoyed my stay and would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I did not have a river view, but did not mind as I don't sit and look out of the window, but ask...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rochester, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 21, 2014

We just finished a four-night stay at a beautifully renovated room on 17th floor - rich-looking, tasteful and soothing decor. Housekeeping was great. The room was impeccably clean with small, but updated bathrooms. We had a fridge, microwave, and coffee maker.

Aside from the nice room and upkeep, the hotel was notable for three reasons. First, the view from our room pointing WNW right down the Chicago River was amazing. The windows open six inches so if you like sleeping with the windows open to get the night air and hearing the sounds of the city as we did, this is ideal. Second, the hotel offers free bottled water by the elevator on each floor as well as a "linen closet" on every floor where you can borrow one of several irons, ironing boards, extra coffee packets, etc. as needed. A second floor "living room" area offers free capuccino, espresso, biscotti, etc. at any hour. Third, the adjacent restaurant has both indoor and outdoor dining with reasonably priced breakfast and bistro food throughout the day and evening. It exceeds our previous experiences with some four-star hotels in the area. We'll be back.

Room Tip: They are in the process of renovating all rooms. Ask for one that has been already renovated and a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Akron, Ohio
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2014

While visiting Chicago for the first time we chose to stay at this hotel. Check in and check out was a breeze, valet parking was very accommodating, the entire staff that we delt with was freindly, room was clean, comfortable and very modern. The view over looking the city and the river was awesome ...Thank you. The River Hotel was located in an ideal spot of the city to do all the site seeing I had planned for. I would certainly recommed this hotel and would certainly stay here again

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bo'ness, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2014

This hotel is so central and near everything you would wish to see. We had what I think was called a small double but it was plenty big enough for us. There were 6 in our party in 3 rooms and we all enjoyed our stay over Memorial Day weekend. I would certainly recommend this hotel to anyone who wants to be within walking distance of main attractions.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

My wife and I recently stayed for a mom and dad's night out. The room was nice, clean, and comfortable. It was just a little on the small side. Our view however was amazing overlooking the Chicago River.

The rest of the hotel was nice and clean as well. The staff was all very friendly and helpful.

Bonus point for the free bottle water machine.

Room Tip: Get one with a river view
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#49 Family Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service hotel with 121 rooms located on the Chicago river. Just one block north of River Hotel is the magnificent mile, famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center, Grant Park, and Marina City. River Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. River Hotel provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 6 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Hotels.com, Reservation Counter, Agoda, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.