We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy hotel” 1 of 5 stars
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added River Hotel to your Saves list
River Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601 (Downtown / The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #60 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Minneapolis
2 reviews
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Noisy hotel”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2008

I stayed at the hotel three nights. I was very disappointed by the level of noise at night. The doors were EXTREMLY loud. I could not get to sleep my second night there because I heard doors shut the entire night. I was on the 25th floor. In addition to the noise, the hotel somehow lost my reservation in their system and I had to escalate the issue all the way up to management to get it resolved. It wasn't easy. I will never stay at a Club Quarters hotel again.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Level of noise and poor service
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    260
    236
    69
    45
    23
See reviews for
78
208
78
127
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, NY
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 1, 2008

Perfect hotel for a single female traveller. The hotel was clean, convenient, and steps away from major attractions. Easy to access by public transportation. The room is smaller than average, but not too small, and the perfect size for a traveller who is not planning on spending much time in the hotel room anyway. Computers with internet access a plus. Friendly staff. The only gripe I had was the elevators...there are only two of them, so visitors can wait a while for them to arrive.

  • Liked — Location, location, location
  • Disliked — Slow elevators
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bloomington il
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 20, 2008

My husband son and I booked this hotel through the recommendation of my brother who was getting married at the aon center. I booked a room that said it had 2 double beds .When we arrived we found the 2 doubl beds to be two beds pushed together in a room that seemed to be a little bit bigger than a closet. The room we were assigne d never did cool off and with the weather outside being so hot and humid outside it became a huge issue. They eventually gave us another room witch was muchj cooler a slightly larger than the one we had before.The elevator issue really bugged me. It took forever to swipe your card to get the elevator moving. I did like the location because we could just park in a parking garage and then walk or take public transportation if we wanted. Also the desk clerk we dealt with was very helpful. I could not really stand the small rooms so I do not think I would stay there again.

  • Liked — the location
  • Disliked — the small rooms the air conditiong issues and the elevator
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LONG ISLAND NEW YORK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2008

This hotel is in a perfect location to downtown Chicago - couldn't ask for better!
The public transportation/train system is excellent and the hotel is a short 5-10 minute walk to many of the lines.
I took the train from O'Hare and it was super easy !

My room was a basic Club Quarters room - standard amenities.
The staff was very friendly and helpful.

I would most definately stay there again on my next trip to Chicago -

  • Stayed July 2008, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Orange county, ca
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2008

I read the reviews of some folks that have stayed at this location and can't help but disagree with what has been said.

I was booked at this location by way of a seminar I was attending and this was all that was available given that some big conference was happening and that all of the fancy schmancy locations were sold out. Frankly ........... I thought the worst.

Yes the rooms are a little on the small side but well big enough to sleep and get some rest. This was not a problem for me as the condition of the rooms are very first class with regard to the remodeled details

There was a beautiful view of the river and Michigan Ave. as well as the Trump hotel for me. The best part was that the room, though facing Wacker, was quiet, the was bed comfortable, the air conditioning was accurate and held tempurature. the TV (though with a kind of small screen) worked fine, and the elevators, for my stay at least, were quick and efficient.

There are plenty of places to eat in and around this location so for those that expect genuflecting from the bell staff by calling room service, instead of complaining about the small stuff, maybe you who lament need to get out and get some exercise/fresh air. The location is primo ........ you should take advantage of the change to get some increase in your heart rate.

I didn't expect to like this location initially but left with a high regard for what was there and how it was presented. Even the "bottled water" that some complain about was a nice touch. They didn't have to provide that service and I liked the idea that at least someone thought out of the box.

I totally recommend this hotel to those of you that like a nice spot in a good location but are not hung up on suite type rooms that are far bigger than you need nor are necessary to have your ego or corporate power demonstrated.

A quiet, comfortable bed and a place to clean up for the day ahead .........what more is necessary?

Club Quarters was very close to five stars in my book.

  • Liked — it was all good
  • Disliked — the exercise room was out of orded but that forced a very kool river walk ==== better than a treadmill
  • Stayed June 2008, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2008

We stayed at the Club Quarters for 4 nights at the end of May. We had a very good experience.

Hotel is steps from Michigan Avenue and the start of the Magnificent Mile. It is only a few blocks from such attractions as the John Hancock building, Millenium Park, Wendella Boat Tours, and the Chicago Theater District. We had a great view of the Chicago River and the Trump International tower from our hotel room.

Rooms were a tad small, but it wasn't as bad as some let on. The water bottle/water dispensers on every floor were handy and innovative. They have a room on every floor that has extra pillows, blankets, toiletries, etc. for your stay. It was quiet, efficient, and great. We also had a night where we ate at the restaurant in the hotel - Bella Bacino's. Very tasty and well priced!

Great find, reasonable rates, convenient location!

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2008

Great location! That is the best part. The rooms are small - but who cares, you're not in Chicago to hang out in your room. The bathroom was very clean, and the shower had great pressure. The air conditioning was also good. Also, this hotel was affordable.
Here comes the bad news - the duvet stunk terribly like B.O.! Give you the gag reflex stinky. The elevator wait time is long. The front desk staff seem to not have a clue about Chicago. When we asked for tips on a good sports bar, they could only provide "ESPN". Luckily, a friend recommended Mother Hubbards so we were able to get a better feel for true Chicago. The bar/resturant attached is SLOW to bring you a new drink when you run dry. Buzz kill.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — stinky duvet
Stayed June 2008
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Downtown / The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#46 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#59 Family Hotel in Chicago
#60 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 121
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service hotel with 121 rooms located on the Chicago river. Just one block north of River Hotel is the magnificent mile, famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center, Grant Park, and Marina City. River Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. River Hotel provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 6 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook, Hotels.com, Agoda and HotelTravel.com so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.