We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Reasonable price for perfect location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of River Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added River Hotel to your Saves list
River Hotel
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601 (The Loop)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Now and Save More!
Ranked #56 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Draper, Utah
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Reasonable price for perfect location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2013

I attended a conference at the McCormick center in Oct. I declined to stay in the hotel adjacent to the convention center and stayed here instead. I'm glad I did. It was easy to get around the city using CTA and Metra. The hotel overlooks the Chicago river and is right across from the Trump Tower. I had a room on the corner of the hotel with excellent views. There are no shortage of good restaurants in the area. The hotel is right at the top of Michigan Avenue. Bus stops are right outside the hotel. The nearest CTA stops are a manageable 3-4 blocks. The room was small, but clean, comfortable and quiet (although the sound of emergency vehicles can bounce around between buildings and make some noise). The first night we stayed, they were filming a movie in the street in front of the hotel (maybe Transformers 4?). I was surprised how clean and safe this area of Chicago felt. While there are plenty of panhandlers in the area, they were rarely aggressive. When we checked out the last day, they were nice enough to hold our bags for us and give them to us later that evening (we had a late flight). The staff was always willing to help out. The fitness center was just fine, it had everything I need. I really enjoyed my stay in Chicago and the location of this hotel was a big part of it. Take some time to get to know how to use the public transportation. It's reliable, convenient to the hotel, and inexpensive.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

575 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    219
    64
    43
    21
See reviews for
66
188
72
119
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
West Seattle
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
108 helpful votes 108 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2013

We spent 5 days at this conveniently located hotel in September. There were many restaurants within walking distance and we walked to Solider stadium for the football game as well. (Long walk). The rooms were small, but a $20/night upgrade gave us a mini-suite which included a tub (regular rooms are very small and have showers). Free Wi-Fi and free bottled water was appreciated. Staff were friendly and the onsite restaurant served us a tasty breakfast (not included).

Room Tip: Pay $20/night upgrade to get a larger room - very much worth it.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Urbana, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2013

Great location, clean, updated and efficient room, and very knowledgeable and helpful staff. This was our first stay at the River, and we will stay there again. I'm not sure what differentiates the River from Club Quarters, I expect it is a marketing tool?
Thanks Pedro for your help!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2013

We stay in this hotel for one night, 2 days. The room was amusing, we could share it with my mother and sister since it was like an apartment with 2 baths and little kitchen. Super great location but not pool. People was very nice too

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013

Fantastic location, updated rooms, and easy in & out. While the window was small, the view down the Chicago River was impressive. I'd stay here again! I liked the environmental aspects, with the bottled water refills and an emphasis on recycling. Also ate at the attached restaurant. Good Italian food!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Haven, Connecticut
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2013

I recently stayed at the River Hotel while in Chicago for a business meeting. I didn't realize at the time that I booked the reservation that it is essentially the same hotel as ClubQuarters, to which I hold a membership. When I asked if I could get the Club rate, the staff was extremely accommodating. The room was clean, had a microwave and mini fridge. Staff was very pleasant and helpful. It is close to everything, and I had a great view of the Chicago river. I used the fitness room, which was basic but clean. Free wifi is hard to find in hotels these days, so that was extremely helpful too.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sunnyvale CA
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2013

I'm a American Airlines Flight Attendant and this was my first time at our new layover Hotel..

We walk in and was greet my a professional check-in desk employee...TIm and sorry I can't remember the Africa American gentlemen name...there were professional, friendly and super help. One of them told us about a Irish Pub that give us 20% off and that is a great bonus for flight crew...

The room was clean and very nice...Those my TV is small...and needs to be look at...the picture was too dark or too lite....I will report that before I leave today.

Overall a great hotel...very clean, very friendly and professional staff..

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to River Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about River Hotel

Address: 75 East Wacker Drive, (also known as Club Quarters), Chicago, IL 60601
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > The Loop
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#63 Business Hotel in Chicago
#66 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — River Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 243
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Private, full service hotel with 121 rooms located on the Chicago river. Just one block north of River Hotel is the magnificent mile, famous for shopping. The hotel is a convenient walk to the Chicago Cultural Center, Grant Park, and Marina City. River Hotel is the best value hotel based on quality and the prime location. River Hotel provides:• Safe, restricted entry• Instant registration and check out• Free high speed internet access throughout the hotel• Onsite restaurant • Multi-menu in room dining options (through onsite restaurant and many local restaurants)• Refrigerator and microwave available• Unlimited complimentary chilled purified bottled water • 6 meeting and event rooms available (maximum reception style 120 people)• Free use of computer/printer • Ergonomic workstations• State of the art guest rooms with premium bedding• Contemporary furnishings• Flat panel HD TVs• Complimentary coffee and tea• 24 hour guest service desk • Fitness room • Exercise equipment delivered to guest room upon request • Corporate Apartments available • Value rates. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Agoda, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your River Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
River Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Chicago
Club Quarters Hotel Chicago
Club Quarters Wacker Michigan

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage River Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.