We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gorgeous hotel!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dayton
1 review
“Gorgeous hotel!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2014

This hotel is probably the nicest hotel I have ever stayed at! Beautiful renovations and super high quality modern features with a youthful funky twist. Perfect for any age. My husband and I stayed here for 3 nights in the king suite (rm 1402). The view from the living room faced Ohio street and the bedroom window faced the air shaft with the acrobats. I have no complaints what so ever about this hotel. Staff was friendly and helpful from beginning to end. Oh and if anyone is wondering their parking is literally right next door. Love, love, LOVE!

Stayed August 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 26, 2014
Hi, Corapple25!

Thanks for the fantastic review! I'm thrilled that you and your husband enjoyed your ACME experience so much. It's great to hear your thoughts on the hotel and that our staff were so helpful. I really hope we can look forward to seeing you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    457
    225
    41
    13
    9
See reviews for
120
284
42
120
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (193)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Stockholm, Sweden
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2014

Oh my, the location was so good. Next to Eataly and Nordstroms for example. Nice, smart looking room. Good wifi. Printed some stuff on the computer on the ground floor, worked excellently. Coffee service was great, even if they forgot us one morning. I loved the bathroom, nice shower and light.
Choose this hotel if you want a good location (did I mention Nordstroms?). Nice to have a drink in the bar before dinner. The staff at the bar was five star!

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks, Anna T, for your review! It's great to hear all that you enjoyed about your stay with us. I'm glad you were able to enjoy The Berkshire Room and some of our other amenities. We hope to have you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Palmyra, Virginia, United States
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 44 cities Reviews in 44 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

A friend suggested the Acme, and it was absolutely perfect for us. We were in town for 2 nights, primarily to attend a game at Wrigley Field (checking off a bucket list item). We parked in the hotel's designated garage around the corner and never moved the car again until we left. The hotel is in walking distance to the boat tours (take the architectural tour from the art institute), Millennium Park and the "Bean", has plenty of restaurant options nearby (next door to Eatilly where I had the best pizza ever), and the red line for the L is right behind it - straight show to Wrigley. The knock and drop coffee is great (1 container = 2 cups of coffee), and the attached bakery is very good. For anyone concerned it may be too hip for you - don't be. We are in our late 50's and 60's and LOVED it. The price is excellent. Thanks for a wonderful stay Acme!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks, Sue R, for such a fantastic review! It's great to hear that you loved your ACME experience. I'm so glad you had a wonderful stay, and I hope we can look forward to having you back next time you are in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, Rhode Island
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014

Staff and service was top notch. Showed up from an early flight at like 9am. They said they would call us when a room was ready and took our luggage for us. Called a bit later to say room was ready. Luggage was brought to room quickly. The room itself is small. Bathroom is nice and typical size but actual room was a bit too small for me. If I were booking I would upgrade to a larger room. Great location. They have a cheap mini bar but there is no fridge for your use. No you cannot take out the mini bar stuff, it is like a vending machine and it automatically goes on your bill as soon as you lift the cover to get something. Beers only $5, water only $2. They have snacks on a tray too but you can't pick them up to see how much is in them cause they go on your bill as soon as you remove them. Location is great. Free knock and drop coffee delivered to your room is very cool, along with a daily USA Today.

I requested a room high up and got one on the top floor (!5th), it didn't have a view but was really quiet. The Berkshire room downstairs is very cool but a little trendy for me. The bakery had good food for a quick breakfast and there are other breakfast places close by.

To sum it up, really like the hotel except for the room size, If I were to stay again I would definitely see about upgrading room. Lots of cool ideas and quirks, super good service and super nice staff!!!!

Room Tip: upgrade room size
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks for your feedback, Mikez428!

It's great to hear all that you enjoyed about your stay. I'm glad that you found our staff service so accommodating as it is definitely something we strive for! We greatly hope you'll stay with us again next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2014 via mobile

This was a pleasant surprise. Trendy and fresh but not overdone. Location is great, walking distance to everything. We recommend whole foods a couple of blocks north and lunch/dinner is nice just on the corner at Weber grill. Coming from a country were eating out is expensive, both mentioned are great value. Regarding the hotel itself I must complement on the free coffee and newspaper delivered to the room in the morning, just remember to "order" from the helpful people in the reception the evening before. The rooms are what one can expect, bed was fine, WiFi worked satisfactory and the TV channels were plentiful. Don't miss the hot tub in the "cellar". After a long days walk (for us in quite chilly temperatures) the hot tub was a very nice feature of the hotel.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 11, 2014
Thanks, M203_sweden, for the great review! It's great to hear that you were able to enjoy several of our amenities, such as the Morning Joe service and the hot tub. I'm glad you enjoyed your time with us! We hope to have you back again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Plata, Maryland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2014

My wife and I stayed here this week while we moved our daughter to the Chicago area and when we go back to visit, we'll stay here again. The best service was the knock and drop morning coffee. They deliver your morning coffee so you don't have to fumble about with one of those silly in room machines. The front desk staff were pleasant and professional with spot on recommendations. You walk into the door and you can feel the trendy energy that the "W" used to have. The bar has an impressive selection of Single Malts and Bourbon, if that's your thing. Definitely one of the best boutique hotels I've stayed in in a long time.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Hi, Bill M!

Thanks for the fantastic review! It's great to hear all that you enjoyed about your stay. I'm glad you found our staff so helpful and that you were able to enjoy The Berkshire Room. We look forward to seeing you again, hopefully soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kingston, Canada
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2014

The room is on the small side with modern decor and the bed is large and comfortable. I was on the fifth floor and the room was extremely quiet. Enjoyed having morning coffee delivered in a thermus by the hotel staff to your door and the pastry shop on the first floor was great. Across the street is a terrific grocery store that sells fresh squeezed orange juice, fresh breads and cheese, prepared meals and has a good selection of wine. Walking from this location to many major restaurants, magnificient mile (shopping) and architectural boat tours is easy from the hotel location. For those going abit afield, the doorman is only too happy to whistle a cab for you.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gabrielle K, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, August 9, 2014
Thanks, WilliamBiol, for your feedback. I'm so glad to hear that you enjoyed your stay at the ACME. It's great that you enjoyed our Morning Joe service and our fantastic location. Please come back again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#23 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Venere, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.