We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Free coffee, free wi-fi, and great location!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
Miami, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Free coffee, free wi-fi, and great location!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Add possibly best night's sleep ever in a hotel room, and what's not to love? Great location off State Street - easy walk to the Loop, Michigan Avenue. Spacious modern room with amazingly comfortable bed, small seating area, under-counter frig and microwave, and blackout shades which made the room super-dark for sleeping. While the views (inside courtyard one side and parking garage on the other) were nothing to brag about, we heard virtually no street noise on either the 10th or 13th floor. Coffee was delivered quietly to our door each morning as promised (although it would have been nice to have milk and sweetener). Staff was friendly and helpful. My daughter used the small gym and was happy that it was available 24-hours. Cake pops and coffee in shop off lobby were delicious. Bar looked fun; sorry I didn't have a drink there. Pay in advance/no cancellation deal was worth it. I'd absolutely stay next time I'm in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 26, 2013
Hi, BethDMia!

Thank you so much for the wonderful review. It's so great that you enjoyed your ACME experience. I'm glad you loved the Morning Joe service as it's something we're proud to offer. I'm sorry you went without the creamers and sweetener! We always leave some in the room, but as with anything at the ACME, ask and you shall receive! Please come back again and try out The Berkshire. We'd love to know what you think!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

698 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    435
    207
    37
    11
    8
See reviews for
110
271
37
109
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (191)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Seattle, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

i stayed at the acme hotel for 3 nights during a recent trip to chicago. it was my first time in the city and the acme was really easy to find and very conveniently located. the room was on the 7th floor, fairly spacious with a great bathroom. it was dark as the windows pointed toward a pretty dark courtyard (that is not used for any meaningful purpose) but very quiet. in fact, i never heard a peep from any of my neighbors on that floor. the room wasn't exactly a room that i'd hang out all day in, but it was definitely quite comfortable.

the staff members were super kind and were very helpful in terms of pointing me around. there is a grocery store <1 block away and a trader joe's about another block away. there is no fridge in the room (other than the mini-bar), though. the hotel is only about a block away from a metro station -- very easy to get to/from the airport.

speaking of the mini-bar -- mine was super noisy. i didn't mentioned this to the staff and i should have. about once or twice per hour, it would make a very loud knocking noise that was pretty disruptive. i am a good sleeper and am not totally sure if it occurred at night, but it certainly occurred during the hours that i was awake.

mini-bar noise aside, i thought this was an excellent find and would definitely stay here again.

Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi, Iisach!

Thanks for the review! We're so glad you found the ACME for your first trip to Chicago and that you enjoyed your stay with us. I apologize about the noise you experienced from your mini bar. Had you contacted the front desk, they would have taken care of the problem right away! When you visit again (and we hope that you do!), never hesitate to come to us with any of your needs or concerns. We aim to please!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sun City Center, Florida
Top Contributor
129 reviews 129 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
48 helpful votes 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013

What a great concept....nice clean rooms, modern furniture, central location, great atmosphere, beds are comfortable, hardwood floors, reasonable price, free wi-fi, complimentary coffee in the morning and reasonable breakfast choices for a fee, staff are friendly and knowledgeable (all were great, especially to Calo and Carlos).

Get a 3 day bus pass for $20 and you can go anywhere on the subway or bus system. Bus and subway stops are 2 blocks away. Lots of restaurants in the area.too.

If you like clean and friendly, with some fun thrown in, and don't need a fancy lobby or ornate furnishings, this is a great place to stay.

We stayed in room 401 and it was very pleasant - faced the street. Our friends stayed in 404 and they had the ladies on the trapeze outside their window. (great fun, manequins of lady trapeze artists, take a picture).

Room Tip: 401 faces the street...not noisy at all. I believe our friends were on the East side where the trap...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi, Steve B!

What a fantastic review! Thanks very much. It's great to hear when guests appreciate all that the ACME has to offer. We're so glad you liked the mannequins (we love them too!). We'll pass your compliments to our staff. We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tampa, Florida
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2013

Have stayed at several Chicago hotels and the ACME hotel is tops in bang for your buck. Excellent room, clean, quiet, great bed. We stayed 3 nights and didn't have a bad night sleep ever. Got an interior room...saved on price and any possible noise. Close to everything we wanted. There is a grocery store less than one block away, and visited it daily for snacks and drinks. Would have liked a mini refrigerator in the room, but perhaps on our next visit there will be one. Not a huge room, but met every need we had. Will be back.

Room Tip: Get a non city view for quieter room, as well as savings.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hi, Greg O!

Thanks for the great review! I'm so glad we were able to make your stay so enjoyable. When you book with us in the future, you might prefer our Standard Double Queen room or one of our suites. Both offer a microwave and mini fridge for guest use. Please visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bethesda, Maryland
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2013

This is a real find in the somewhat sanitized River North neighborhood. The hotel has a great bar, rooms are clean comfortable and very hip. The coffee service in the morning cannot be beat. Rooms are well decorated and fantastic for someone looking for a great place that is not a Hilton, etc etc. I highly recommend this hotel. Fantastic location right next to the Grand Ave Red Line and with plenty of places to eat and drink. (The Berkshire room is awesome for cocktails) There is a trader Joe's and Whole Foods close by as well if you want to self cater. The only thing that would make the rooms perfect is a small fridge rather than the vending fridge in the rooms.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 12, 2013
Hello, Drunkmuppet!

Many thanks for the wonderful review. I'm so glad you enjoyed your stay and were able to enjoy our new Berkshire Lounge! Your recommendation is much appreciated. When you book again, ask for one of our Double Queen rooms or one of our suites. They are equipped with a microwave and mini fridge for guest use. We hope to see you again in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

The Acme Hotel Co. was absolutely a delightful surprise! When you first walk into the hotel you know that you are in for a treat. The staff is kind and very knowledgable. The decor is fantastic! When you enter your room you step into a fun kitcy place that has all of the acommodations that one needs while traveling. Let's start with the spacious living area that includes a wet bar with a microwave and refrigerator. The desk includes a charging station already equiped with the most common outlets. This left the electrical outlets available for other gadgets if needed. Two very comfy robes were also provided in our room and we took full advantage of them. The bathroom was a decorators dream. The mirror had a giant set of red lips in the corner and the mirror remained backlight at all times which provided us with a great nightlight. The shower had a rainfall shower head and really great pressure for a very comfortable shower. If I have to nit-pick about anything I would say it was the water pressure in the sink. It was a bit low for my liking. However, if that is my only complaint about this room then that can be overlooked.
The last bit of daily fun we enjoyed in our room was the chalkboard on the outside of each room. Many left messages of "Do not disturb" but we used this to leave fun quotes and sayings each day. Many of our neighbors also did the same. As for location, it really couldn't have been much better. Only two blocks from Michigan Ave. and within a block of the Red Line you could get anywhere in the city in a matter of minutes. Captain Carl, the
Concierge, was very helpful with information and directions for the city. He went out of his way to greet us each day and ask if there was anything he could do for us. I most certainly will travel to Chicago again and I will absolutely stay at the Acme Hotel Co every visit.

Room Tip: I can't imagine a bad room in this hotel. We stayed on the 14th floor and it was quiet and very...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Hello, MsPepper,

Thanks for such a fantastic review! I'm so glad you were able to appreciate all that the ACME has to offer. I will make sure to tell Karl about your kind words; he'll be glad to hear that he helped make your stay so delightful! We hope to see you again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 5, 2013

Booked this after rave reviews on Tripadvisor. Got a great rate on another site. You will not be disappointed. Brand new bar downstairs with friendly staff. Perfect location. LOve the 'knock and drop' free coffee delivery right to the door. Each time I called it was there in a few moments. Great little shop with baked treats downstairs or many yummy breakfast places in area. Give it a shot! See how many of the albums that us baby boomers used to listen to are now hanging in the elevator......

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#18 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#21 Business Hotel in Chicago
#26 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, BookIt.com, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.