We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice Stay at Acme Hotel” 4 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 167 hotels in Chicago
New Delhi, India
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Nice Stay at Acme Hotel”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 20, 2013

We stayed at this hotel while on a trip for a conference. Its a nice little place in Downtown Chicago. At first sight, it looked crammed, but the rooms were well done. There's not a good view from the rooms but comfortable. The beds were very comfy. The morning coffee from Joe is a welcome drink. The breakfast is well laid out. The services were prompt too. The best part is the access to various parts of the city...by road, walk, subway...all are within reach. Nice stay!

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello, drtilaktvs!

Thanks for taking the time to write such a kind review. I'm so glad you were able to try our Knock-and-Drop breakfast service and that you enjoyed it! I think you'd love our City View Queen, which has all the comfort you experienced already plus a view overlooking Ohio Street. We'd love to have you back again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

501 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    313
    148
    25
    9
    6
See reviews for
82
183
30
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (136)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 19, 2013

GROUP SIZE:
2 we are a young couple in our early 30's, married 8 years

TRAVEL STYLE:
Flashpacker with occasional splurge.

TRIP ITINERARY:
3 days

---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------
Hotel Review
---------------------------------------------------------------------------------------------

Welcome/Check-In:
Checking in was quick and easy. Service was attentive and cordial.

Room Cleanliness:
Awesome rooms. Clean and modern decor. Adequate space.

Bathroom Cleanliness:
Super clean bathrooms with modern contemporary design.

Location:
Great location downtown.

Staff:
The staff at this hotel was friendly.

Hang-ups:
Wouldve given the hotel a 5 star - but about a couple hours upon our departure, I realized I left a blazer in the closet. I called the hotel - they said that they had not found anything after cleaning the room.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newmarket, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 14, 2013

My boyfriend and I stayed for three nights and four days. We chose to sleep in a king suite. There was no view but that's what the exploring is for. The bed was very comfortable and clean. The hotel itself is super modern and pretty cool looking. Just be careful, the snack machine in the room is electroically sensored so if you pick up the container to look at it, you're automatically charged $5.

We did not see the spa or the pool.

Overall, awesome stay! I would book here again.

Room Tip: Get the coffee delivered to your room. It's free and actually really good!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hi, Sara J!

Thanks for your excellent review! I'm glad you enjoyed the hotel room and our complimentary "Morning Joe" service! However, I am sorry if the mini bar was any inconvenience; I do hope our front desk agents were able to reverse any erroneous charges! We always aim to please, so visit us again for another awesome stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chehalis, WA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013

Our 4-day stay was excellent. All the essential services (including robes, free internet, luxury shower) were there without paying for the extras we never use: No garage, no valet parking, no bellboys, no cavernous lobby, no 24/7 activities for kids, so it was perfect for us. The view room was beautiful even with the regular sirens - turn the fan on high and the street sounds mostly disappear. We slept perfectly except for a few slammed doors by those who don't respect their fellow travelers. Spend a little time getting to know the Chicago transit system and you can go anywhere, anytime, in a few minutes from this hotel. We were also surrounded by excellent restaurants of all kinds and a market only a half block away. It was our best city hotel stay ever.

Room Tip: Ohio Street (11th floor) spectacular view had loud motorcycles and sirens which were mostly erased b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 26, 2013
Hello, JohnMarieChehalis_WA!

We've had compliments before, but to say we were your "best city hotel stay ever," well, we just couldn't be happier! Our ultimate goal is always to create a perfect hotel experience for our guests, and I'm so glad we lived up to those standards for your recent trip. Please visit us again next time you're in Chicago!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, AZ
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

We found this hotel by chance and were astounded at the great rate of $149 (plus $35 for parking at adjacent garage). It is located right downtown, right next to the original Pizzaria Uno. We walked to Navy Pier and all around doentown. The rooms are small but comfortable, exceptionally clean, functional, and with upscale amenities. The design is is quirky-think upscale, new, industrial. The rainhead shower was nice, but would have beed nice if it had a little more pressure. The free coffee service delivered on request was a cool bonus. Also, there is a coffee station in the lobby 24 hrs a day. The staff was very friendly and helpful. We will absolutely stay here the next time we come to Chicago!

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Thanks, cruisin_doodles, for such a wonderful review! I'm glad you stumbled upon the ACME and found it so enjoyable. We really are lucky to have such a great location downtown. There is always something to do a stone's throw away! We'd love to have you back, so come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Woodbury, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

I went to Chicago for the first time with my boyfriend last August and I selected ACME to stay at after reading reviews and looking at the pictures. The trip was very memorable, not only did we get to stay at a great hotel that is fun and funky, I also got engaged on that trip, so I will always remember this trip and where we stayed.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello, Melissa M!

Congratulations on your engagement! We are honored to be a part of such a great memory. I'm glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 9, 2013

Perfect spot right off the L train Red line. There are many great restaurants and of course the Magnificant Mile is only a few blocks away. The room was very comfortable and very clean. I really enjoyed the free coffee each morning delivered to our room. The bathroom was brand new and had a shower and bathtub.

My only complaint was I was hoping that the bar fridge could be used to store my own bottle water and milk but unfortunately not all rooms have this type of fridge. The front desk were very helpful as was Karl the concierge.
I would definitely come back to this Hotel when in Chicago

Room Tip: Apparently you can upgrade to a room with a few. We were at the back of the building staring at a b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Front Office Manager at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, May 18, 2013
Hello, Linda O!

Thanks for staying at the ACME! We are definitely lucky to have such a fantastic location in downtown Chicago. I'm glad you we able to enjoy your stay with us! I'll let the front desk staff and Karl know about your kind words.

I apologize about the inconvenience with your fridge. When you come back, you might be interested in a suite. Due to it's larger size, it can hold a mini fridge for guest use. We are always willing to accommodate guest needs when possible! Hope to see you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Also Known As:
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn
Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Family Hotel in Chicago
#21 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#27 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Jetsetter, Travelocity, Expedia, JackRabbit Systems, Hotels.com, Tingo, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.