We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Uncommon Beauty” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
3RD NIGHT FREE
Ranked #23 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Newport, RI
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“An Uncommon Beauty”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

We chose the Acme for several reasons: it's very conveniently located on the other side of the block from a subway station, the rate was great for in the city, and the reviews here on TA were pretty dang good. We're very glad we did- it certainly lived up to our expectations.

Pros:

- The king bed was extremely comfortable, if a little high off the floor. The linens were clean and crisp, though we did stash the roll pillow in the corner for the duration (I guess they look good in photos, but I find them completely impractical.)

- The room was wicked clean. I especially appreciated the fact that the floor was hardwood rather than carpeted; nothing is worse than feeling creeped out by walking barefoot on a questionable hotel room carpet.

- I loved the free thermos full of coffee that was placed outside our door each morning; I'd open it, let it cool and make iced coffee to carry with me throughout the morning. and the staff members were friendly and helpful.

- The decor is industrial-hip; we liked it. Chalkboards on the doors are such a cool way to communicate with housekeeping and other staff, or for a DND sign. Our room had no view but I didn't really miss it- I figured that not facing street meant a quieter night- it worked.

- Our laptop fit in the safe!!! Why don't other places get bigger safes?

Cons: none of these is a deal breaker for us; just little things that could be improved upon.

- They need more hooks to hang coats, clothing, garment bags.

- The shower/tub doesn't have a curtain or door; there's just a piece of glass between the shower and the toilet. It's hard for short folks like me to reach in there and turn on the water without getting wet.

- You can buy their drinks from their fridge in the room, but there's no place to put your water bottle or leftovers from dinner.

- There are bags of snacks on the bedside table linked to an inventory control system. Basically, if you pick it up, you've bought it. Being allergic to chocolate and not interested in the other offerings, I called to front desk and asked them to remove the snacks. (We were going to be there for 5 nights; what if we knocked into the thing?) Anyhow, they were very accommodating, and even pointed out to us at check-out that the snack fee had been reversed.

Overall, we thoroughly enjoyed our stay and would absolutely return.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Filmaker111!
Love all your comments about the ACME and we’re thrilled we lived up to your expectations. Our housekeeping staff especially appreciates you commenting on the wicked clean room, they put such an incredible amount of pride into their work and so often it goes un-noticed! Glad you thought the chalkboards on the doors were cool, we’ve seen some really cool and creative artwork and now that you mention it, maybe we should start posting some online!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

827 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    510
    247
    46
    15
    9
See reviews for
131
316
46
142
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (196)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bristol, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

A friend and I stayed for a week at the ACME hotel - I booked a room there as a surprise and we weren't disappointed! From the word go the hotel staff were friendly and helpful, always answering any questions we had. The room itself was comfortable and quiet (just what you want from a hotel), with a big sumptuous bed and very practical layout for the smallish space. It all just worked really well. Even the complementary toiletries were noteworthy. We had the breakfast for some but not all of the days - at only $5 it's a real bargain and a good way to start the day with the free hot drinks available. If you want a lazy day or to recover in the evening from a day exploring Chicago, there's a sauna (one minor point: no bucket of water to splash on the hot rocks) and hot tub in the basement.

In summary, we found the place fun and quirky yet every effort made to be comfortable, and would definitely stay there again. I'd go as far as to say it's by far the best hotel I've stayed in for room quality vs price.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, February 15, 2013
Hello Benjamonio!
Thank you for staying at the ACME! We’re thrilled your surprise turned out as a fun, quirky and memorable one for you and your friend. We have our Bakery and Lounge opening towards the end of April, will be a great addition to the hot tub and sauna at the end of the day. Look forward to seeing you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elk Grove Village, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

My husband booked an overnight through groupon as we had a "ghost hunting" tour booked. I said, "Acme -- like the cartoon stuff?" WELLLLLLLL, to my surprise, I wasn't too impressed walking in, though parking was complimentary (really, in Chi-town?) .... Yup it was.

The concierge/bellman was amazing .... then we walked in to get our keys. Amazingly friendly and happy staff!!! Got to our room and allow me to say, WE WERE BLOWN AWAY!!!! We had a King Suite which was huge! The deco was amazing and I loved the LIP mirror in the bathroom. The bed was ultra comfortable and we had a great night's sleep. We also got breakfast which was great. 24 hour coffee, smiles galore from the staff, good sleep, great location!!! Avoid the BRAND NAME hotels .... you'll never regret the great ambience of this place.

The only down side is we missed the upcoming restaurant and lounge but we'll savor that for a future visit!

Kudos to the staff -- we loved meeting each of you!

NOW, I'M STILL TRYING TO FIND OUT WHERE TO BUY THE DOWN COMFORTER AND PILLOWS -- Serta doesn't offer them. Please email me!!!

Room Tip: We stayed in a King Suite, upper floor! Views were spectacular!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello dnovoryta!
We are pleased that the Acme exceeded your first impressions! The Lips on the mirror are a big hit with the guests (and a favorite of the staff too)! We appreciate your high praise of our staff as we work very hard to make everyone’s stay at the Acme a memorable one! Your comments will be passed along to the staff; it makes our day when we hear from guests that we succeeded. Our Bakery and Lounge will be opening in April, which means you will have to visit us again and let us know what you think! Also, let us know if you received the email with the information on our comforters and pillows. If not, call me and we will get that out to you again. We at the Acme look forward to your future visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 10, 2013

The Acme Hotel has a good location, comfortable beds, and fun, quirky decor. We had three rooms on the 5th floor - two of which were suites. The suites were especially nice with plenty of seating for hanging out, good natural light and a nice view of the Bloomingdales, etc. across the street. We actually prefer the transponder for parking (vs valet). The coffee and breakfast was tasty and convenient. The fresh fruit cup was high quality. The ice machine did wake us once. The album covers inside the elevators were fun, as was the chalk board by the door.

Room Tip: Suites overlooking Bloomingdales are roomy, with nice light.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, January 31, 2013
Hello CDLZ,
Thank you for staying with us! We are so happy you and your family enjoyed the extras of the ACME, especially our Morning Joe and our Knock and Drop breakfast. You may have noticed our Bakery and Lounge are under construction and we can’t wait to add these amenities for you! We look forward to seeing you and your family in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2013

I completely agree with everything marys530 said. I had a Groupon and even though they said on the phone they only had 2 of my 3 nights available, when we got there we were able to get the 3rd night after all. Staff was the best--very friendly and helpful. I was more than pleased with the cleanliness of the room and comfort of the bed. Bathroom was plenty big and nice to have the fridge in the room. Very convenient location for being on foot downtown. We parked the car most of the time. A beautiful Bloomingdale store right across the street (home goods only)--a former Shrine building I think. Lots of restaurants nearby. My husband enjoyed the coffee every morning. I got a breakfast sandwich with bacon but didn't care for it as the bacon was cold--not recently cooked. Did enjoy the fruit, yogurt and juice. No view out the window but we weren't in the room that much anyway. For our first stay in Chicago we were very comfortable and felt it was a good deal.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Hello tnnightowl,

We're glad our guests can agree on at least one thing: ACME is fantastic! We try our hardest to accommodate all our guests, because well...we love all of you! Glad you enjoyed the stunning architecture of Bloomingdales, which used to be the Medinah Temple. But don’t forget to look closely at the architecture of the Tree Studio Building next time you’re here, also right across the road and which housed so many famous artists over the years. Our suites and city view queens have great views of our fabulous city. In the spring, we will be unveiling our bakery and lounge. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 28, 2012

There was much to like about this new hotel - we booked a king suite that looked out over Ohio Street and provided a nice view of the Hancock Tower. The living room included a small fridge and a microwave/wet bar. The TV had dozens of channels, and the wifi was reliable. The glowing lips nightlight was awesome, and the bathroom itself was well-stocked and clean. The bedroom provided us with a very comfortable king-sized bed.

The only downsides to this property are ones already mentioned by other reviewers: 1) there is no valet; we took a little transponder and parked our car in a nearby garage; 2) the noise from the hallways, while infrequent, was certainly audible; 3) the heating unit was LOUD.

When we checked in the manager was answering calls on a walkie talkie, and frankly, we did not exactly feel welcomed. However, aside from that, all of our interactions with the staff were great.

I found this experience to be one step below my experiences with Kimpton properties in Chicago, but I'm glad that I tried out the Acme, and I would consider staying again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hello chatto,

Thanks for taking the time to write this review. We are glad you enjoyed the room and the lips on the mirror (a personal favorite of mine). We apologize for not making you feel welcome at check-in. Even while busy, guest's are our #1 priority and there is no excuse for the reception you received at check-in. We have taken your comments into consideration and are working to reduce noise pollution for our guests. We will definitely welcome you back with open arms next time you are in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peoria, Illinois
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2012

We made reservations at the Acme because the location was perfect. December in Chicago means shopping and dining and there are a ton of places within walking distance. We purposely booked a small room because we go to Chicago to spend time out and about, not looking at a strange painting over the bed. The Acme had a fantastic rate for such an area. My wife, who is a total clean freak, found the room and bathroom to be immaculate. The staff was always polite and helpful. In fact when we checked out one of the managers, Jennifer Cunningham, sincerely asked about our stay and what they could do to improve. Our reply, "Don't change a thing." Great hotel, great staff, great location!

Room Tip: Speak directly to Jennifer and tell her your needs. She will do everything to make sure you have a g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, January 2, 2013
Hi NPeach,

Thanks for staying at the ACME Hotel! We're glad we passed your wife's cleaniless standards. Thanks for your high praise of our staff as well. Jennifer says to come back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#17 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#29 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Number of rooms: 130
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, T4B, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Expedia, Priceline, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookIt.com, Booking.com, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.