We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #23 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Sao Jose Do Rio Preto, SP
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Great place”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2012

Awesome, the best location in Chicago. Friendly staff, good breakfast, near dowtown, wifi free. Perfect for single travelers or couples. You can leave your luggage, they take care of it. I bought a seven day metro ticket, but the hotel was so close of everything that I rarely use it.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello LucasBovo,

Thanks for describing us as awesome! We understand that it's easier to explore the city when you don't have to drag all of your luggage with you everywhere. This is why we offer luggage storage for free. As you discovered, we are so close to all major attractions here in Chicago. Take care and come see us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

579 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    355
    175
    32
    11
    6
See reviews for
90
216
33
96
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (162)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Orlando, Florida
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

My daughter and I stayed here 11/02/12 - 11/05/12 and we only have kudos for this hotel . Spotless unique room , courteous staff and fabulous area for a family to stay. Only 2 blocks from Michigan Ave , it is close enough for the vibe of Magnificent mile and yet quiet for families to get the best sleep at night. Breakfast included was a plus ! Planning our next trip there :)

Room Tip: city view king suite was wonderful to see the skyline at night
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi Kim N,

Thanks for the kudos! Our housekeeping works tirelessly to make sure our rooms are clean and welcoming to all our guests. Our staff understands how confusing the big city can be, and accommodates accordingly. We now offer our “Knock and Drop” breakfast service to compliment the free “morning joe” delivery, 3 great options to choose from, the “Artist”, a Breakfast Baguette, the “Man in the Moon”, a Stuffed Croissant with Ham and Cheddar, and our very own “Wild Child”, a Granola Parfait for only 5 bucks a person! Can't wait to have you back with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

I stayed at the Acme over Thanksgiving weekend. If you are driving, the hotel is easily accessed off the I-94 Ohio St exit & has convenient parking with in/out privileges nextdoor. If you won't have a car during your stay, the hotel is at the intersection of State & Ohio, so you are also steps away from the CTA Red Line (which runs under State St).

Pros: Great location, unique stylish experience without breaking the bank, helpful staff, easy self-parking, complementary coffee service delivered to your room in the morning.

Cons: I can't believe a place that seems to cater to a young, hipster / Euro tourist crowd doesn't have recycling! Suggestion box: management, please follow the lead that I have seen in other major cities & consider adding a small recycling bin for glass/aluminum/plastic in your rooms. Also, rooms have iPhone4-friendly speakers, but you'll need an adapter as of 11/2012 to use your iPhone5 with the equipment.

Room Tip: If a view is important, get a king suite & ask for an upper floor. If not, be prepared the small...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Scott Z,

Thanks for choosing us for your Thanksgiving weekend and for your suggestion. Our hotel offers modern comfort for an affordable rate. We do have iPhone 5 adapters at the front desk available for guest use. Thanks for your review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LO, Oregon
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Flew into Chicago just for a few days to get my son packed up for his move to L.A. Had to rent a car to move boxes and thought it would be a pain to get in and out of the parking garage but Acme Hotel gave me a transponder upon check-in and I just had to wave it at the sensor to get in and out - easy as pie and no ticket needed! Plus the charge for parking was reasonable ($29 a day - can't beat that in a big city!). Loved the urban/trendy feel of the hotel; wi-fi worked great; bed and pillows were comfortable; had coffee delivered in the mornings in a thermos and even took the thermos with me one day when I had to leave early - so very convenient and the thermos kept the coffee quite hot (yes, I brought the thermos back); location is close to several restaurants and a grocery store; loved the king suite I had with the separate living area; took advantage of the complimentary coffee/tea offered throughout the day on the main level. A couple of things I did not have time to check out were the breakfast and the fitness room - maybe next time. Everyone working at the hotel was pleasant and helpful. Overall I had a great stay! The Acme Hotel is now one of my top 2 hotels in Chicago!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hi nnl,

We're happy to hear we could ease the pains of moving for you! Our parking rates are among the best in the city, with full in-and-out privileges. The 'morning joe' coffee delivery service is very convenient and the best part is its FREE! Next time we have you here be sure to get a look at the fitness center, complete with a whirlpool and sauna. The breakfast is our very own “Knock and Drop” service, that’s right, we knock…..and drop your breakfast right at your door for only 5 bucks a person, no more fumbling around for loose change for tips, or trying to get that ACME Robe tied around you before rushing to the door!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 23, 2012

We stayed in the suite and it was excellent. Modern, clean and spacious. It was great to have the separate kitchen/lounge area with sink and microwave.

Awesome location - the supermarket a few minutes walk away, good restaurants and bars/clubs close by. Easy walk to the Magnificent Mile.

The staff were fabulous - friendly and helpful. We got stranded in Chicago due to Hurricane Sandy so had to extend our stay. The staff were great.

They even have a laundry in the basement - much needed and appreciated!

Only down side, was the breakfast - but I think this is an American thing. We had to use disposable plates, cutlery, cups.... I much prefer the real thing. However, ordering a thermos of coffee to be delivered to your door each morning was a treat.

Keep up the fab service! I would definitely stay there again. Everyone at the front desk (including Karl and the maintenance guys) made a difference.

Room Tip: The suites are fab as they have a view and a separate lounge/kitchen. Not sure about the other rooms...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, December 5, 2012
Hello Joss8,

Glad you enjoyed your stay here with us! Our location puts us in the middle of everything you could possibly need during your visit. Our breakfast is now a 'knock and drop' service, similar to our “morning joe” coffee service. Now you don't even have to leave your room for a bite! Karl and the maintenance guys appreciate the shout-out and we'll be looking for you the next time you find yourself in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012 via mobile

This was by far one of the best hotel stays I've ever experienced. As a frequent business traveler i tend to be a hard critic of hotels. Im also a southern girl who loves the big city, but hates the sometimes unwelcoming attitudes of some northerners. As soon as I walked through the door of Acme, I was greeted with a smile and instantly knew it was going to be a great trip. As a self-diagnosed sufferer of OCD I never once complained about the cleanliness or clutter of the hotel because it was immaculate at all times. Coffee was delivered to our room every morning piping hot and strong as I needed it for our long day of events. Aside from the pleasant hotel experience, it is located in a great area. There were wonderful restaurants around every corner and plenty of other activities. We took the L from Midway Airport to the hotel and discovered how convenient the hotel is from the subway stations. Basically, this place is amazing! Thanks Jennifer and John for making my trip as smooth as possible!

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hello ChristianHT,

We're delighted to hear we give southern hospitality some competition! Here at the ACME, being friendly to guests isn't a task-it's something we enjoy doing! Appreciate the comments on the cleanliness, our staff works around the clock to make sure we’re as clean as a whistle. We’re glad you enjoyed the free Morning Joe coffee service, beginning next week we will be offering a “Knock and Drop” breakfast for just $5.00 a person! Jennifer and John appreciate your praise, thanks again for choosing the ACME Hotel Company for your trip to the big city!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

ACME Hotel Company is very sleek and stylish and has a more contemporary feel that most hotels can’t provide. The rates are good and I was very pleased with the staff. They were very helpful in providing us with great eating and shopping places and made us feel comfortable. The Morning Joe service and check-in call from the staff was great and gave you the feeling that you were important and not just another guest. I definitely enjoyed my stay at ACME and look forward to returning soon!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 26, 2012
Hi Maurice B,

Thanks for your review and your comments about the staff! We are centrally located so your favorite restaurant or watering hole is just around the corner. Starting next week, we’ll even offer you a great “Knock and Drop” breakfast for just $5.00 a person to go along with our FREE morning Joe coffee service. Thanks again and we look forward to having you back soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Restaurant, Fre...
Show More
The Loop
The Silversmith Hotel
The Silversmith Hotel
#24 of 168 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,121 reviews
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#3 of 168 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,265 reviews
Boutique, Luxur...
Show More
The James Chicago
The James Chicago
#19 of 168 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, City Cent...
Show More
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago - Downtown
Luxury, Quiet...
Show More
Near North Side
MileNorth, A Chicago Hotel
Luxury, Free in...
Show More
Near North Side
Hotel Lincoln
Hotel Lincoln
#25 of 168 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 652 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#24 Business Hotel in Chicago
#27 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Jetsetter, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com and Otel so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.