We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Stay 2 Save Green!
Ranked #23 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Fort Wayne
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2012

The staff is wonderful and the location is ideal for shopping. I have a problem with germs and the place was very clean and very comfortable. At one point we didn't have any water in the mini bar in our room and as we were leaving for the day, we asked if they could restock it. When we returned, not only had they restocked the water, they cleaned up our room and even folded the comforter that I brought with us to replace the hotel's! It was a wonderful place and I would absolutely recommend it. I will stay there again in the future!

Room Tip: We were on the 12th floor, but we only had a terrible view of the inside of the parking garages on b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Kelly R,

Thanks for describing our staff as wonderful. Making sure your stay is delightful in every way is our responsibility. Thanks for your recommendations and we look forward to having you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    390
    192
    35
    10
    6
See reviews for
104
241
34
98
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (173)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Jacksonville, Florida, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

Our stay at the Acme hotel was Nice. We a king Room comfortable bedding, clean bathroom to the point i can take my shoes off and feel okay. Shower is made very unique but Ladies if you have a fabulous Hair-Do tub is mildew free to take a bath because shower comes straight down on your head(there went my hair-style).. Nice quiet breakfast in the A.M. computer, exercise room very nice and clean. I will say if you lookin for that dip in a inside pool Negative...But they do have a nice Hot-Tub/Jucuzzi. The Location was awesome..First time in Chicago so not that familiar but we were surrounded by Uno pizza, texas brazil resturant. one block or so from Mag Mile and about 10 mins from Oprah's Way...Also next hardrock cafe and a mini grocery store.. PS location so good we didnt need a rental, and if thinkin about a rental it cost to around 20 bucks a day to park... easy to just wave a taxi down.. It was a good Anniversary Trip..

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hello BxNative,

We want all of our guests to feel as if there are at home here at the ACME Hotel. Our staff does their best to accommodate you and make sure your room is as clean and tidy. So kick off your shoes, put your feet up and enjoy your stay! Thanks for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is fantastic! It's a small boutique hotel that can be easy to miss when walking down the street. We booked this because the other hotel we stayed at (Marriott on Magnificent Mile) was booked up for the additional days we wanted to spend in Chicago. Boy were we ever glad to have the chance to stay at the Acme Hotel.

The front desk staff was excellent. The rooms were quite large, ours was even a suite type with a nice sitting room, kitchenette and separate bedroom (not sure if this is the standard room?). The beds and pillows were extremely comfortable. The floors were hardwood; it was nice not have have germ-breeding carpet like most hotels. The design of the rooms was fresh, hip and fun but not tacky. There were even small chalkboards on the front doors for you to leave messages. Newspapers delivered daily.

In the main lobby they offer free internet with a computer and a printer that you can use free of charge. WiFi in rooms was also free and worked great.

Great location, friendly staff and funky design. A must for the next time you stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi The_Real_Glam,

We’re glad you had a chance to experience us as well! Our hardwood floors are a nice change from the carpets you mentioned. Our business center will be expanding as well. Please come back and give us another look when our restaurant and bar are completed!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dixon, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

We really enjoyed our stay at The Acme. The room had a nice city view and modern industrial decor. The place was super clean, the staff attentive and the location - perfect! We would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hi Nadine P,

Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay! Perfect is a word we love to hear. Look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Johnsburg, New York
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2012

A great hotel right in the middle of downtown, super service, a thermos of coffee by your room when you wake up, good breakfast. Very cool looking with a young modern look. Price is excellent and the hotel quality is far above it's price: hence the great surprise

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello pmb55,

We LOVE giving great surprises, so we're delighted to read your review. Starting in early December, we will be beginning our Knock and Drop Breakfast delivery which will replace the temporary free breakfast in the lobby. We’d love to have you come back and give that a try! Thanks for choosing the ACME Hotel!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
new jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2012

I found a last minute deal to stay here. The service was fantastic. Everyone was helpful. The room is clean an comfortable, and not too large either. Free bfast and coffee service. They also offer a bag drop service to hold onto your bags after checking out. Close to NW hospital and one block from magnificent mile

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Hello rong198,

Thanks for staying with us during your visit to Chicago. Our temporary breakfast and coffee delivery service make the difficult task of getting out of bed a little easier. On your next trip, look for our Knock and Drop Breakfast service which is starting in early December for a very reasonable cost. Look forward to seeing you in the future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Port Stanley, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

The Acme Hotel Company succeeded in providing a very memorable stay for us in Chicago. The smartly executed blend of modern, well-planned amenities and vintage-flavoured décor created a super-comfortable experience, right in the heart of the city.

The staff were genuinely friendly and accommodating, going far beyond the call of duty from the moment we arrived at the front door to the time we (sadly) had to leave.

The morning "knock-and-drop" delivery of Morning Joe (kept piping hot in a sleek thermos) and daily complimentary breakfast (terrific array of choices!) started each day in fine style. Someone clearly spent time determining what tasty and fresh items would appeal to the hotel visitors. Coffee and tea were available 24 hours a day in the lobby too -- much appreciated!

Our room was fantastic! We opted for a suite to allow additional living space, and would most definitely go this route again. The hardwood floors were a welcome change from the usual over-trod (and often suspicious) carpeting in other hotels. No mundane, non-descript framed prints hung on the walls here -- instead, we were treated to boldly painted pop-art images adorning the space! The washroom featured a big sink mounted atop a granite counter, and the huge rainfall shower head and thick, thirsty towels were wonderful. Oh yes -- we loved the blackboard on the room doors. Such a great way to leave/receive messages!

On the lower level, there is a well-equipped fitness area (even a heavy bag!) contained in a schoolyard-like setting, complete with chain-link fence -- how funky! A sparkling hot tub and cedar-lined sauna round out the options for anyone looking for fitness options.

The cleanliness of the hotel surpassed anything we have experienced to date. The smiling staff were always busy polishing, scrubbing, and buffing every corner of the hotel -- and they never hesitated to greet us with a warm hello whenever we saw them.

Never before have we stayed at a hotel that didn't have at least one detail or service needing improvement. The Acme Hotel Company left no detail untended, and prompted us to randomly exclaim, "Man, I love this place!" on a daily basis -- no word of a lie!

P.S. A special shout-out to Carl, Acme's bighearted and attentive concierge/porter, who continually wowed us with his kind and helpful ways. He's a keeper!

Room Tip: Choose a suite, if you can -- provides more space and a guaranteed city view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brent H, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, November 19, 2012
Hi Dianne M,

WOW! Thanks for the review, it was a pleasure to read! We were sad you had to leave as well. Coming in December, our ‘Morning Joe’ coffee delivery service will be expanded. The same great service you received will now include, wait for it…BREAKFAST! We’ll have some delicious options to choose from and deliver to your room. Our suites are a great way to spend your time in Chicago. With a living room area equipped with a sink, mini-fridge and microwave, you may decide to stay in! The suites include a Zeppelin sound system and not one, but two 46’ LED TV’s that are ready to stream from your Apple device or laptop. Cleanliness is important in day-to-day life, so here at the ACME it’s no surprise that we focus on having everything presentable. Karl is a great part of our staff and he really does appreciate your shout-out. We do appreciate your words of praise, it makes doing our job that much more enjoyable! Thanks for choosing the ACME Hotel Company!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#19 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Family Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, BookIt.com, Tingo, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere, Priceline and Jetsetter so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.