We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very interesting hotel, great value” 5 of 5 stars
Review of ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Save Saved
You added ACME Hotel Company Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
ACME Hotel Company Chicago
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #24 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Milwaukee
1 review
“Very interesting hotel, great value”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

This is a very well done renovation of a historic hotel. The location is superb and I found it to represent one of the best value propositions in the city. Our room, a junior suite, was perfect for our needs. Two separate spaces that functioned together well yet created the private space you would look for in a suite. Great bed, we had a wonderful nights sleep. They offer a coffee delivery program that is unique; order the night before and they drop at your door in a thermos at the prescribed time.....nice, and the thermos is a great idea. They also offer a comp breakfast on the second floor....once again a terrific value add.....coffee is available 24/7...very nice.

They offer a health club and biz center that I didn't get to visit. I would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 26, 2012
Hi Historichotelguy, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us and we are so pleased that you enjoyed your time here at the ACME Hotel. I am happy to hear that the you were able to take advantage of the coffee service and the temporary free continental breakfast. Thanks again and we look forward to seeing you on your next Chicago visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

586 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    360
    178
    32
    10
    6
See reviews for
93
219
33
97
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (164)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Atlantic Beach, SC
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

We enjoyed our stay at the Acme Hotel. It is very well situated in the River North section with easy, quick access to shopping (Mag. Mile), restaurants (all types), entertainment and sight seeing. The hotel is clean and the staff is friendly, responsive and aims to please. Some of the rooms do not have a good view (parking deck and rooftop views) which was not a problem because most of our time in Chicago was outside of the room. Service is very good. A good value considering the price and location.

Room Tip: Request a room with a view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi William B, thank you for taking the time share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that our great location in River North worked so well for you, and I do hope you had a chance to visit some of the great restaurants that surround our hotel. Thanks again for choosing the ACME Hotel and we look forward to seeing you on your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 19, 2012

Recently went to Chicago for the weekend. The hotel is located just 3 blocks from Michigan Ave which made it an easy walk. I checked many hotel prices in the downtown area and the Acme Hotel was the most reasonable. It nice and clean with a very friendly staff. Will stay there again when in the area.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi kbjlong2002, thanks for taking the time to share your thoughts on our new hotel. We are so pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Thanks again for choosing our hotel and we look forward to seeing you again when you are back in Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
2 reviews
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I was hesitant staying at a hotel named "Acme" but I was delightfully surprised upon my check-in. This hip little place is still undergoing some renovations (the restaurant wasn't open yet but free breakfast was available on the 2nd floor). My room was very comfortable for the 3 nights I was in town on a business trip. The location is close to many restaurants, the Magnificent Mile is just a few blocks up the street and the lakefront is less than a mile. I would definitely recommend this property and would stay here again on my next business trip.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi Robert_DeVeau, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I am happy to hear that you were so pleasantly surprised when you arrived. The restaurant will be coming on board this Fall, but I am happy to hear the temporary Free Breakfast helped with not having a restaurant yet. Thanks again for choosing the ACME Hotel and we look forward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2012

I recently has a pleasant stay at the Acme Hotel in Chicago. Great location. The rooms were very clean and newly renovated. The decor of the hotel was new and interesting. I liked the elevator decorations of album covers on the wall. The continental breakfast was good. Overall a good stay.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi wannabetravler42, thanks for choosing the ACME Hotel for your Chicago visit and we are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time with us. I have to agree that the elevator decor is one of my favorite spaces in the hotel. Again thanks for choosing us and we look forward to seeing you again the next time your travel plans bring you back to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2012

Just stayed for two nights to see the Tigers vs Cubs and was very happy with our stay at the ACME. Cool theme for the rooms, great value, beds were great, staff very friendly and walking distance to everything we needed. Only negative was one of two elevators not working so was a bit of a wait. Will stay again if the price doesn't skyrocket.

Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi Canadianhick77, thanks for taking the time to review our hotel. I am so happy to hear that our wonderful location worked out so well for you and that you enjoyed the brand new rooms. We do look forward to seeing you on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2012 via mobile

I really want to like this place. The decor his hip and urban. The location is primo. The beds are comfortable. Perhaps the defficiencies are growing pains since they are new, but Chicago is a competitive market for patronage. As I read in other less than endorsing reviews, No luggage racks and not really being empathatic about that fact are true. They expect my clothes and my bag to sit on the floor! Newsflash, even Embassy Suites has luggage racks at half the price. Yes, the Tigers were in town and the hotel was full, but a 15 minute wait for the elevator when you are on the tenth floor? OK, things break down, but put a sign up, have someone by the elevator letting people know. The tipping point was a lobby full of people are waiting for the single elevator (21 minutes) and the door opens up and housekeeping is in the elevator with a large cart of towels. We saw people hiking up the stairs with their bags as high as the fifth floor. I am slated to return to Chicago In July, September, and November. I might give it another try but the upcoming trips are business ones and I can't afford to schedule an extra 15 minutes down and up for the elevator and leave my luggage on the floor.

Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CISIL193, Director of Sales at ACME Hotel Company Chicago, responded to this review, June 20, 2012
Hi LeoneIMD, thanks for taking the time to share your experience with us. I do want to apologize about the elevator being down when you arrived .Our elevator company had to air freight a part in to get the elevator operational again. Again, our deepest apologies for this inconvenience. The idea of the ottomans in the rooms is that they were supposed to double as your luggage rack and we have addressed this with the staff so that they can better communicate this with our guests. Again thanks for staying with us and please contact me directly about your future stays in July, September and November.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to ACME Hotel Company Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about ACME Hotel Company Chicago

Address: 15 East Ohio Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Formerly Comfort Inn & Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#20 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#28 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — ACME Hotel Company Chicago 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Stylish Downtown Chicago Hotel. The brand new ACME Hotel Company in downtown Chicago offers a modern hotel experience with stylish decor, a high-tech vibe, affordable rates and so much more.Located 2 ½ blocks from the Magnificent Mile in the River North neighborhood, ACME is downtown Chicago's all new boutique hotel alternative.If you appreciate an eye for design and dig a high-tech vibe, you'll feel right at home. We'd like to call ourselves cool, or hip, because we are, but that just feels like bragging. But mostly, ACME is what we consider approachable - in more ways than one. The fact is, we want your experience at our downtown Chicago hotel to blow your mind, not your budget. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, Otel, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your ACME Hotel Company Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Inn And Suites Downtown
Comfort Inn & Suites Downtown Hotel Chicago
Comfort Inn Downtown
Comfort Inn Chicago
Chicago Comfort Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage ACME Hotel Company Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.

;