We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Interesting for Sushi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar

Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar
230 W Erie St, Chicago, IL 60654
(312) 662-4888
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #274 of 8,489 Restaurants in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Price range: $20 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Barbecue, Sushi, Asian fusion
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night, Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Franklin and Erie
Transit: Purple and Brown Line EL stop on Chicago and Franklin. Number 11 CTA Bus stop on Orleans/Erie and Wells/Huron.
Description: Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar is a bustling neighborhood restaurant located in Chicago's popular River North neighborhood. Union combines the tempered art of Japanese dining with a fresh, colorful and urban vibe. Embracing an American warmth and personality, this playful juxtaposition reveals a restaurant that is welcoming, accommodating and stylish. A true riff on what is expected or traditional - East or West.Union ups the ante on Japanese dining with its high-energy beat, creativity and playful approach to Japanese-influenced cuisine. The menu boasts a variety of flavorful offerings from the Kitchen, Sushi Bar and signature Barbeque Bar showcasing the 600° Robata Grill. The beverage program offers a varied cocktail menu of carefully handcrafted and inventive cocktails. A thorough sake collection is available as well as extensive craft beers, liquors and a spirited wine list.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
“Interesting for Sushi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

LOVE the spicy tuna on black rice...add avocado and its amazing. Interesting menu and the black rice is healthier than white...plus adds a yummy nutty flavor. I don't love all the rolls, but it is in my 'hood, so convenience is key. The Barbecue grill items are not all that impressive. The mushroom and the cauliflower salads are both great.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

89 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    47
    30
    11
    1
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Joseph, Michigan
Top Contributor
154 reviews 154 reviews
105 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
“Sushi & BBQ”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2013

Not exactly BBQ but sushi was good and I'm not a huge sushi fan. Steak in the steak salad was really, really good though. Cooked perfectly and extremely tasty. My wife wants to go back for more. Overall we had a great lunch to kick off our anniversary.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
20 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Inventive food, great atmosphere!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2013

We came here one of our last nights and loved it! I got a 4 piece of the Clifton 4 and 4 of Hokkaido and my husband got the spicy tuna. We split the sashimi cup as an appetizer. We both agreed that my two rolls were the best, but not one thing we ate was even close to mediocre. The drinks were fabulous and equally as creative as the rolls. The service was friendly and top notch! Highly recommended!

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lockport, Illinois
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
42 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
194 helpful votes 194 helpful votes
“Great sushi stop”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2013

The restaurant has a fun, energetic atmosphere. Our server made some excellent recommendations - loved the iPad to "see" the specials and different food options.

Our group enjoyed the truffled tuna appetizer, barbeque bar sampler, black rice sushi sampler, and some miscellaneous sushi. We had an average white tuna special and an average oyster special. Dessert was good for a Japanese restaurant. We had the taro mochi cake, but would skip it if we ever stop by again.

Like others have mentioned, there is very little space between tables. I never enjoy feeling like I'm a part of my table neighbors' conversations. You should be able to get up from the table without squeezing sideways.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
120 reviews 120 reviews
85 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
“Pretty Unique in Every Way”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 29, 2013

Combine a cool space, unique food offerings, and good service and its no wonder this is a hot ticket. The specials were presented to us on a I-Pad. Big recommendation: Make a dinner reservation no matter when you go. We had the Black Rice Sampler because we've never seen back rice on a sushi menu. It was very high quality in texture, construction and taste. We also had the BBQ sampler and was glad we did because we were lost in all the possible choices. The food and sauces were very good and presentation was nice as well.

Drink and wine choices were broad and there we lots of specials.

Tables are not jammed together like some in town re: Tavernita but it can be a bit on the noisy side. Conversation is still OK.

We'll go back to this spot.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar also viewed

 

Been to Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Union Sushi + Barbeque Bar, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.