We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Sofitel at its best” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Bangkok, Thailand
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
“Sofitel at its best”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

Exellent service and location. Great food and drinks. Welcome drink vouchers used for Champagne in the bar. Suite worked well for four people, where two used the living room sofa turned into a bed. Bathroom was in between master bedroom and living room, where both rooms had sliding rooms to close making it quite convenient. Most room plans elsewhere require extra guests to enter bathroom via master bedroom (unless there is a guest toilet- but that doesn’t have shower etc).

Room Tip: Suite would be great for 4 due to bathroom layout.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Bonjour gumball997,

What an amazing review about your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, thank you very much.
I am very happy to read that you spent a pleasant stay with us and that you enjoyed the layout of your suite.
The service is one of our priorities and I am delighted to read that our teams have offered you a quality of service that meets your expectations. I am also very glad to read that you were able to enjoy a glass of champagne in our amazing bar.

I look forward to welcoming you again soon.
Best Regards.

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,813 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,982
    654
    120
    33
    24
See reviews for
400
1,105
215
658
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (413)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Kuwait
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

The rooms are large, staff friendly and ready to help and the restaurant's breakfast was superb and you can't beat the location, right off Michigan Ave. I'll keep on coming back to this property when staying in Chicago. Thank you for a great stay.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 16, 2014
Bonjour Smtraveler016,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a beautiful review of your recent stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that our staff contribuated to your experience.
I am also pleased to see that you took advantage of our delicious breakfast at Cafe des Architectes. You are so right saying our excellent location is very convenient, so close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.

Once again, thank you for sharing your comments, and looking forward to welcoming you back really soon.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Salem, Virginia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 12, 2014

We visited Chicago in May for the first time as a couple (I had been there once on a brief business trip years ago) and thoroughly enjoyed staying at the Sofitel-Chicago Water Tower. Great amenities, the bathrooms are everything you have read about--large, open, spa-like, with all the little extras you could want. Bottled water was replaced each day in our room--a much appreciated perk. Beds were very comfortable, we slept well, but I could have made good use of a lighter bed-cover--the comforter was almost too warm at times. We walked to just about everything, and felt very safe. Good choices nearby for food, such as Tempo Cafe, the Original Pancake House, as well as the restaurant on-site at the hotel had excellent coffee and pastries. Also enjoyed some Chicago-style deep dish pizza (we liked Lou Malnati's best), and ate at Gibson's Steakhouse (superb service and food). We had a room on the 9th floor, but with a direct view of the John Hancock Tower. On our last evening we went to the bar there--beautiful views from up top. We were actually in Chicago for a wedding at the Newberry Library, also within walking distance of the hotel, even in heels! We found the hotel to be very quiet--never heard anyone coming or going. The lobby could have used a bit more lighting, we thought, but this is certainly a minor point. Everyone who worked there was very pleasant and helpful. We thoroughly enjoyed our trip and would definitely go back--both to Chicago and to the Sofitel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 18, 2014
Bonjour virginian4vegas,

I would like to thank you very much for your review on Tripadvisor, regarding your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
We always try to do our best to make sure our guests have the best experience while staying with us and it is a great reward to read that you were very pleased with your stay.
I am delighted to read that you liked the design of your bathroom along with the amenities. It is a pleasure to see that you enjoyed the view from your room and your overall trip in Chicago.
Also I was glad you took advantage of our wonderful location close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.

I hope to have the pleasure of seeing you again soon.
Kindest regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuala Lumpur, Wilayah Persekutuan, Malaysia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 11, 2014 via mobile

Stay here for 2 nights and we Felt more like in France that in the states when we stayed here. From toiletries to service staff to in room dining, it was all French :) experience amazing hospitality and rooms were very clean.

Only minor complain is that there isn't much of a view.

Would definitely come back!

  • Stayed September 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 13, 2014
Bonjour Eunice W,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of your stay here at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, especially seeing that you liked our hotel and the experience of our slice of French sophistication in the heart of the United States. Thank you for your kind comments not only about our clean rooms, but also about our amazing team, and you can rest assured we have recognized them for their outstanding service.

I am looking forward to welcoming you back to the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower in the very near future.
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, Georgia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2014

Enjoyed our 3 night stay:

- Heavenly bed!
- Small but modern bathroom.
- Complimentary coffee and tea bar in the restaurant from 5-10am
- Wonderful location!
- It's worth paying a little extra for the view!
- Quite quarters. Rooms are well built - never heard a peep from other guests.
- We found the concierge a bit unfriendly, but certainly not a deal breaker given that our overall stay was pleasant.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 12, 2014
Bonjour TinaLovesToTravel,

How wonderful to read your beautiful review on TripAdvisor, and I am thrilled that you thoroughly enjoyed your stay with us at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower.
I was deeply touched to read your kind words towards our well designed rooms, and famous MyBeds. I was pleased to learn that you were able to take advantage of our wonderful location so close to the Magnificent Mile and beautiful Lake Michigan.
I have taken good notes of your comments regarding our Concierge and please rest assured that I will follow up on that.

I sincerely hope to have the pleasure of welcoming you back in a not too distant future.
Best regards,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2014

Nice location, close to the Magnificent Mile for walkers, shoppers and Foodies. Clean hotel, safe area to walk and lots to see and do. Gym, (no pool)(no balconies), nice lobby, bar and restaurant that offered both inside and outside service. Complimentary coffee and tea bar in the restaurant from 5-10am and Keurig Machine option available, and bottled water available in your room. Staff very friendly and eager to please. Concierge helpful with lots of info for trips/tours --ie Architectural Tour (a must) +. The buildings designs/architecture are spectacular, take a camera! Tip: Higher floor and east side location a little preferable for a peak at the water view between the tall buildings...but if not available it's certainly not a deal breaker.
If you turn right out of the main doors, about two buildings away, there is a restaurant called Tempo Cafe that served omelets, fried eggs, etc in frying pans, good variety, casual eating - good prices. From Tempo if you went around the corner (R) there is a Wallgreens, Starbucks, grocery store, lots of pizza places (have to try Chicago Deep Dish Pizza). To the left of the Hotel there is an Argo Tea spot, Starbucks + and a little further (about 10 min walk) you can go to Gibsons or Hugo's Frog Bar for a nice dinner. (Portions are huge - if you order a piece of cake make sure you have at least three other people with you. Tip -we reviewed their menus and called ahead for reservations as their online system didn't have all times available). Again, heading left from the Hotel you could easily get to the Michigan Avenue Mile and find every shop you want...Macy's, Nordstroms Rack, Coach, Best Buy, even Tiffany's and Cartier. Need more shopping, there is also State Street - a good walk but easy walking and lots to see....Target, Macy's (huge), Designer Shoe Wearhouse, Nordstoms Rack, +++. IF that is not enough, there are shuttles (ask the Concierge) to the Fashion Outlet Mall or the Premium Outlet Shops. Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Higher floors have better views (31 floor hotel), east side gets you a peak at he few inches of wate...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
S_Pfeiffer_Hotel_Mgr, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 11, 2014
Bonjour LoveLonndon,

Thank you for your posting on TripAdvisor regarding your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. I so appreciate that you chose our hotel.
Very glad that you found the service `very friendly and eager to please'. This is very important to us. My concierge team was more than happy to receive your comments.
It is also great that you liked our entire accommodation along with the amenities and enjoyed the beautiful view offered by our rooms.
Also I was happy you appreciated and gave details on our wonderful location close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining.
Thank you very much to share your tips with our valued readers.

I hope to welcome you back soon,
Yours sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, ACCOR, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.