We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Big City” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% Off Valet Parking!
Ranked #12 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Flemington, New Jersey
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great Hotel in Big City”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

I always enjoy traveling to Chicago as there are a number of "reasonably" priced hotels available. Unlike NYC I can actually find a great property for a business trip and stay within company guidelines. The Sofitel is in a great location and the facilities are great and clean. I only stayed one night but the staff was friendly, room service prompt and good. I would recommend the hotel for any business traveler.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 24, 2013
Dear Dave46439,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you would recommend our property to other travelers. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,271 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,589
    547
    89
    25
    21
See reviews for
319
889
181
513
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (283)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed December 19, 2013

My Sofitel email alert today (12-19) announced the Winter Collection of various Sofitels, including the Chicago Water Tower at $119 through January 15. Dreaming of a quick getaway (had a nice birthday party there some years back), I checked rates for each day until mid-January. Unfortunately, there is NO DAY which offers this rate. When clicking on the offer, you get, in red letters: "Specific rates are not available for this type of room selected." I did not specify a room type; my goal was to find this rate on any room, for any day. Over this period, rates -- not including tax -- range from $130 (many at $140) to as high as $270 for New Years Eve. Management should think about the multiple customer disappointments, now occurring, each and every time someone clicks on this explicitly false offer, only to find it is not real. If this rate is theoretically available on a specific room type, and yet, on the first day of the promotional period, there is NO ROOM available for more than 25 days, then what are we to conclude? A hotel of this brand and quality, should re-evaluate this misleading practice, especially when the real rates aren't too bad.

Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear ambleside89 ,

Thank you for taking time to share your feedback, and I am very sorry that you have experienced difficulty finding availability with the promotional rates currently being advertised on our web site. I have just sent you a personal email via Trip Advisor. I would like to find out your desired dates of stay so that I can send you the best available rates and packages offered over those dates. Thank you for bringing this to our attention, and I apologize for your disappointment. We hope to welcome you to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here the weekend with fiancée for birthday celebration. The hotel staff was great, concierge was very helpful, room service was fast. We will definitely be back and recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Ivysmom134,

Thank you for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and we are honored that you chose Sofitel for your birthday celebration. We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Las Vegas, Nevada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

The staff allowed for early arrival (without prior notice). They anticipated every need and made my stay stress free and enjoyable. The only issue was the very slow wi-fi, but other than that everything was excellent.

Room Tip: Book directly with the hotel to select a higher floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Jan G,

Thank you very much for sharing feedback about your recent stay with us at Sofitel. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that we were able to accommodate an early check in for you. Thank you for your feedback about the wifi; we are currently making improvements to our wifi system. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Was attending a meeting in Chicago and the host hotel was very expensive. Found a great rate on line on the Sofitel website and everything else was bliss! I had room service for lunch/dinner x2 as the weather was cold and crapy when I was there. The food, service, promptness were excellent and reasonable. Every employee appeared to want me to be happy and comfortable. My king bed room was beautiful with an amazing bathroom! I was surprised when many of the employees actually spoke French! Tres Bon!!!! I will stay there again and would recommend the Hotel Sofitel WaterTower Chicago without any reservations! I stayed 5 nights and didn't want to leave. The location is perfect for everything having to do with magnificent mile! Can't wait to return!

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear Calebrog,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our service and amenities to be so excellent. We look forward to welcoming you back to stay with us again in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twickenham
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

This was our second visit over thanksgiving and it was just as great as last year. The staff are very friendly and welcoming and the rooms very clean and well presented. The hotel is in an excellent position for shopping and eating and drinking out.No doubt we will be staying here again in the future.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear soot30,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you will be staying again in the future. We look forward to welcoming you back!

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mobile, Alabama
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2013

Great weekend getaway for my wife and myself. The hotel was great in every way possible, from front desk, bar, restaurant and everything in between. They were so helpful and really went above and beyond.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 21, 2013
Dear JBiggs2013,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Sebastien Pfeiffer
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, ACCOR, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.