We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Save Saved
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
50% Off Valet Parking!
Ranked #13 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you love shopping, this hotel is in an excellent location. In the heart of the best shopping in Chicago. Walking distance or a reasonable cab ride to most major attractions. Nice, clean rooms. Well appointed. TV was kind of small but we should have been looking at the beautiful view anyway. Room service personnel were wonderful. Very personable. Only real complaint would be what they charge guests to park overnight. I'm clear parking in Chicago is a premium but I felt it was a little bit high.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear David C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location - perfect for shopping and sightseeing alike, as you point out!

Thank you for your feedback about our valet parking rates. We feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Recently the City of Chicago imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities in the downtown area, which has affected our prices as well as those of our competitors.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,260 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    1,582
    546
    88
    25
    19
See reviews for
318
883
181
512
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (282)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Cary, NC
Top Contributor
147 reviews 147 reviews
71 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
81 helpful votes 81 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Chicago Sofitel. The service was attentive and friendly from the front door to the front desk to the restaurant. Anytime I encountered a staff member in the lobby, hallway, elevator, etc., he/she always said "hello" and asked how everything was with the stay. I made a few requests via email regarding the room, and they honored my requests perfectly. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The view across Chicago was expansive and beautiful. The location is great too, near Michigan Avenue as well as the L-train. I would definitely return to the Sofitel for future trips to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear NC_Rambler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff, and your comments have been shared with our entire team. Thank you for pointing out our excellent Gold Coast location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was our first stay at a Sofitel, and when we booked I noted that we were celebrating our birthdays and anniversary. They upgraded us to a suite! Beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The restaurant had nice dishes. The employees were all very courteous and nice. The next time I travel, I'll be looking for a Sofitel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear sweetgodivagirl,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Sofitel and that we were able to upgrade you to a suite for your special occasion. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first Sofitel we stayed at was in Japan, and we've been hooked since. The Chicago Sofitel has a great riverside view to enjoy during breakfast and before turning in. A short walk from the hotel will find you in a great jazz club, a relaxing lounge, a Chicago Dog stand, and Navy Pier. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room with a river/skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear iamjanosik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location while enjoying the city of Chicago. Thank you very much for providing the tip to future guests about requesting a room on a higher floor for a better view! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Convenient location in Downtown. Walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Rush Street, Navy Pier, etc. Clean and modern property with friendly and helpful concierge staff. Awesome bedding and shower. Parking rather expensive though at $63 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you for your feedback about our overnight valet parking rates. The City of Chicago recently imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities, which is reflected in our current price. However, we feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013 via mobile

Great location, and amazing service, all done with that amazing Sofitel style.

Great location close to the great bars, restaurants and shopping in downtown Chicago.

The room was amazing with the wonderfully comfortable Sofitel signature bed linen range.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Jeffrey1771,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location and our ultra comfortable SoBed! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#12 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#13 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, Orbitz, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Travelocity, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Jetsetter, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.