We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, excellent staff” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #17 of 182 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Glendale, Arizona
Level Contributor
37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Great location, excellent staff”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013 via mobile

If you love shopping, this hotel is in an excellent location. In the heart of the best shopping in Chicago. Walking distance or a reasonable cab ride to most major attractions. Nice, clean rooms. Well appointed. TV was kind of small but we should have been looking at the beautiful view anyway. Room service personnel were wonderful. Very personable. Only real complaint would be what they charge guests to park overnight. I'm clear parking in Chicago is a premium but I felt it was a little bit high.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank David C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 20, 2013
Dear David C,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location - perfect for shopping and sightseeing alike, as you point out!

Thank you for your feedback about our valet parking rates. We feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Recently the City of Chicago imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities in the downtown area, which has affected our prices as well as those of our competitors.

We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

3,244 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Cary, NC
Level Contributor
188 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 101 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 14, 2013

I really enjoyed staying at the Chicago Sofitel. The service was attentive and friendly from the front door to the front desk to the restaurant. Anytime I encountered a staff member in the lobby, hallway, elevator, etc., he/she always said "hello" and asked how everything was with the stay. I made a few requests via email regarding the room, and they honored my requests perfectly. The room was comfortable and very quiet. The view across Chicago was expansive and beautiful. The location is great too, near Michigan Avenue as well as the L-train. I would definitely return to the Sofitel for future trips to Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank NC_Rambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear NC_Rambler,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback about our staff, and your comments have been shared with our entire team. Thank you for pointing out our excellent Gold Coast location! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

It was our first stay at a Sofitel, and when we booked I noted that we were celebrating our birthdays and anniversary. They upgraded us to a suite! Beautiful, spacious, and comfortable. The restaurant had nice dishes. The employees were all very courteous and nice. The next time I travel, I'll be looking for a Sofitel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sweetgodivagirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear sweetgodivagirl,

Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your first visit to Sofitel and that we were able to upgrade you to a suite for your special occasion. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

The first Sofitel we stayed at was in Japan, and we've been hooked since. The Chicago Sofitel has a great riverside view to enjoy during breakfast and before turning in. A short walk from the hotel will find you in a great jazz club, a relaxing lounge, a Chicago Dog stand, and Navy Pier. You won't be disappointed.

Room Tip: Request a high floor room with a river/skyline view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank iamjanosik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear iamjanosik,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us. It sounds like you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location while enjoying the city of Chicago. Thank you very much for providing the tip to future guests about requesting a room on a higher floor for a better view! We look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Tennessee
Level Contributor
17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 13, 2013

Convenient location in Downtown. Walking distance to Michigan Avenue, Rush Street, Navy Pier, etc. Clean and modern property with friendly and helpful concierge staff. Awesome bedding and shower. Parking rather expensive though at $63 per day.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Lisa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Lisa B,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are thrilled to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you found our Gold Coast location to be so well-suited to your needs. Thank you for your feedback about our overnight valet parking rates. The City of Chicago recently imposed an $8 tax on all overnight parking facilities, which is reflected in our current price. However, we feel that our rates reflect the average downtown Chicago rates, and they are on par with our nearby competitors as well. Thank you again for your review, and we look forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago in the very near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Western Australia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 12, 2013

Great location, and amazing service, all done with that amazing Sofitel style.

Great location close to the great bars, restaurants and shopping in downtown Chicago.

The room was amazing with the wonderfully comfortable Sofitel signature bed linen range.

  • Stayed July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Jeffrey1771
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Jeffrey1771,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of our excellent Gold Coast location and our ultra comfortable SoBed! We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.

Sincerely,

Nicolas Pesty
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,398 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 182 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 2,025 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#10 of 182 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 3,150 reviews
Near North Side
Palomar Chicago, a Kimpton Hotel
Magnificent Mile
Omni Chicago Hotel
Omni Chicago Hotel
#33 of 182 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,545 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#10 Family Hotel in Chicago
#16 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, ACCOR, Odigeo, Orbitz, HotelTravel.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing