We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Location is perfect!” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #11 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersGold level
Milan, Italy
Level Contributor
18 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Location is perfect!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

I stayed here a few times, last time for 4 days in November 2012. The hotel is located close to shopping area and restaurant/hip area, if the weather is nice you won't even need to get a taxi to go anywhere as everything will be very close and in summer Oak street beach is walking distance. The lobby of this Sofitel is a amazing and quite a landmark and the bar downstairs is always full with a nice crowd.
Rooms are good, get a high floor. Breakfast is great at the Cafe des Architect, now they also have a quick to-go breakfast free of charge if you are in a hurry. Two negative point: no pool, an hotel of this level could use a pool (indoor or outdoor). Staff is OK, they forgot to plug in my Accor number and i never got the points for it even after 2 email and 2 phone calls, i think is inexcusable for an hotel such as Sofitel.

Room Tip: high floor facing north
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and our excellent location in the city's Gold Coast, as well as our beautiful lobby! We are very sorry that you experienced a longer than usual wait for your Le Club Accorhotels points. We have since received your email and have credited your account. This is not typical of our standards of service to our valued guests, and we thank you for bringing this issue to our attention. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel again very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,999 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2,099
    707
    134
    35
    24
See reviews for
428
1,172
228
711
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (447)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
north carolina
Level Contributor
93 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 15, 2012

rooms clean, modern and the bathroom was wonderful. the toiletries included things like fingernail files (good ones.) when I asked the concierge where I might buy contact solution, he pulled some out of the closet behind the front desk.

room service was fast and the food was great. the 'light' menu is amazingly flavorful and filling with calories listed on the menu.

my friend was asked to wait 15 min bec. his room wasn't ready. they upgraded him to a suite as an apology.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your room and that you found our staff and service to be so helpful and efficient. I am sorry to hear that your friend experienced a wait for his room, but it is nice to know that our staff was able to accommodate him with an available upgrade. Thank you for pointing out our delicous, low-calorie DeLight menu! We are happy to know that you enjoyed a healthy meal with us during your stay. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North East England, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
82 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Visited Chicago in December 2012 for a Winter holiday and shopping trip.
The hotel has friendly Staff on the front desk very cheerful and helpful (only the Concierge Let the team down but maybe I caught them at the wrong time )

the room was Big for a city centre hotel room .... the Bath room had both Bath and shower (a winner in my wife's Book)
The room and customer areas in the hotel were kept spotless and felt light and airy .

Shops Macy and Bloomingdales are 2 blocks away so great for shopping and starting the magnificent mile

Thank you to all of the staff for making this a great trip

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share a review of your recent experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your room and that you found most of our staff to be friendly and helpful! It looks like our Concierge missed the mark this time, and we regret your disappointment. Please rest assured that we have shared your feedback with our entire team. We are looking forward to welcoming you back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Maumee, Ohio, USA
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

Could be a five star Experience, yet a few details lack to make it one. Restaurant/Room Service appetizers, entrees, and service was very good, yet the deserts were surprisingly poor and room service was introduced cold, twice. Single ply TP at $500 per night? Room cleanliness was outstanding, yet common space areas were not as good. Elevator smudges, little trash items on the floor, door handles/glass hand prints, etc. Service was great, other than our concierge who had an attitude with setting up a restaurant reservation (Rose Bud Steak House), even after a $25 tip - go figure. Other than these few items, a real solid experience. Would we go again? No, not at $500/night. Would try another Experience (Ritz or The Drake) before returning.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are sorry to hear that your stay did not completely meet your expectations, but we thank you for your very valuable feedback about your experience. Please rest assured that we have shared your comments with our Room Service and Housekeeping managers in addition to our Concierge team. We apologize for any discomfort you experienced during your stay. We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guangzhou, China
Level Contributor
131 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012 via mobile

I really liked this hotel. Rooms are really comfortable and the beds are some of the best I have ever slept in.

It is a couple of hundred yards from Michigan Ave so if you are there for shopping then you are going to have it off.

Not so good I you are travelling backwards and forwards from the loop.

Gibsons is just round the corner for some really good steak and there are plenty of other good places to eat in the vicinity.

Room service is very efficient and the price not to bad.

As I keep European hours when I travel I asked for a quite room and thy put me at the end of the corridor and I did not hear another guest the whole week I was there.

Plenty of choice on the TV and the aircon did a very good job of cooling the room down and when I turned it off the room stayed very pleasant temperature wise.

I would stay again for shipping but probably not for business and as I am only ever in Chicago on business I will probably stay in a hotel closer to the loop.

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay and that you were able to take advantage of one of our quiet corner rooms. Thank you for pointing out our convenient proximity to Michigan Avenue shopping! We hope that you will present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Augusta, Michigan
Level Contributor
20 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

We have stayed at this hotel before so when we received an opportunity to take advantage of a special deal through the hotel, we jumped right on it. It is in a great location, has a good bar, great lobby, and the rooms are good size. Bathroom is very large - comfortable beds. Made for a great get-away.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 14, 2012
Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of a great deal on your room. Thank you for pointing out our excellent location! We look forward to welcoming you back to our property in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
STL, MO
Level Contributor
55 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Sofitel is a very nice hotel in a good location for shopping along Michigan Avenue. Staff could not be better. We stayed in a suite, which had a living room, hallway with bathroom, and a bedroom (long and narrow versus feeling expansive, but worked fine). The bathroom has a separate shower and tub. Doors to shower and toilet were clear, meaning that unless you don't care at all about your privacy, only one person can use the bathroom at a time despite the fact that it is quite large. My other minor complaint is that it has a mini-bar but no fridge. Would have been nice not to have to remove extremely overpriced cans of beer in order to keep anything of ours cold. Very convenient to food: Tempo Cafe just down the street - fabulous for breakfast and easy for takeout instead of waiting for a table. A nice takeout place; a small grocery and a Walgreens also very near.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, December 13, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you enjoyed your suite. Thank you for complimenting our staff and pointing out our excellent location, close to both Michigan Avenue shopping and Gold Coast dining. We are happy to provide refrigerators upon request, and I am sorry that you were not informed of this during your stay. We hope that you present us with the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,187 reviews
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,836 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
Radisson Blu Aqua Hotel
#9 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 2,621 reviews
Streeterville
Hyatt Chicago Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Kinzie Hotel
Kinzie Hotel
#20 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,877 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, ACCOR, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline and Odigeo so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.