We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location, superb room, cool bar, amazing food” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.5 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Exclusive 15% Discount!
Ranked #13 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
GreenLeadersGold level
Derby, United Kingdom
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Great location, superb room, cool bar, amazing food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We spent three nights in this really well located hotel. Situated downtown just a couple of minutes from Michigin Avenue and Oak Street and easily in walking distance for the Art Institute, the Navy Pier, Lincoln Park etc etc.

The staff were friendly and attentive, the bar - Le Bar - was really cool with a chic yet laid back atmosphere. Nothing was ever too much trouble and certainly no shutting the bar at 11:30 that we so often experience in the UK.

We only ate in the restaurant at breakfast and the experience was first rate. Eggs Benedict to die for, great pancakes and the organis parfait with granola comes highly recommended. Every day there was a new shot of that day's juice combination.

Definately one to return to.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 14, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you had the chance to enjoy late night cocktails in Le Bar as well as breakfast in our restaurant, Cafe des Architectes. Thank you for pointing out our ideal location for shopping on the Magnificent Mile and visiting Chicago landmarks. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,815 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,984
    654
    120
    33
    24
See reviews for
400
1,106
215
659
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (414)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
47 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Based on my recent stay during a business meeting, I highly recommend this hotel. From the moment of arriving to my departure, overall the hotel stay was excellent. The receptionist was very helpful and was able to allow me to check in early without any difficulties. I also requested a later check out than normal and i was pleasantly surprised how easy it was to accomplish this. The room and facilities were extremely clean and comfortable. The bed was amazingly comfortable with the pillow top mattress. The only food i experienced was the service provided during out meeting which included a lunch and breakfast buffet which were both very good. I highly recommend this hotel.

Room Tip: My room was on the 21st floor and was extremely quiet. I suspect any of the higher rooms will not he...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you found our staff to be so accommodating and attentive to your needs. Excellent service is what we strive to be known for; therefore your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our guests. We are glad that you were able to take advantage of a quiet room on an upper floor; thank you for providing that tip to future guests and for your recommendation! We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Top Contributor
150 reviews 150 reviews
92 hotel reviews
Reviews in 91 cities Reviews in 91 cities
162 helpful votes 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

We spent 6 nights at this lovely Sofitel hotel in the heart of Chicago. We loved the position, so easy to walk to everything and from the moment we arrived at 1am on a Wednesday morning, we were treated like Royalty. Nothing was too much trouble for the front desk and the Concierge. When we finally had time to look around our lovely bedroom after checking in, we found a wonderful gift. It was a Kodak Instant Camera and there were 36 shots on it. The instructions were to take the 36 photos whilst we were in Chicago and on the last day, hand it in to Reception and five or so weeks later we would have a memento of our time in that wonderful city. As yet, we haven't received the album but we have only been home a few days and of course with the distance, the post can take forever.

The bed was just so comfortable, the bathroom was a good size and we had a good view from our 29th floor room. We ate our breakfast each day in the Cafe de Architectes. We had a couple of dinners in the Bar and the rest in the main Cafe. We couldn't fault either the service or the food. We had fantastic weather and enjoyed both the city and the hotel.

It we ever return to that wonderful city we would definitely stay at the Sofitel as it ticked all our boxes.

Room Tip: We were just lucky and were given a sunny room overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Bonjour! Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that we were able to assist in creating some 'magnifique' memories of your Chicago vacation. The photo album is on the way and should arrive soon! Thank you for complimenting our staff, our service and the food in our Cafe des Architectes. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellinzona, Switzerland
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

Me and my husband stayed here during our honeymoon. We were given a great room with a beautiful view on one of the top floors. The room service is of the highest standards and the staff is friendly. The hotel is very well located with lot's of shops and restaurants in the area. I would definitely go back.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your experience at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your honeymoon stay with us and that you were able to take advantage of the excellent views of the Chicago skyline from a room on a high floor. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
107 reviews 107 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

This is a nice hotel, but it was advertised as on the magnificent mile, when it was actually blocks away. There are some nice restaurants within walking distance and you can walk to the mile. It was a more trendy/modern style hotel which we prefer.

We had some service issues with our reservation, but the manager was able to solve the problem.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at the Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. Your feedback is extremely important as it enables us to continually improve our service and provide a memorable experience to our valued guests. Although we are indeed located two blocks in from the Magnificent Mile, our central Gold Coast location affords us an excellent proximity to the best restaurants, shopping and city landmarks while offering our guests a more private and serene atmosphere than the always bustling Michigan Avenue. We are sorry to hear that you had an issue with your reservation. However, it is reassuring that a manager was able to assist you and solve the problem. We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our property in the very near future!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I stayed in this hotel in July for 2 nights, I was very satisfied here, the place is very up to date, classy looking, great service, no complaints at all. It is in a great area close to shopping, a couple blocks over and close to American girl store, my granddaughter loves this place. So all in all I would stay here again if I were in Chicago.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to share your comments concerning your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to know that you enjoyed your stay with us, and that you were able to take advantage of our proximity to the best shopping in Chicago. We are looking forward to welcoming you and your family back to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower very soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Miami Beach, Florida
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The hotel facilities, room accommodation and general related services were very good. Previous reviews had indicated that the bed was great and it did meet my expectations. The location was excellent both for business purposes as well as shopping and night activities. Breakfast options were limited however and service at breakfast not as good as we would like. After the 3rd day we opted for the breakfast at the corner bistro which opened at 8am. For an earlier start to the day the breakfast at Hotel Talbot which is around the corner was a good alternative. Use the side entrance of the hotel to go to these locations and it saves some exposure to the wind and cold!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nicolas_Pesty_GM, General Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, November 10, 2012
Thank you very much for taking the time to write a review of your stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are very glad to hear that you enjoyed our hotel and that our SoBed lived up to its excellent reputation! Thank you for your valuable feedback concerning the breakfast menu in our Cafe des Architectes. I have shared your comments with our Executive Chef and his team. We look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back to Sofitel in the very near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#3 Green Hotel in Chicago
#9 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#13 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4.5 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4.5*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Amex, Priceline, Agoda, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Jetsetter so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.