We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Chicago hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Sofitel Chicago Water Tower to your Saves list
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Magnifique Breakfast
Ranked #14 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
GreenLeadersGold level
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
94 helpful votes 94 helpful votes
“Excellent Chicago hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 29, 2012

My wife and I recently returned from a six-night stay at the Sofitel during a spring break getaway and would heartily recommend this hotel to anyone contemplating stay in Chicago.

The property is located just a few blocks west of the Magnificent Mile and just off of Rush Street. It is also a few short blocks north of the Red Line stop at Chicago Avenue and there is no shortage of things to do just outside the hotel. Of note, the hotel is just around the corner from a very nice neighborhood market (Potash Bros.) if you're looking for groceries or wine for your stay. It's also not far from the lakeshore path if you're looking for a nice run or walk (cross N. Michigan at Oak Street for the pedway). We parked in the garage next door for $37 a day.

The hotel lobby is very nice and offers a number of places to sit. Check-in was quick and we were "upgraded" to a room on the 31st floor, which was a standard room but had nice views to the southwest towards the Merchandise Mart. Our room was clean and very nicely appointed and had plenty of storage in the closet. The bed was comfortable. My only quibble with the room was minor and was a lack of seating, which suggested the room was really geared for a single occupant and not a couple. However, we made it work and would stay in the exact same room again if given the opportunity.

The bathroom in our room was really the star, with a spacious shower stall with great water pressure, a separate soaking tub, and a nice-sized sink board. The toilet is in a separate water closet, which was also a nice perk. Everything was marble or tile and was cleaned well every day like the rest of the room.

With too many other things to do, see, eat and drink close by, we didn't bother with the hotel bar or restaurant, though they seemed to be well attended by other guests. If you're in Chicago and staying at the the Sofitel, you really shouldn't be bothering with LeBar or Cafe des Architects except in the case of extreme emergency.

In closing, the Sofitel Water Tower is definitely a very good hotel and we would absolutely recommend it to anyone looking for a hotel in Chicago, especially one north of the Chicago River.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, June 4, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel, and we thank you for your excellent review! While it is true that the Gold Coast offers many wonderful options for cuisine, we do encourage our guests to experience our Chef Greg Biggers' delectable, locally sourced menu at Cafe des Architectes. Le Bar is also a favorite among locals, and its terrace is a great spot for people watching. We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at our Chicago property!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,594 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    1,810
    621
    108
    31
    24
See reviews for
371
1,016
199
599
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (365)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Phoenix, Arizona
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2012

I didn't know what to think of this chain, but I was impressed. The check in is a big quirky, but they were very quick and had us on our way to the wonderful room. The bed was sooooo nice. I miss it even now. Location is excellent as well. You can walk to many things or take a quick cab. The restaurant was very good too.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waterloo, Canada
Top Contributor
69 reviews 69 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 25, 2012

Sofitel Water Tower is an amazing hotel in the heart of Chicago. The location was outstanding with access to great shopping and the Chicago waterfront. The rooms were well appointed and always spotless. The bathroom was spacious and sparkling. The bed was incredibly comfortable and the sleep restful. The restaurant in the lobby had a large selection and food quality was tops. All staff were exceedingly helpful and courteous. A great stay and I would not hesitate to visit again!

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, MA
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

Nice modern hotel, I didn't love the decor, but that a style/taste mismatch not a fault of the hotel. I should add they had beautiful flowers in the reception area.

The room was great with a very comfortable bed, the bathroom was large and while I didn't get a chance to use the big tub I was tempted.

Location was great and had no problem getting around.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
atlanta
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

You feel welcome at this hotel. As we stayed there for 4 nights, we were upgraded to a larger room. The rooms are very nicely appointed.. There was no coffee maker in the room, and, when we asked at the reception, they promptly provided one.

We only had breakfast at the hotel and the food was delicious. The service was friendly and good.

As we were there for a wedding, we also had the catered food which was really good for that big a crowd also. Here again, the service was perfect.

Room Tip: Try to get a room ending in 1 or 7; they are the larger ones.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HotelManagerOffice, Front Office Manager at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, responded to this review, April 25, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to write about your recent stay at Sofitel Chicago Water Tower. We are delighted that you enjoyed your stay, and we thank you for complimenting our hotel and staff! Our goal is always to exceed our guests’ expectations. We look forward to welcoming you again soon at our Chicago property.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2012

I stayed here on my most recent trip to Chicago and was very pleased in all respects. The front desk staff upgraded my room without any special pleading on my part, they switched the duvet for a blanket without asking, etc. Probably the best, most consistently attentive service staff I've encountered for a year. My room was good, as usual. The location is excellent, the facility is very attractive and all around the Sofitel Chicago gets my highest recommendation.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Sofitel Chicago Water Tower? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Chicago Water Tower

Address: 20 East Chestnut St - Downtown, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Green Hotel in Chicago
#10 Business Hotel in Chicago
#11 Family Hotel in Chicago
#13 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#14 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Sofitel Chicago Water Tower 4*
Number of rooms: 415
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower bids you welcome with world-class downtown Chicago hotel accommodations - minutes from the Magnificent Mile, Michigan Avenue, the Museum of Contemporary Art, the Art Institute, and trendy boutiques. Designed by the French architect Jean-Paul Viguier, our downtown Chicago Illinois hotel is a 32-floor prism of glass, boasting 415 rooms, including 33 luxurious suites. Embrace modern design and rich architectural legacy at this luxury hotel in downtown Chicago, Illinois. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Priceline, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Despegar.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Agoda, Odigeo, ACCOR, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your Sofitel Chicago Water Tower reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Chicago Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Sofitel Chicago Water Hotel
Sofitel Water Tower Hotel Chicago
Chicago Sofitel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Sofitel Chicago Water Tower, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.