We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Wheeler Mansion

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Wheeler Mansion to your Saves list
Wheeler Mansion
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   2020 South Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616 (South Loop)   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #95 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Northbrook, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 17, 2013

My husband and I spent our 30th wedding anniversary at the Wheeler Mansion this past weekend. We had a wonderful time and the historic mansion was absolutely beautiful! The staff was extremely helpful, from check-in to our dinner reservations at the neighboring Fire House restaurant. We will make this hidden gem our Chicago destination spot. Sincerely, Shannon,

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for your kind words regarding your stay. As a small hotel our staff is personally involved in ensuring each and every guest experience exceeds expectations. Thank-you for taking the time to commend our employees.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    52
    14
    1
    7
    19
See reviews for
3
39
4
34
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 16, 2013

I wrote to Roseanne the expectations for my romantic getaway and I was guaranteed I would not be disappointed. At arrival I was billed in advance for "high tea". Chicken salad and a tart $50. let the games begin. I wrote to the staff at Wheeler Mansion expressing the thought of needing a fireplace. My room's fireplace was broken. Non-repairable. No compensation and REFUND for a one night was denied.

Room Tip: Do not spend the time or money (it was too expensive for what you are promised or what you actually...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, General Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
I am so sorry that you feel you were mislead on your important stay. I carefully reviewed the numerous emails prior to your visit and came in on my day off to ensure your day was perfect. Your emails reference your husband and your self would like high tea in the great room upon your arrival.
An elegant high tea was set up in the great room. I apologize for the misunderstanding that it was to be only for you. When you were shown the room, per your request we turned off the fireplace and explained where the lever was to turn it back on. As we explained the fireplace has a safety that prevents it from turning on within a hour for guest safety. We did come turn the fireplace on when ever you requested. When I was made aware of your disappointment I was hoping the staffs attention to your requests and a complimentary night upon your next stay would make for a satisfied customer.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Top Contributor
75 reviews 75 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
66 helpful votes 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2012 via mobile

While in Chicago for one night to attend a concert we stayed at this beautifully restored B&B. Understand that although this place is very large it is not a hotel and has, I believe, about a dozen rooms and suits. Our room was beautiful and appointed quite well. The building itself is a restored mansion that dates back to the Chicago fire and is very beautiful inside and out. I don't know how many guests were staying on the Friday night we were there but it appeared that we were all alone in a beautiful place. The breakfast was a nice buffet but nothing overwhelming. It is very close to McCormick place and Soldiers field and located in an area of old warehouses that appeared to have been converted to condos. I found a deal on the price and it was cheaper then any decent hotel in the loop so if I can get a similar price in the future we will stay again.

Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for taking the time to write such a nice review. It is funny that many of our guests feel they are in their own private mansion due to the large brick walls that make our hotel rooms so quiet. Come back next year and take advantage of our complimentary ice skating rink on our grounds!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nashville, Tennessee
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My family traveled to Chicago for a McCormick Place expo and serendipitiously landed a suite at The Wheeler Mansion. The Mansion is amazing, charming, divine and comfortable. The suite was spectacularly decorated with fabulous artwork, gorgeous antiques and an unparrelleled jacuzzi bath tub. We felt like royalty but at the same time right at home. After a fabulous flavor filled breakfast we were able to walk across the street to McCormick. How convenient. Not only convenient to my husbands expo but also to downtown. We felt relaxed and exhilarated. The staff excelled in every respect catering to our needs and desires. We are definitely returning the Wheeler Mansion as soon as possible.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for such a wonderful review. As the hotel owner, The Wheeler Mansion is not just a business but a small family of wonderful employees who have the same passion for guests service and beautiful surroundings. I am pleased that your experience was enhanced by our employees, as our facility is just a back drop for the experiences we create for our guests on a daily basis.
It is nice to be complimented for our work.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beloit, Wisconsin
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2012

We recently stayed at the Wheeler mansion in celebration of my husbands 50th Birthday. I decided to surprise him with a whole mobster/flapper theme. Checking into the Wheeler Mansion set the mood for this theme perfectly. Pulling up in front of the Mansion left us awestruck. It was beautiful beyond words. The staff was very friendly and helpful as we are not familiar with Chicago, they made sure we made our dinner reservations at Tommy Guns Garage, a dinner theater set back in the 1920's. Dinner and the show was an experience to remember. Dressed in our 20's outfits of mobster/ flapper, walking around the Wheeler Mansion really helped transport us back to that fabulous era. We will definitely visit again, and recommend this gorgeous Mansion to everyone. A highly unforgettable experience.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Guest Relations Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 2, 2013
Thank-you for commending us in regard to our beautiful hotel. Each one of our employees takes great pride in ensuring the hotels details are well taken care of. Our front office staff loves to plan unique Chicago experiences that sometimes only we know about. Ive shared your review with the staff. They were very appreciative that you took the time to say thank you.
Come visit us this summer as we are walking distance to the museums and festivals!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canberra
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2012

Ria and I thoroughly enjoyed our week at the Wheeler Mansion. We appreciated the attention of Stephanie and the other staff, as well as a discussion with the owner. It was nice to go back to a house of the 1870s, and to get some feel as to how wealthy Chicago businesspeople might have lived at that time. The Mansion is most conveniently situated, about 500 metres from Michigan Avenue and a very regular bus route into town. It's also near the Bears' HQ, and while we were there we nixed with a lot of Bears enthusasts at Krolls har + eatery, a lively adjacent venue.

Colin and Ria Barlow (Canberra, Australia)

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Front Office Manager at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Thank-you for your kind review. It is very satisfying to have a guest come all the way from Australia and enjoy their experience in our beautiful city. It is our pleasure to serve you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Last week we slipped away to Chicago for a few days to see a concert. We found the Wheeler Mansion online and thought it looked ever so wonderful and when we arrived were amazed to find that it was even more beautiful than we could've expected. We travel a lot and are tiring of generic high end hotels, the idea of a boutique inn was appealing and since we really love luxury this was the best choice we could've ever made. We arrived early for check in and were greeted by Roseanne, Stephanie and Deb, they were so friendly and knowledgable and we were soon shown to our beautiful room and then off to lunch at a nearby restaurant recommended to us. On the way to our room we noticed that the attention to detail was everywhere, each piece of furniture, drapery, etc. was carefully selected and shone of impeccable taste and quality. The building itself is lovely, the care and attention that went into restoring this grand lady was evident everywhere, the workmanship in the mansion is of such high quality, no corners were cut, the details are stunning. The woodwork, high ceilings and beautiful windows make it feel just like a castle. The mansion is spotlessly clean and fresh, our bed beautiful and comfortable. Refreshments are available at any time and were laid out very beautifully with cloth napkins, china cups and saucers, a great selection of special teas, keurig coffees and lemon water. We were shown around and told if there was anything at all that we needed just to call the number anytime, twenty four hours a day, our every need was looked after, we were made to feel right at home. Our breakfast was absolutely delicious with fresh fruit, granola and yogurt to start, then a hot breakfast to follow, all of the very highest quality. The location of the mansion is great, in a beautiful, safe neighbourhood, close enough to walk to everything with easy access to cabs and the train. I can’t wait to return in the winter to skate on the outdoor rink in the mansion’s backyard and then again in the summer to enjoy the lovely backyard and the Wheeler Mansion Market. This would be a great venue for a wedding, corporate meeting, romantic getaway, pretty much anything. The owner is wonderful and has put her heart and soul into making this special property as fantastic as it possibly could be. The focus on customer service by Deb and her staff make this great house a delightful treat. On a scale of one to ten I’d rate it a fifteen!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
wheeler47, Owner at Wheeler Mansion, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
We have many guests stay and few take the time to write such a in depth review. I thank you for your kind words. More importantly thank you for recognizing the details we believe so strongly make a important statement about our business. Our staff focuses on doing things right, as I believe many of life's simple pleasures are in the details. I run a family business that is my children's future. We do the best of our ability.....thank-you for recognizing our life's work.
Wonderful inspiration for myself and staff to continue to work hard to exceed expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Wheeler Mansion? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Wheeler Mansion

Address: 2020 South Calumet Ave, Chicago, IL 60616
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > South Loop
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:4 star — Wheeler Mansion 4*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com and Priceline so you can book your Wheeler Mansion reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Wheeler Mansion Chicago
Wheeler Mansion Hotel Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Wheeler Mansion, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.