We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Toni Patisserie & Cafe

Toni Patisserie & Cafe
65 East Washington St, Chicago, IL (Downtown / The Loop)
312‑726‑2020
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #3 of 340 Bakeries in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Cuisines: Bakeries
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast
Neighborhood: Downtown / The Loop
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Fabulous”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 16, 2013

Stopped in to warm up after checking out the Macy's display windows. What a delightful find. Hot chocolate with real whipped cream and amazing hot apple cider with cinnamon sprinkled on top! We also shared hazelnut macaroons and apple galette. As good as we've had in France! Love this place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    79
    45
    7
    0
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Illinois
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
49 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A great cheaper eat in Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 11, 2013

We wanted a small inexpensive snack and we stumbled on this place. Very close to Millennium Park as well. The prices were reasonable and food was tasty. I got a salted caramel tart to go and it was sooo good!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin, United States
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“more than just pastries”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2013

While their baked products are exceptional their lunch fare is very good. I had a ham sandwich with lettuce and quartered dill pickles and a bowl of their harvest rice and mushroom soup. The flavors of the ham and pickles went together so well I did not need condiments. And the soup was a delightful blend of textures and llavors. Another must see stop when we visit the Windy City.

  • Visited December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
82 reviews 82 reviews
66 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Quaint place, good food”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

Now if you are like me and like to hang out in cafes that are nicely decorated, neatly kept and have a European flair to them, then you will love Toni's. The food is decently priced (sandwiches approx $8) but the presentation is worth a lot more. You will feel special when you eat out of their cute plates and drink out of their huge latte bowls. I go there a lot and have yet to have a bad experience. Love hanging out here for lunch, dinner, or just desserts with friends. Make sure you try their tartlets!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sackets Harbor, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“lovely lunch”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2013

Toni's was recommended to us by our Chicago Greeters guide on our walking tour. Since my sister is opening a cafe in Denver, we enjoyed some "research" with lunch of soup (yummy red pepper) and desserts (chocolate eclair and fruit-topped cheesecake). A real treasure of an eatery!

  • Visited November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Toni Patisserie & Cafe also viewed

 

Been to Toni Patisserie & Cafe? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Toni Patisserie & Cafe, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.