We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Chicago History Tour” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chicago's Finest Tours

Chicago's Finest Tours
401 North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60654 (Near North Side)
+1 312-202-0745
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #4 of 301 Activities in Chicago
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Chicago's Finest River Walk Tour is now Chicago's Finest Tours! We are Chicago’s most dynamic and fun entertainment activity option! We offer our guests highly passionate and energy-packed activities ranging from walking tours, bus tours and highly advanced scavenger hunts. We distinguish ourselves by providing our guests captivating storytelling, keen visualizations and infectious enthusiasm! Our mission is to ensure each guest walks away with a smile on their face and better understanding of our amazing city!
Naperville
1 review
“Chicago History Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 22, 2013

A slow paced, 2 1/2 hour walk covered about a half mile, but proved very informative. The guide, Daniel O'Connell, regaled us with facts, stories, and jokes throughout the journey. He provided a book of photos for each of us that enhanced the presentation, quizzed us on Chicago trivia, and even provided umbrellas for everyone when it rained. A delightful afternoon.
Jerry

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    412
    18
    4
    4
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Would not recommend”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

I bought this 1/2 off through an internet deal thank god, because if I would have paid full price I would have been even more unhappy. You think when you read "walk tour" you will be walking quit a bit. We made it about 1/4 of a mile in an hour. LONG lectures with too much information (not quick fun facts, felt like more of a history lesson involving specific dates), standing/sitting for 20 mins at a time in the hot sun, and again hardly any walking. I admit we didn't stay for the whole time but I have a feeling it didn't get much better. Not to say that our tour guide wasn't knowledgeable, but his loud, long delivery wasn't much fun to listen to. Would definitely not recommend for children either. Also, he gave out big, leather, outdated, poor quality notebooks that in my opinion were useless. Update your materials! Very disappointed overall.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dan O, President at Chicago's Finest Tours, responded to this review, June 21, 2013
For our future guests benefit, Chicago's Finest Tours provides different tours with different levels of walking. This guest chose to attend a tour that is clearly described - minimal walking. We do offer tours with maximum walking. Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Ellyn
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“June 19 Tour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 20, 2013

Rick lead our tour. He was very personable, knowledgeable and funny. I was concerned that we would be able to hear the commentary but Rick projected so well, we never had an issue. I took the tour with my wife and daughter and my daughter wants to take the same tour again. The price was well worth the tour. We learned a lot about our city. Looking forward to taking the Pedway tour later this year.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mokena, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
6 attraction reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“A Fabulous Way to See the City!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2013

We thought we knew Chicago...we've done the tours and read the books, but this tour showed us Chicago as we haven't seen it before. Our tour guide, Daniel K O Connell, a seasoned story teller and guide held our attention through two and a half hours of walking the riverfront...no small feat! He pointed out details we had never noticed, told stories about buildings we thought we knew, and led us into nooks and crannies that contained hidden gems along the river. We found intimate, shady eateries that we didn't know existed; statues, busts and landmarks we've walked past a million times but never noticed, and heard stories that brought the city to life. This tour is like no other in the city...even if you've already done them all, take the time for this one too. You will be happy you did. An added bonus: Daniel stops the tour several times for trivia games, giving his audience a chance to win gift cards for local eateries! We won $15 for Giordano's Pizza and $5 for Starbucks!

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan City, Indiana
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“CHICAGO RIVER WALK TOUR”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013

Not knowing what to expect....I was wowed by this tour. Dan's enthusiasm and sharing his long-time love for the history of Chicago made it so exciting and interesting. His little games of True and False kept everyone on their toes hoping for a wonderful prize! I'm hungry for more information on this wonderful city. We were fed great food at our brunch and Dan kept on feeding our minds during this also. So much was shared with our group you couldn't possible retain it all. I'll have to go back for another Chicago River Walk Tour....soon! Thank you so much Dan.

Hoosier Kathy

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Chicago's Finest Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chicago's Finest Tours, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.