We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Amazing location. Great views of the Lake!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #67 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
167 reviews 167 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
64 helpful votes 64 helpful votes
“Amazing location. Great views of the Lake!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

The W Lakeshore is literally on Lake Michigan. It is steps from Navy Pier and a short walk to Michigan Avenue and City Center. If you get a room facing Lakeshore Drive you will have a beautiful view of the water and the "play pen" which is where all of the boats come to play during the summer!

The rooms are of average size of a downtown metropolitan area hotel. The spa is really nice. They recently remodeled the restaurant, but my favorite part is the seating outside where you can have a coffee & read a book with a great view of the lake.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

403 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    197
    119
    54
    17
    16
See reviews for
49
98
14
154
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Holland, Michigan
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Fabulous location. Close to the L lines, centrally located in the Loop and within walking distance to parks and the Art Institute. The rooms were quite small, but not atypical for Downtown Chicago. Decor was fun, staff was excellent.

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Stayed at the w lakeshore for a conference. Room was very comfortable and nice bathroom. Ordered room service since I arrived late and didn't eat since lunchtime and the food was high quality, delicious and fresh. Served in a timely manner. Hotel is a 5 minute walk to michigan ave and near northwestern university campus. The bar area was hopping Thursday evening and was a fun people watching place. Would stay again when back in the Windy City.

Stayed May 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prospect, Kentucky
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
105 helpful votes 105 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

The W's location is perfect, providing a short walk to the Navy Pier and the Chicago Children's Museum. You're also only a few blocks from Michigan Avenue and all the shopping. As good as the location is, the service and attention to detail from the staff is even better. As a family with smaller children, we didn't have to worry about a thing from the point of initial valet to check out. Our room was stylish and functional with a great view of the city. The younger me, sans kids, would have gravitated to the bar/restaurant/lobby area, which is what you would expect from the W line: upscale fare, trendy music and more of an international crowd - cool.

I've stayed at many properties In the Chicago metro area, and this property is now at the top of my list.

Stayed April 2015
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed at the W on Lakeshore in Chicago. Very nice hotel. Rooms were clean and roomy. I even had a nice view although that was due to an error during check-in. My bed request got mixed up but the guy that checked me was super about correcting the mistake and even offered me a gift certificate to the restaurant.
The restaurant was very good. A bit pricey but food quality was good.
The W hotels are known for the active lobbies with a DJ and busy lounge. For this hotel my only issue was that it was a bit loud and the poor signage to get to registration could be improved.
I used the exercise room frequently and was surprised that it was well equipped, modern and clean. I did not use the pool but it looked nice as well.
The proximity to Navy Pier was great as that was where I had to go for business.

  • Stayed April 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

This hotel is so chic and stylish. I stayed here for a bachelorette party and we all loved this hotel. The service was great and the people at the front desk were very accommodating. There are great views of the pier/lake and it is located within walking distance to Michigan Ave and Millennium Park/The Bean. The bar in the hotel lobby was always poppin'!

My only complaint is that in the rooms with 2 beds, the beds are very small- but very comfortable!

  • Stayed May 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Florida, Florida
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I loved everything about this hotel!!! I am a huge fan of Starwood hotels and the location of this W in Chicago was excellent. Me and my best friend came for a girls getaway for 5 days and enjoyed everything from the hotel to the shopping !
We ate a YOLK everyday ( that place is freaking delicious!! ) , magnificent mile was in walking distance as well as the Navy Pier.

Room Tip: We were on the 28th floor with a great view of the Navy Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#16 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#36 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
#59 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#76 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Chicago Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fabulous Social Italian dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, the W Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Starwood, Amex, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, BookIt.com, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.