We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Comfortable, Trendy, and A+ Service” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Save
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #73 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Comfortable, Trendy, and A+ Service”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

It felt like we were in an oceanfront room, as Lake Michigan was our view. Navy Pier was in full view as well. The staff was friendly and aimed to please on every front. Taxi service is a breeze in Chicago so don't bring a car. We parked for $4 a day at a train station outside the city and took cabs for everything. Wouldn't have it any other way. Will stay here again!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

346 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    165
    104
    49
    15
    13
See reviews for
37
86
12
134
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Saint Louis, Missouri
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

Staying for a weekend at the remodeled W Chicago Lakeshore was an absolutely wonderful experience! The W Chicago Lakeshore recently underwent an extensive (and much needed) remodel. The W Chicago Lakeshore was my choice Chicago hotel before their remodel, but was definitely showing it's age. I could have chosen to stay at a nicer Chicago hotel before their remodel, but their warm, hospitable staff kept me coming back. During the W Chicago Lakeshore's remodel, I chose to stay at other downtown Chicago hotels to avoid the noise and construction. My first stay back at the W Chicago Lakeshore the weekend of March 13, 2015 only reinforced why I consider the W Chicago Lakeshore the best hotel in Chicago! The valet welcomed me back to the W Chicago Lakeshore, explained valet parking, and asked if I would like luggage assistance (I was traveling light, so I politely declined the luggage assistance). Walking into the remodeled W Chicago Lakeshore's lobby was like night and day. The lobby is now one of the most, if not the most spectacular, modern lobbies of any hotel that I've ever visited! Checking-in, I was warmly greeted by Daniel. He acknowledged my SPG status and offered to upgrade ne to their "Marvelous Suite". I gratefully accepted Daniel's offer, and the "Marvelous Suite" was truly devine! The suite was immaculately clean, large, and very modern with an amazing view of Lake Michigan. Saturday evening, the W Chicago Lakeshore's staff suprised me by having a bottle of Champagne, a plate of macaroons, and gummy bears (my three favorite treats) placed in my suite. Surprised and delighted, to say the least! I haven't experienced the W Chicago Lakeshore's new restaurant "Current" (their old restaurant "Wave" was one of my Chicago favorites), but I will definitely give it a try on another visit. Bliss Spa is still located on the 8th floor and is still relaxing as ever! However, one thing I miss about the W Chicago Lakeshore since their remodel is Whiskey Sky. My friends and I had many a fun night at their former bar at the top of the W Chicago Lakeshore! However, their new lobby bar is a great improvement over their former lobby bar (the bartenders make the best raspberry mojitos). I really missed the staff and staying at the W Chicago Lakeshore during their remodel, but the wait was well worth it. The W Chicago Lakeshore has once again become my weekend retreat!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

W Chicago- Lakeshore was a great experience. We came in for a show and the convenience of shopping and dining was terrific. Everywhere we wanted to go was just a short walk or cab ride away. The hotel was clean and recently updated and the staff was friendly but the hotel restaurant for dinner was over priced, under staffed and the food was super salty. I would definitely stay again, I would just skip the restaurant.

  • Stayed March 2015, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience Lisa B. Although I am thrilled to know you enjoyed our hotel and your overall experience I am disappointed to know you did not have a positive experience in our restaurant. Please know that I will share your review with my team as it will allow us to improve.

Should you need anything in the future please feel free to contact me direct.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Romero
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Alberta, Canada
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I was in Chicago at the end of February for a conference and stayed at the W Lakeshore. Ramone the Concierge was phenomenal. He helped to arrange airport transportation prior to arrival and greeted us personally at the door. Arranged a litlle sumpin'sumpin ' (Beer) for me as I waited to check in. He also arranged coffeeemakers for myself and a colleague (a life saver). Gave me perfect suggestions for a full day of touring the area (dont miss the art museum).
Made himself available for any request and finally when we were waiting in the lobby for our ride to the airport he got me another little sumpin' sumpin.
He's a huge asset to the hotel and truly made the stay.

Thanks Ramone!

Stayed February 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 3 days ago
What a great 'Insider' experience! I am thrilled to hear that Ramon was so helpful and provided such a warm welcome! Thank you so much for sharing your experience!

Hope to welcome you back soon.

Alejandra Romero
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Ultra modern luxury hotel! Great costumer service, with a special thank you to Mike Cantrell! He went above and beyond the call of duty to make our stay!
THANK YOU MIKE!
Ps the cookies and milk from room service are unbelievable!

Stayed March 2015, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Loretto, Minnesota
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW via mobile

The W is fine for the price. It's a party hotel and that's not our style. Since we booked the room through expedia, the hotel couldn't change our room or anything. It took 1 hour on hold to even get a person on the phone. We checked out the next day after being put on hold for 2 hours I'm total. Expedia, you SUCK!

Stayed March 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hello, I am sorry you had a negative experience with your reservation. Hopefully this will not discourage you from staying again. In the future I invite you to book your reservation through our sites and SPG apps, you can also contact me direct should you need anything at all.

Kind regards,

Alejandra Romero
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

We stayed here for one night and it was great!! Check-in was smooth, fun and easy. Emily checked us in and she is friendly and a true assets to the W and Starwood with great customer service and a friendly smile!! Our room was nice and it was a water view as advertised. The overall stay was great and the W Lakeshore is a great place to stay whether for a weekend or business trip.

Room Tip: Hope you get Emily when you check in
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2015, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 3 days ago
WOW! Sounds like you had a great time with us. So happy to know Emily gave you such a warm welcome. I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience and recognize our talent.

Hope to see you back soon!

Alejandra Romero
Director of Operations
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#37 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#43 Business Hotel in Chicago
#72 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Chicago Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fabulous Social Italian dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, the W Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Starwood, HotelTravel.com, Hotwire, BookIt.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.