We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Above and Beyond!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #86 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Atlanta, Georgia
1 review
“Above and Beyond!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I had a wonderful experience at the W Lakeshore. The room and facilities were all top notch. The staff however, went above and beyond during my stay. 5 minutes before leaving for the airport, the zipper on my suitcase broke. The W concierge ran to my aid and not only helped me brainstorm ways to fix it, but also tried a fix of his own- with pliers. He was somehow able to fix my very broken suitcase and get me to the airport on time....what a lifesaver! I truly mean it when I say the staff goes above and beyond to help their customers. I will be forever grateful!

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

253 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    79
    40
    13
    11
See reviews for
31
62
11
90
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (90)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Unbelievable!! Best hotel in Chicago!!
Friendly staff, SPECTACULAR Views and QUIET!!!!
Love the room decor!! Feels like a cruise ship!
Pool needs work but it was warm and wonderful!!
Blissage massage coming up!!

Stayed January 2015, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Island, New York
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

I have stayed at this property three times in the past three months. It is right on the lake, and is good value for the money. This past time, as a Starwood Platinum member, I was offered an upgrade to my room. Room was a little more spacious (W rooms are always a little smaller than other Starwood properties) but noticed a fairly large crack in the wall, right above the connecting door to the room next door. Also, when I hung up my shirt and pants in the closet, there was a huge crack in the wall, with plaster falling off the wall. I was only there for one night, but went down to the front desk the following morning and spoke with Barbara (who is excellent!), who was very surprised at my finding and said the room would be taken out of commission and fixed. Also ate dinner at the bar, which was fine.

  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I have been going to the Lakeshore W for years now with my oldest daughter and now go with both of my children. I can only compare the service to Disney, for as soon as we arrive they make us feel very special. The same doorman Darnel has been there for years and welcomes us with a warm hug and great kindness. Daniel the What Ever When Ever manager gave us a trip of a life time this time by giving us an amazing update that my children will never forget. You may not think this is really a family focused hotel, but the service really exceeds what you would expect at a city hotel and the location is so close to Navy Pier and the American Girl Store you can't beat it!

Room Tip: Ask for a lake view, call and talk to the amazing staff if you are celebrating something, they will...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Westchester County, NY
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Typical W hotel with added benefit of truly amazing views of lake michigan and the ferris wheel at navy pier. Easy access to millennium park and other Chicago attractions. The service here is great. We have stayed here twice and always been impressed with everyone form the front desk staff to the bartenders. Rooms are comfortable. No complaints.

Stayed January 2015, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW via mobile

Great location - Navy Pier across the street - and fun vibe. Food and drinks are good, staff is very friendly. I stay at the W Lakeshore a lot and look forward to it every time. I highly recommend booking here!

  • Stayed January 2015
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago NEW

I have stayed many times at the W Lakeshore for work, and I find it to be a great value and a serene hotel. With recent renovations, the lobby and restaurant in the lobby is a great place to meet folks - or get work done especially early morning over a great breakfast. A great spot if you are looking for a convenient location without the chaos of a typical downtown hotel.

This last trip the team at the W Lakeshore tracked my arrival in advance and two team members, Arlene Hampshire and Sonia Scalera, were great in helping to make my stay a great one. I am a Lifetime Platinum SPG member and received a great upgrade and a nice gift. Thank you Both!

Room Tip: Ask and you shall receive. Rooms facing the lake are great view wise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2015, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Chicago
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#42 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#75 Family Hotel in Chicago
#78 Business Hotel in Chicago
#78 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The W Chicago Lakeshore is the closest hotel to Navy Pier with stunning views of Lake Michigan and Ohio Street beach. The property is just 3 blocks from the Magnificent Mile with world class shopping and restaurants. We offer a fabulous Social Italian dining option on property with Current Restaurant and the Living Room Lounge. Perfect for both business and leisure travelers, the W Lakeshore offers flexible meeting space with incredible views that is perfect for a corporate meeting or a lavish wedding. Please contact us today and ask for our Sales and Catering Department to get you a rate to host your next event! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Amex, Starwood, Hotels.com, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.