We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“W Hotel Lakeshore Relaxing with Great Staff” 4 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Book Early and Save
Ranked #88 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Dallas, Texas
1 review
“W Hotel Lakeshore Relaxing with Great Staff”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Overall stay was great, good size clean rooms, lake view, and friendly staff. Location is good with lots of great spots that are in walking distance. Convenient bar/restaurant in the lobby. Safe and friendly area.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

220 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    92
    70
    35
    12
    11
See reviews for
24
51
11
78
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Overall Stay was good first time to Chicago in a while. The staff there is fantastic Daniel a manager and Barbra both helped me out and where very kind a clearly love the hotel and their city. I had a problem that was not dealt with properly at first but Daniel saved the day and my opinion of the hotel. I would probably stay again. Very clean and new.

Room Tip: no real need for Lakeview room. always take a higher floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lewisburg, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

Stayed at the W Lakeshore for three nights in early December. Location was perfect - within walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, and right across the street from the Lake. We upgraded to a Lake View room, which would be really lovely in the summer time, although not necessary for dreary December. Room was large and well-appointed with comfortable bedding, good lighting, nice flat-screen TV and spacious bathroom. Upon arrival I asked the front desk for Advil and they sent someone to 7-11 for me to pick it up and drop in my room, all within 20 minutes. Bliss Spa was lovely, and conveniently located in the hotel. Hotel bar was convenient, but there are much more happening places to hang out in Chicago. Only complaint would be that there were not enough doormen at this busy location, for when we stepped outside to look for a taxi, half of the time there weren't any doormen to hail one for us. Overall great stay in Chicago.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

W was easy in and out. Convenient for my purpose of attending an art fair on Navy Pier. Hotel restaurant was good. Bartender was accommodating and staff very friendly. I will stay again when in Chicago.

Room Tip: Be sure to get a view of Lake Michigan.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteDemay22, General Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you Francesca B for taking a moment to fill out a survey regarding your recent visit to the W! We agree the hotel and team are fun, hip, and convenient and are so happy you chose to stay with us!

Have a great Holiday Season!

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goshen, Indiana
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

Weekend trip to Chicago and landed in the W from a great offer on a third party website. Wasn't sure what to expect but when we got there, WOW. 11th floor room with a humongous picture window looking out onto Navy Pier and Lake Michigan. Very "chic" decor and modern. The hallway lighting is mesmerizing almost like being in a carnival funhouse. Room very clean and quiet. We liked the place so much that we went down to the lobby and immediately booked a second night at their price.

You just know as soon as you walk in that this is a very cool hotel.

It's about four blocks down Ontario to Michigan Ave but we walked everywhere.

Jeremy at the front desk is great to work with you and will give all kinds of tips where to eat and what to do.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteDemay22, General Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you Bryanb 1965 for choosing the W for your place to stay, for booking a second night because you loved it so much and most importantly for recognizing our great Talent Member Jeremy for all his recommendations of fun things to do! We appreciate you writing the review and wish you a sensational Holiday Season.

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, Kentucky
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

I think they call it a boutique hotel. Wasn't sure what to expect. The hotel and staff exceeded all my expectations. The hotel is what i would call "sexy". The lighting, decor and rooms were all seductive. Great views. That being said i did see several families with children there. Great hotel. Will definitely stay there again! The only downside is no free internet.

  • Stayed December 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteDemay22, General Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you mayor 1313 for your excellent review of your visit the W! We are so happy you enjoyed the experience and found the hotel so unique and amazing! We hope to see you again soon and wish you a great holiday season!

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 1 week ago

Nice view of the Navy Pier. Clean, high end and very nice staff. Nice big room. Will stay again. The restaurant serves very good food and has very nice vibe at night in the lobby. Walking distance to Starbucks and places to eat.

  • Stayed November 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PeteDemay22, General Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 4 days ago
Thank you Shakimary for your review on trip advisor as we agree that the W Lakeshore is a perfect spot that is the closest hotel to Navy Pier and only a couple blocks away from the Magnificent Mile! We are glad you had a great time and hope to have you back soon!

Happy Holidays,

Pete Demay
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#23 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#45 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#77 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#81 Family Hotel in Chicago
#84 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, HotelTravel.com, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.