We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Couldn't be better...” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save Saved
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #95 of 172 Hotels in Chicago
Sarasota, Florida
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Couldn't be better...”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed today NEW

Stayed at this location recently, the hotel was near capacity and you would have never known. The staff didn't miss a beat. The room was clean and in perfect order, any request of the staff was handled quickly and with a smile.

Room Tip: It's Chicago, get an upper floor overlooking the lake..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    61
    50
    22
    10
    9
See reviews for
20
34
6
53
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (57)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
37 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

I stayed here for 3 night while on a business trip and thoroughly enjoyed my stay. The staff are friendly, the rooms are well sized and there's a wall to wall sofa with views of Lake Michigan and Navy Pier!
For the most part the room was quiet, except on my final nights stay where the hotel seemed very full, elevators took forever and people were making a bit of noise in the late hours of the night. I think there was some event on up on the 33rd floor, so I wasn't too concerned with it.
The food in the Living Room is really nice too, I tried both the sausage pizza and the steak (on a couple different days) and enjoyed both of them.
It's a little way out from downtown Chicago, but you can get there for a $10 taxi ride or a 30min walk.
The only thing I found annoying (and this is pretty insignificant) was reaching for the toilet paper dispenser because for some reason it's behind the toilet :) Other than that I enjoyed my stay.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

Stayed in this hotel for 1 night and it was one of the nicest hotels I've ever stayed in. Everything feels brand new and chic and modern. Location is perfect, looking right on to the lakeshore and the views from the hotel, including navy pier, are beautiful.

The rooms itself are very stylish and comfortable. We had a minor issue with the beddings which was not fully resolved due to the short time that we stayed in the hotel but I am sure that the staff would've dealt with the issue in a prompt manner had we stayed there longer.

Definitely recommend staying in this hotel!

Stayed August 2014, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newport Beach, California
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

This is a fantastic hotel, very up to W standards and the lobby bar is a great place to hang out and people watch. I recommend getting a room with a lake view, seems like you can see for miles. If only you could have the view plus be in the thick of the city, that would be amazing. Overall it's a great W and I highly recommend it.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for sharing your experience with others! We love our views as well!

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bradenton, Florida
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

This was my second stay at the W Hotel Lakeshore and recent reno's make the property even more desirable. I love the location and i love the can do attitude of the staff. Special shout out to Ramone and Louis the two Concierge's I dealt with - they were fantastic and their recommendations spot on!

Room Tip: Pick the room with lakeshore views, so beautiful to wake up!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for coming back to see us! I am happy to hear you enjoyed the renovation and that Lois & Ramon were helpful!

Hope to meet you next time you stay with us!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

After a night of royal lodging, I was ready to check out. About 30 minutes after leaving I noticed I lost my car and house keys. I hurried back and alerted the front desk, security, and valet. They all searched to no avail. As I was preparing to accept my ruined weekend, Trevell showed up with keys in hand. Thank you! Great service even after check-out.

  • Stayed October 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello! I am glad to hear you had a good time with us and that Trevell found your keys! Thank you for taking the time to share your experience.

Hope to see you back soon

Alejandra R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
154 hotel reviews
Reviews in 120 cities Reviews in 120 cities
317 helpful votes 317 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 days ago NEW

My best man planned my bachelor party here, and it was a great hotel for everyone for the weekend.

We called ahead and managed to get rooms all on the same floor, so it would be easier to meet up so we could all go out together. When we checked in, the front desk staff was extremely friendly. In fact, during our entire stay, the people who helped up checked in remembered us and called us by name each time we walked by.

The lobby has been remodeled recently, and it is absolutely amazing. There are nice sitting areas throughout the lobby, finished beautiful marble.

The room we reserved had a great view of Lake Michigan. It does get pretty bright in the morning, so be sure to close the shades. There was plenty of space in the room, and the rooms were decorated as well. Since our room had two beds, we didn't have a couch in our room. The rooms with one bed have a nice long couch to lounge and hang out with friends. Although, these types of rooms have a very interesting light by the bed, which is difficult to turn on. I figured out how to turn this light on in one of my friend's room, but when I tried to do this in my other friend's room I couldn't figure it out.

The only strange thing about the hotel room is the bathroom door. To maximize on space, there is a sliding door that has a small crack when closed.

We also had drinks at the bar downstairs, and service was amazing. There is a very interesting selection of drinks and food. It was nice to grab a corner table and hang out before heading out for the night.

Our last day, we ate in the restaurant in the lobby. The food was tasty, and the service was really good.

When we checked out, we were planning on taking two taxis to the airport, but the hotel staff said it would be cheaper if we all shared an SUV. That was a nice touch so that we could all spend our last few minutes all together.

This is a great hotel, and I would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Thank you for taking the time to share your experience. I am thrilled to hear you had such a fun weekend and you were able to celebrate prior to your big day! Congratulations on your wedding!

Best of luck to you!

Alejandra R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#84 Family Hotel in Chicago
#91 Business Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Number of rooms: 520
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Starwood, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.