We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Never Had Such Good Service Anywhere!! (and I travel alot..)” 5 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Save Saved
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #99 of 169 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
1 review
“Never Had Such Good Service Anywhere!! (and I travel alot..)”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Service at this hotel was immediate and truly friendly--- a touch of O on the house phone got you instantly to a staff member who could help with everything--- I got free ironing and a button sewn on, lovely smiles and attentive service from room service, quick to get cabs, and even a present of freshly baked cookies--- this place was hard to beat and the rooms were very luxe and well appointed.. Room service food was excellent. Chic and hip, not "charming"... yet no attitude.... Bravo!

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

99 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    37
    13
    8
    6
See reviews for
17
24
1
35
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (41)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

Stayed for two nights. Front desk is in the restaurent, very confusing to find. Hotel decor is dark. Service was very poor. Had to go down to the front desk by myself to get the roomservice menu after waiting for 30 minutes. I would expect better service for the high price they charge per night.

Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Harrisburg, PA
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

I stayed 3 nights for a conference held in the building.

The good:
• bed was very comfortable
• breakfast in lobby restaurant was great
• size of room was good
• staff were pleasant
•complimentary coffee in the lobby, and it was good
• lots of outlets in your room
The not so good:
• the hallways are DARK, small blue lights illuminating the way; day and night....it was like a "fun house"
• there was a good side and a bad side to this hotel--one side with a beautiful view! The "city" side was a direct view into numerous apartment buildings; you could see the TVs on, people walking,etc.
•bathroom very small with little shelf space...not conducive for women, you need to line the sink and put your stuff in it to get ready
•decor is cold/ultra modern
• no outlets in meeting rooms

Stayed September 2014
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

The rooms are clean and the beds comfortable - but it is getting a little old and in need of some work. I had to pull and push my room door pretty hard to get it to open/close. The light beside my bed would not turn on - not sure if it was the bulb or the switch. The door in the men's restroom on the 33rd floor is busted and also jams when opening/closing.

That said, the location is great and the views (if you are on the lake side) are great.

Room Tip: Make sure you ask for a lake view. I got to look at a wall :(
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The hotel itself is gorgeous and the staff is responsive and cheerful. I stayed there as part of a conference and I flew in a day early so that I could enjoy the city on my wn time.

If I was just staying at the hotel for personal reasons then I would have rated them all 5 stars. Being there for a conference was a little tougher to rate. We moved back and forth from Florr 6 & 7 to Floor 33 on a fairly regular basis throughout the day and the elevators were a bit of an issue. I sometimes had to wait more than 4 minutes to leave my floor (26th) to go the lobby. I often took the stairs from 33 to 26 to avoid having to take the elevator.

I also think the staff in the lobby bar should have been staffed up. When there are 150 congregating with nothing else to do, we are likely going to end up in the bar. There were only 2 people to take care of the 50of us that showed up.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the water or Navy Pier
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
Hello! Thank you for your review! I am happy to hear you enjoyed your experience and appreciate the additional feedback you provided from your stay.

Hope to welcome you back soon!

Kind regards,

Alejandra R
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 3 days ago NEW

The first thing that hit me was the smell in the hotel. Its some kind of fragrance they pump through the air vents, i loved it, it felt like i was entering a spa.
The very upbeat dancy music played in all public areas, loved it! No boring elevator music.
Unfortunately we go got a room looking over the city and not the lake, bummer, but the Bliss toiletries made up for that, nice touch. Parking costs about $50 a night, pretty stiff but i believe every hotel charge, some charge more, some charge less.
The room walls are a bit thin, we could hear our neighbours talking to each other.
Hotel is nice and close to the Navy Pier, and a quick walk in the opposite direction puts you close to all the shops.
Overall a good experience, will go back.

Room Tip: Ask for lake facing room
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
WChicagoLakeshore, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 2 days ago
I am thrilled to hear you had a great experience with us! Hope we are able to welcome you back soon, next time please contact me direct and I will make sure you get to enjoy the lake views!

See you soon!

Alejandra R
alejandra.romero@whotel.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

The staff at this hotel will strive to make sure your stay exceeded your expectations. My
Wife and I had a few issues with our room on our first night because door would not properly close shut, and the overall cleanliness of the room. We brought it to the attention of the staff and they really took care of us. Not to get into detail but Mike, one of the employees in the front desk made sure we had an excellent experience. Thanks again Mike and the entire W staff. Oh and the hotel amenities are spectacular. They have an inviting lounge downstairs with an ultra modern decor that carries all throughout the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, 3 days ago
Hi Kareem,

We apologize for the issues with your initial check-in/room, but we're thrilled to hear that our staff went above and beyond for you! Thank you for the kind words regarding out decor and amenities. Hope to see you back at W Lakeshore soon!

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( Wi-Fi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#46 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#77 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Starwood, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Priceline, BookIt.com, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Otel, Hotels.com and Venere so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.