We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Worst Anniversary stay” 1 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Save Saved
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #107 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Worst Anniversary stay”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

We decided to celebrate our anniversary in Chicago downtown. We look several options and then reserved W lakeshore hotel. Check in was swift and had no issue. We got our room keys and moved towards the room. Once we enter the the room we were not impressed by the view so thought of upgrading it. It took 15 mins to upgrade the room. We were given new room number and were told to wait outside the new room and someone will bring the room keys. We waited for 25 mins still no one came. Then I went down to front desk and they asked me to stand in Que ( it was verry big Que and again wait continues)
At the end I got my room keys and I went to the room as I was very tired. After 20 more mins, guess what some one shows up on my door with a room key. I can't stop laughing......
I called front desk and told them that I was not happy with wait and everything. Guess what ? They were so rude. It was heights of worst customer service. I am still in the hotel while I am writing this review. Hope my evening would be good.

Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    7
    14
    5
    3
    2
See reviews for
4
9
Solo
0
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Berlin, Germany
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed yesterday NEW

This hotel was recently renovated and most (all?) rooms and public spaces are new and fresh. However, you need to love dark colors since the whole hotel is mostly black, dark purple, grey and (a bit) white. Personally, I can't stand these cold colors, I found it depressing. Since I was attending an event hosted at the venue, I had to move around the conference rooms quite a lot. All floors being black, I found it quite irritating to find my way, too.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Milford, NJ
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 days ago NEW

This is regarding a 2 night stay at the W Chicago Lakeshore Hotel in June of this year.

The lobby is well maintained and features a bar that dominates the lobby area. Decor is trendy.

Our party had reserved 4 rooms and when we arrived prior to the check in time, understandably only 1 was ready. I accepted the 1 room and decided to store everyone's luggage in there. The problems began to arise when 2 hours after check in time, we still did not have all our rooms. After we had all our rooms, a member of our party called the concierge to ask if 4 shirts could be ironed. He understood the laundry service might be closing soon and made it clear the shirts were needed for that night. If they could not do it, it would be fine and we would take care of it on our own, but if they are able to get the shirts back by 6pm, we would really appreciate it. We were assured that not only would they be back by 6pm, but they would be back within 20 minutes. By 8:30pm the shirts had still not returned and after several phone calls we learned that they could not even locate one of them. We went downstairs and retrieved our shirts not wanting to wait any longer. This may seem minor to some, but this is supposed to be a premium property offering premium services. If you are swamped and unable to commit to certain services, then just admit as much and I am sure most people would understand. It does not make things better to make empty promises.

The following day we left in the morning to go about our day and when returning mid afternoon, our rooms had been made up, but only 1 clean towel left in each room. The response from the staff when we requested clean towels was that they would be sent right up. When several hours later there were still no towels, a second inquiry was placed and we were told that the they were "out of clean towels". Now, whether it is a luxury hotel or a budget motel, a clean towel is such a basic amenity. There is simply not a valid excuse for not having any. Fresh towels finally arrived to our rooms at approximately 9pm that night.

To the credit of the staff, they were all very friendly and seemed genuinely concerned when we voiced our concerns over what was happening. This is especially true with regard to Mr. Dasilva, the Welcome Desk Manager who followed up with me after my stay to see if all issues were resolved to my satisfaction.

I must say that the concern shown by the staff and their attempts to remedy the situations were much appreciated. The dedication of the customer service staff on the property would have me return.

The actual property was in the final stages of renovations when we arrived. I did not know this beforehand when booking, but it was not a major distractions as most amenities were available and open to guests.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi there,

Thank you so much for your feedback. We are so sorry to hear about all of the inconsistencies you experienced throughout your stay, but we're happy that Mr. Dasilva and the rest of the staff took great care of you. We know that sometimes the little things can make or break your stay! We hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back to W Lakeshore soon.

Sincerley,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW

We’re SPG members, so we always look for Starwood hotels first when we travel. We’ve always had good experiences (usually great) when we’ve stayed at Westins and Sheratons. This was our first experience at a W, and it will be our last.

I’ll start with the positives:
• It’s a great location (that’s why we chose it).
• The toiletry items are Bliss, and are awesome.
• Housekeeping was prompt and thorough. Our room was always clean and well stocked.
• The staff was friendly enough.

But then there are the negatives:
• The lobby is a club, and it’s virtually unavoidable. The club atmosphere spills over into the elevators at night. It’s definitely a “scene” and was uncomfortable for us (and we’re two adults. I saw families with kids and could only imagine how awkward it was for them.)
• The service in the bar/restaurant was terrible. The waitress got our orders wrong all three times we asked for something (both rounds of drinks and dinner). We almost always leave a 20% tip unless the service is ridiculously bad, but she received a rare 10% from us. If we’re willing to pay $15 a drink, you should make sure you deliver the right one. Apparently, being pretty is more important than being a good server at the W. We went our first night and never returned.
• The room was modern and nicely decorated, but poorly designed. The bathroom in our room had a sliding door which didn’t completely close (TMI warning: you could watch the t.v. from the toilet). So no privacy if you’re traveling with another person.
• The bathroom sink had a flat bottom, which looked cool, but didn’t drain due to the lack of angle. We had to wipe out the sink every time we used it, which was gross.
• The room had a mini bar, but nothing in it, so it was basically a fridge. At least take the key off so we won’t be disappointed. After the lousy bar experience, we were hoping we could serve ourselves in our room.

And to top it off………..our room had a stripper pole. Or at least a metal rod that connected the bedside table and the ceiling and looked just like a stripper pole. It was so gross and disturbing.

We were really, really disappointed in the W. But fortunately, Chicago has a lot of great hotels to choose from for our upcoming trips.

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi there,

We are so happy to hear you gave W a try after being a loyal guest to Westins and Sheratons. We certainly try to take extra special care of our SPG members! Thank you for the kind words about our location, Bliss amenities and prompt style staff! We are so sorry to hear our atmosphere was not to your liking and that the Living Room Bar service was not up to par. We hope we have the chance to welcome you back and wow you the second time around.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Timisoara
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 4 days ago NEW via mobile

The hotel is very well situated near to the lake and shopping area also. I've been there for business but i recommend this hotel also for family. The room is large enough and very interesting bathroom with a window inside the room.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Miky,

Thanks for the kind words! We're so happy to hear you enjoyed our location and the rooms. Can't wait to see you again soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

Stayed here for a work/client event. Lobby is very modern with a bar that pretty much flows into the lobby desks. Location is great. Rooms are pretty neat and modern, but our room had some wear (chips on bathtub, marks on wall). Would stay here again id the price is right.

Room Tip: Ask for lake view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Aaron,

Thanks for your feedback! Glad to hear you enjoyed the bar, location and rooms. Sorry to hear about some wear and tear in your rooms, we will ensure that Engineering is on it! Hope to see you soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed 6 days ago NEW

great room, nice bed, neat cocktail bar, awesome location if you want views of the lake and great place to go for a run. breakfast was good, i mean there pretty much aint nothing to complain about. it was a great place to stay for work. Shopping a pretty easy walk, and the pier is close by as well.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
W Chicago L, Manager at W Chicago Lakeshore, responded to this review, yesterday
Hi Nick,

Thanks for your fabulous review! We hope to see you back at W Lakeshore soon.

Sincerely,

W Hotels of Chicago Reviews Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#47 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#69 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Tingo, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, BookingOdigeoWL, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.