We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect Location Very close to Navy Pier” 3 of 5 stars
Review of W Chicago Lakeshore

Save Saved
You added W Chicago Lakeshore to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
W Chicago Lakeshore
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Book Early and Save
Ranked #111 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Saint Louis, Missouri
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Perfect Location Very close to Navy Pier”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

After reading several not so great reviews and being extremely nervous about our stay, I had to write my own review in order to somewhat defend the W. I definitely wasn't over impressed with the W, but it wasn't the worst hotel experience either. We booked through Priceline so we got a really good deal compared with what the rooms normally book for. This is the 4th hotel we have stayed at in our trips to downtown Chicago. We checked in around 8:30 on Friday night and the staff was super. It was a little loud in the lobby, but I had no problem talking with the woman at the front desk. We inadvertently booked a double room and when we asked if there was a King available, the front desk was happy to accomodate us. There were two people on duty in the Consierge and they were super helpful when we asked for a nearby place to eat. Saturday we needed to get to Wrigley Field and the door man was wonderful getting us a taxi very quickly. I didn't think the halls were dark or musty as some of the previous reviews stated. Also, our AC unit ran the entire night and we didn't ever feel that it was loud or obnoxious. We stayed on the side of the hotel without the view of the lake, I'm sure since we got such a cheap room; however, the 7th floor balcony allowed us to take in the lovely view. The Navy Pier was extremely close to this hotel as well as a beach. I wouldn't hesitate to stay here again.

Room Tip: There is one side of the hotel that faces Lake Michigan. If you plan on spending a lot of time in y...
See more room tips
Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,432 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    445
    428
    277
    166
    116
See reviews for
200
371
87
414
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (352)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

I have not stayed at a W before so I can't compare but our room was very comfortable/roomy and clean. We loved the food and drinks at the Wave Bar (lobby). Great selection and quality - I had a Mango Mojito and they made it with real fruit and organic juice - it was better than the Bahamas! The staff was over the top - loved it! They even brought us new light bulbs because we thought the room seemed a bit dark - and it worked!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coatesville, Pennsylvania, United States
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 22, 2012

It just isn't worth the money and having been a hard core "W" person for the last 8 years, my last 4 stays at W's in general haven't been so hot and the last two were at this hotel specifically.

The lobby/bar area is very modern (almost on the verge of dance club-ish), and you can see the lake across the highway when sitting at the bar, but only from one side and said side only has 3 seats with that view; whoever designed that really missed the mark as they completely turned their back on the most obvious reason why someone would stay in a hotel along the lake - to see the lake. Even the dining room is a miss as it is 'sunken' and so once again - you lose the view of the lake.

I had a lake facing room on the 23rd floor which gave me a view of the lake and the navy pier. This is an eastern exposure and so you could watch the sunrise over the lake - one would think "Wow! Amazing!" However, the windows were so filthy I was completely distracted. I was really struck by yet another miss on an obvious feature for the hotel.

Room service was running at about a full hour, the food I ordered on two separate occasions arrived luke warm at best. Even the in room coffee maker I had asked for was a disappointment (when I went to make coffee one morning at 3:00 a.m. for the work calls I was about to start) the pot had not been cleaned from the last guest; disgusting. It took them over an hour to bring me a new pot and although they offered me a thermos of fresh brewed coffee in apology; it never appeared.

Housekeeping was off too. Dirty windows in the common areas, inside and out. And I stepped in a piece of what I hope was candy bar with caramel from the prior guest. In general, housekeeping issues were the beginning of the end of my love affair with this hotel, but now I can add a decrease in room service quality, and just a bad experience overall.

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the lake, and not too near the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

Stayed at W for a family vacation. The location was ideal right across the beach and walking distance from the pier. The beach though small but could be a good break if you are planning a longer stay. Also great place for walking or running along the lake.
The hotel staff was exceptional and beds were comfortable.

I booked the hotel through priceline and was a great deal for the location. But they make up for the deal in parking $55/day. Read below for some parking tips.

Staying at this hotel is a tradeoff between being close to pier or close to Milenium Park. My priceline booking didnt make me eligible for lake facing rooms as they are priced more.

All in all a great hotel

Room Tip: Parking Tips - From 9 PM to 8 am street parking is free so if you want to save some money you might...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

I had read the reviews on trip advisor and was a bit skeptical about our stay. I do agree it is not up to typical W standards but the location is great, views amazing and staff was more than accommodating. We ran into a dilemma (self inflicted) and manager Steven went above and beyond to help us out of a bind. It will be an awesome hotel if they follow through with planned renovation.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brooklyn, New York
2 reviews
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 14, 2012

I got a lake side room on a high floor and the view was just incredible. As someone mentioned the beds were a bit high, but in general the room was good. The staff was friendly and patient, even with a hotel packed to the gills for a conference.

I asked for turndown service, which seemed to involve putting the tv remote on my pillow, not a full turndown.

And finally, I ordered a nice Woodford Reserve at the bar, in the menu it was listed as $12, but my bill was $14. Why I asked? The bartender told me that $12 was for a shot, and $14 was for ordering it near. I've never heard of such a ridiculous thing - who orders a nice Bourbon as a shot? And why would you charge more depending on what glass it's in?

So: avoid bar, enjoy view.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view -it's an unparalleled view across lake Michigan
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Battle Creek, MI
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

My husband and I stayed at the W for a weekend getaway. What a great decision! The staff was very attentive and helpful. Our room was very comfortable and had a beautiful view of Lake Michigan. We loved it!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to W Chicago Lakeshore? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about W Chicago Lakeshore

Address: 644 N Lake Shore Dr, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#27 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#49 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — W Chicago Lakeshore 4*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
W Chicago - Lakeshore, the only hotel overlooking Lake Michigan is a short walk from Navy Pier. Onsite we have flexible event space, perfect for both business meetings and lavish weddings. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Starwood, Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Tingo, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Agoda, Hotels.com, Otel and Venere so you can book your W Chicago Lakeshore reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
w Chicago Lakeshore Hotel Chicago
w Hotels Chicago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage W Chicago Lakeshore, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.