We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceptional” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Exceptional”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Having never stayed at a Peninsula before, I was unsure what to really expect. I can easily say I was very impressed overall. The room was very spacious and ultra-modern with a great view. The only point of contention was our waiter for breakfast seemed a bit lackadaisical, and we had to wait a while to flag him down to pay the check. Another minor point was the (relatively) early closing time at The Bar in a city that seems to stay open much later than others.
Other than those minor points, the stay was flawless. Location is ideal for anyone hoping to stay in one of best parts of Chicago.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    96
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
140
268
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2014

Once again The Peninsula Hotel group didn't disappoint.......the service was perfect, and the room fabulous! Breakfast was delicious, and the eating area was beautiful. Décor throughout the hotel was amazing...very luxurious. The bar was lovely too.

Room Tip: We had a corner suite with fantastic views
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 25, 2014
Dear CWIN,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and taking the time to share your review. I am pleased you enjoyed your recent visit, our service, your room, and our food, specifically breakfast. I am also flattered by your comment about The Bar. It truly is a lovely place.

We hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2014

I can't recommend this hotel enough. There are some great hotels in Chicago, and many of them blow you away. The Peninsula was something else. Their housekeeping team's attention to detail, the comfortable beds, the spacious bathrooms, and the friendly staff made my stay outstanding. I would recommend doing the sunrise yoga session if you can - it's a great way to start the day! The only thing I would criticize was a concierge lady who was a bit cold when she was servicing me - perhaps she was having a bad day. Other than that- best hotel experience!

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 21, 2014
Dear mjai89,

Thank you so much for choosing The Peninsula Chicago. We are very flattered by your kind comments on the comfort of the guestroom, the cleanliness, and service; but I am concerned to learn that our Concierge staff was “a bit cold” when assisting you. Your feedback is very important to us, and I will address this with our Concierge team to avoid similar incidents.

We are very happy you enjoyed your experience overall and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!


Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2014

We enjoyed our stay at the Peninsula Hotel immensely. We spent a weekend here with our 2 year old daughter. The staff did an excellent job helping us feel at home. When we arrived the room was already equipped with a crib for our daughter complete with stuffed bear, child slippers, and baby bath items. As those with children know, travelling with little ones can be stressful and this kind of service definitely helped all of us relax.

The room was immaculate and very comfortable. Every member of staff we encountered was extremely helpful. I would definitely recommend this hotel to families who are looking for a luxury getaway. Yes, it does cost more but the quality of the hotel, rooms, restaurants, and facilities seem to justify the value.

As far as the restaurants go - we ate at the French bistro down on the first level twice and really enjoyed the food. We also ate at the lobby restaurant one evening and really enjoyed the food and the live music being performed from the balcony above the restaurant.

Room Tip: Look for a higher floor number for a better view
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 16, 2014
Dear TX_traveling_man,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Peninsula Chicago. We are very happy to hear that our staff’s excellent service made you feel right at home, and that your 2-year old daughter’s crib and amenities were set up in your room upon arrival. We are very pleased that you enjoyed the luxurious surroundings and good food, especially The Lobby restaurant.

We all look forward to your return visit hopefully again soon.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Franklin, Tennessee
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 10, 2014 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel for our anniversary. Every employee we encountered was friendly and helpful from the bellman to the maids; the concierge to the doorman and the front desk workers. The bar was classic with fair priced drinks for the area. The room had a large bathroom, full tub with TV. Each night we received a free water bottle. There was free wifi and choice of news daily newspaper. We also got a great price on the room, 3 nights for the price of 2.

Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 18, 2014
Dear jmd49er,

Congratulations on your wedding anniversary! Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your special day. I am very happy to read that the service provided by our staff made your visit enjoyable and that you liked the various amenities the hotel has to offer.

We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Okemos, Augusta, Atlanta, Chicago
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 7, 2014

My wife and I decided to stay here after reading all the rave reviews this past July 4th weekend. We have stayed at many awesome hotels throughout the World and thru Amex FHR. After our recent stay at Peninsula, I can tell you there are definitely better places to stay in Chicago at a much better value, have better service, and is more comfortable. I have no idea how this hotel got a 5 star, its more like 3.5 star max. Some reasons for our opinion:

-No bottled water in the room upon arrival. For nearly 600.00 for one night (thats what we paid), you would expect them to at least have some water in the room, complimentary. They do bring you one bottle each before bed with turn down service, but who wants to stay up all night going to the bathroom. This is CHEAP, just plain CHEAPO

-Room was small and stuffy, had to call at 2 am to get a fan to help circulate the air in the room. It helped. 5 star hotel requires a floor fan.

-Breakfast voucher was only for continental breakfast thru AMEX FHR. Max was 25.00 per person!! St Regis is twice that amount and other 5 star hotels don't even count how much you spend (e.g. Four Seasons). Even if my wife ordered an extra tea, 5 star hotels don't care and want you to enjoy. You DO NOT get that feeling at Peninsula. CHEAP!

-Upon first night they give you a small box with 4 chocolates, no further chocolate on your pillow after that. CHEAP!

-I brought this up to the manager upon checkout. He handed me the bill and said goodbye.. CHEAP!

-I paid close to 600.00 per single night at this hotel. I have paid this and more at other 5 star hotels, but those hotels were worth it! Like good service, good views etc. This place had nothing but views of old buildings.

-No wine toasts, no champagne toasts... basically nothing. Dull and boring hotel.

My wife and I feel ripped off, do yourself a favor.. if you really want to stay at a 5 star..stay somewhere else.. otherwise you will feel like me guilty and ripped off. At least I know for next time not to waste my time here. Gave me an uneasy feeling.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear Moman2000,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to post your review. We are surprised and disappointed that we did not exceed your expectations and we extend our sincerest apologies. I am very sorry to hear that you did not enjoy your stay with us, found our amenities mediocre, and our staff service unexceptional. You also mentioned for your next stay you will be choosing another hotel. We understand there are many excellent options in Chicago, we would be appreciative to hear what else we could have done during your stay to welcome you back. I hope to hear more about your experience and that you will please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com

Thank you for your feedback; we hope to welcome you back.

Warm regards,


Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ada, Ohio
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 6, 2014

Conveniently near the shopping on Michigan Ave, a short walk to beaches on the Lake, a stroll to two legendary Chicago Deep Dish restaurants, you simply can't beat the location. But there are a lot of hotels in Chicago with great locations, what separates the Peninsula from the rest is the attention to detail by its wonderful staff and the its superb facilities. Like all Peninsulas the staff is superbly trained, friendly and helpful. While we were there a famous rock star was there and a large wedding was going on--neither fazed the staff in any way. The rooms are large and bathrooms luxurious. The House Keeping staff is quite simply the best I've experienced in hotel in this country. The salon and pool are lovely and the steam room is a nice touch. I recommend the Pierrot Gourmet, a little French Bistro in the hotel that is perfect for lunch or a light dinner.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 11, 2014
Dear kdh1716,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for your complimentary review on TripAdvisor. We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay with us, the location, our beautiful property, décor, and helpful and friendly staff. We are very pleased you mentioned our housekeeping staff is the best you have experienced, and your recommendation of the Pierrot Gourmet as the perfect place for lunch and dinner.

Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We hope to have the privilege of welcoming you back again when your travels bring you to Chicago.


Warm regards,


Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.