We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful, Elegant & Great Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Beautiful, Elegant & Great Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 23, 2014

Stayed one night at the Peninsula in Chicago on a business trip. This hotel is elegant and classy, and also very well managed. Rooms are beautiful and the bed very comfortable. Everything is first class, including service. It's adjacent to Rush street and within walking distance to some fabulous restaurants (see my review of Gibson's Steakhouse).
The only reason I can't assign 5 stars is because of the price/value equation, which weighs heavily in all of my reviews. It's expensive but if an unforgettable hotel experience is your top priority then this is your place.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 30, 2014
Dear buzzcat5,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent business travel and for posting your review on TripAdvisor. We appreciate your gracious comments regarding the service, accommodations and location. We understand you did not feel the value was worth a five-star ranking and if you are willing, I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you further. I hope you will contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

Thank you for your feedback and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

948 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    781
    102
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
153
286
51
291
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Jose, California
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 18, 2014

Amazing stay. I arrived from a long flight at 6am and they kindly accepted to give me a room with no extra fees. Rooms are large and stunning; rooftop pool is really nice; and the little patio next to the gym is a great way to relax. Breakfast is fantastic.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear Richard J,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you were able to check in early and enjoy your luxurious guestroom. Also I was pleased to read you were able to take advantage of our fitness center and half Olympic-sized pool. Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to your return visit again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stamford, Connecticut
Top Contributor
89 reviews 89 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 42 cities Reviews in 42 cities
55 helpful votes 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 16, 2014

This is a fantastic hotel that makes you feel special the moment you interact with the staff. They are so well trained and make the extra effort to serve you. Whether it was the bellman, front desk, or a server they were all great! Stayed here for three nights and loved the quality of the room furnishings and ambiance. Was here for a conference and ate breakfast, lunch and dinner at the hotel. Usually, this is the uninspiring portion of the stay, however, not at the Peninsula. Food choices were fresh, incorporating seasonal fruits and well prepared. Finally, on the plus side is the great location next to classic deep dish pizza restaurants and a wealth of other choices.

If I had to point out one flaw, it was the exorbitant parking at $60 per night. Yes it's a downtown hotel but that is outrageous.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 22, 2014
Dear FloridawithKids,

Thank you for sharing your feedback on your recent stay with us. I am pleased to know you had a wonderful experience from the pampering from our staff to taking advantage of our nearby restaurants.

Thank you again for your kind words. We look forward to welcoming back to The Peninsula Chicago in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

The Peninsula is amazing! I had a friend that was staying at the hotel over the weekend and invited me over to see the spa & pool which is on the 19th floor and truely unbelievable. Every staff member was polite and extremely helpful for whatever your needs were. The pool is incredible with breaktaking views of the city and it was the cleanest pool I have ever swam in, the whole experience was great! For the price you pay to stay at the Peninsula, you expect great service but I have to agree with other reviewers that we were treated like royalty (and i wasn't even a guest, just a visitor). If you can afford it, you have to stay at least one night and I promise you will not regret it!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear Nicole G,

Thank you for your kind comments of your recent visit with us. I am glad your friend invited you to come to The Peninsula Chicago and you were able to enjoy your swim and the gorgeous views of The Spa and pool.

Rather you are a hotel guest or a visitor of a guest, we pride ourselves on providing the best service to everyone and we are pleased you appreciated all of the courtesies that were shown to you. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you again in the near future.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed for three relaxing nights at this wonderful hotel. Ordered room service and soaked in the tub for hours every night. Service was wonderful. The only thing I thought was a little pricey was the parking at over $60 per night. Maybe that's the going rate now in major cities? Because we are Expedia Elite Plus members we also had complimentary breakfast. What a great bonus that was!
Oh, the best part was the bed. That was the most comfortable bed ever. I want to get one for our bedroom now.
And the location--steps away from Saks Fifth & Neiman, a dangerous combination for me.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 21, 2014
Dear pelliengee,

Thank you for sharing your feedback with us on your recent stay. I am pleased to read that you enjoyed our room service, the luxurious soaking tub and the convenience of getting to two of your favorite stores. I was especially pleased to hear you were delighted with our beds. If you would like to purchase one, please feel free to contact our gift shop and we would be happy to give you the contact information of the retailer.

Thank you for taking the time to post your comments on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to your return visit, hopefully again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 13, 2014

Stayed at the Peninsula a few weeks ago. Hotel room was roomy and comfortable. Loved the takeaway laundry bags and slippers! Our package included breakfast. We chose to eat at the cafe outside of the hotel. DELICIOUS!! A little casual french cafe with wonderful coffee, pastries and egg dishes - a great way to start the day! Service was superb! We requested an ice bucket the first night, and had ice waiting for us every evening thereafter. I'd recommend skipping the Chinese restaurant in the hotel. Pricey and not really very special. Location is easy to get to by train and is within walking distance to sight seeing, the Art Institute, the Bean and shopping!

A wonderful stay!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 16, 2014
Dear Terry O,

Thank you for sharing with us your recent experience. I am pleased to hear you found our hotel convenient to Chicago’s popular attractions, sight-seeing and of course shopping! I am also glad to hear you enjoyed our spacious guestrooms and our Pierrot Gourmet, is a favorite of many of our guests. We hope we have the privilege of welcoming you back again very soon.

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 11, 2014

Just left one of best stays ever! Spent a weekend at the hotel with my daughter and twin grandchildren. They treated my grandchildren like royalty. The customer service, location, room and food was outstanding.
Will definitely stay again

  • Stayed May 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 13, 2014
Dear Kay12rtds,

Thank you for visiting The Peninsula Chicago and for taking the time to share your gracious review. We are pleased to learn that you, your daughter and grandchildren had a most grand and enjoyable experience.

Thank you for posting your comments on TripAdvisor. We all look forward to your return visit again soon!

Warm regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.