We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Hotel Bar” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 177 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Best Hotel Bar”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2014

The hotel is all-around amazing for a city-hotel. Located perfectly in Chicago next to the Water Tower off of Michigan Avenue. The Hotel Bar was worth the trip alone. I love hotel bars generally, but this one is the best. Big fireplace, dark, great music, great crowd, and of course beautiful drinks.

The hotel lobby restaurant is very nice, and has live music periodically. It was a bit cold when we were there, but there was an outdoor ice rink, and they included little heaters, blankets, and hot cocoa for kids. First class all the way.

Room Tip: Higher levels will have a better view and be quieter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

946 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    779
    102
    41
    14
    10
See reviews for
153
285
51
290
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (154)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2014

This is the second time I stay here and from the time you enter the hotel it feels beautiful. The rooms are perfectly laid out, the beds and decor gorgeous, the staff are super friendly. It is as if they feel it is a privilege to work at this hotel. It is absolutely one of my favourite places to stay - globally.

Oh and the spa and gym are great too!

Room Tip: All are great
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

This past Saturday evening my wife and I went to the Lobby Restaurant at The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate her birthday. We had been twice before to have their chicken for two specialty which was why we were coming back. While making the reservation I asked the restaurant manager if the preparation had changed since the chef left a few months ago. Her response was no we still offer th echicken for to on the menu. We arrived and were seated and we ordered the chicken for two and when it was presented it did not even come close to the previous preparation or taste. The previous was a whole chicken presented to you and then plated in the kitchen. The new preparation was basically two pieces of chicken breast with a bit of black truffle under the skin. Not only under whelmimg but really not very good. Just a bit flop...no one came by the table to ask how was dinner so we didn't address the problem at the time . We don't feel that we should take it out on the waiter. For a chicken dinner with two glasses of wine this was an almost $200 dinner that just did not deliver! We will most likely not return. The wait sfaff was good although he did not mention they offered a souflee that has a 20 minute prep time that he should has told us about during dinner. This was just NOT a 5 Star dining experience! Period!

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2014

Love the hotel room lay-out with glass partition doors for the commode in the bathroom! Room service is speedy, the lobby bar is exceptional with 18 pages of libations. Hospitality was tremendous with turn down service, bottled water bedside, personal cosmetics / toiletries rearranged into order. and fresh towels with new shampoos.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014 via mobile

If you appreciate the service and attention to detail of Asian hotels, then here is one for you right in Chicago. Nothing more be said. Best hotel I've stayed in Chicago. You won't be disappointed. Well appointed rooms, great staff, and wonderful amenities. I checked in much earlier than they expected. No problem. I'm in with an upgrade. Need help with something. No problem. Staff responds quickly and correctly. IF I need to find a fault, they need more plugs for recharging. Life is tough!

Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hoffman Estates, Illinois
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2014

We had never stayed at this hotel, but we were so glad we tried it for a special celebration. Service was outstanding. The hotel is so beautiful, with high ceilings and incredible floors, carpeting and floral pieces throughout the hotel. The rooms are spacious and super clean. But best of all, the beds are yummy to sleep in. We did not get to enjoy the restaurants in the hotel, but here they are wonderful. We will have to take their word for it.

The hotel is right off Michigan Avenue with wonderful shopping and also close to many wonderful restaurants and jazz clubs.

Room Tip: All good rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Merthyr Tydfil County, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 8, 2014

Stayed here during November , just before the cold weather set in . Has to be one of the best hotels ever !! . The small extra touches are great , jelly beans, giant cookie etc, are all complimentary; okay it's expensive to start with , however you really can't beat this place .
Top class toiletries , in both the rooms and spa , you really don't need to take anything with you, it's all there for you .
Had breakfast in the cafe downstairs which was always busy. Made dinner reservation before hand so didn't eat in.
A fabulous city and the views from the top floor spa / pool are top notch .
Stay here if you can ; if it's only that one extra special occasion you'll remember it forever !!

Room Tip: Obviously higher floors give the best views .
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Amex, Hotels.com, HotelTravel.com, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.