We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gets better every visit!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Gets better every visit!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

At first I thought I would not have to review this great hotel again having reviewed it in the past. However, they do give you great service that you want the hotel to know that they are doing a great job.They are most helpful and most pleasant from the doormen to the front desk. The rooms are as comfortable as ever. Thus even if business was the main purpose of this trip, it made it feel like a mini vacation.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Jmrmd,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing another thoughtful review. We appreciate your gracious comments on our service and the comfortable guest rooms. We are delighted to learn your business trip could feel like a mini vacation and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    96
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
142
268
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
PALM SPRINGS, CA
Top Contributor
162 reviews 162 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 3, 2013

Great rooms--meticulous and perfectly immaculate, great staff and a perfect location right on Michigan Ave within steps of great restaurants, shopping, museums etc. The hotel staff ensured every details was perfect--was concerned on arrival that I'd have enough time to unpack, press clothes etc for an event, so the Concierge arranged for me to pre-send and upon arrival found everything in my room pressed, streamed and ready! I'd for sure stay again.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Meanton,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your generous feedback. We are flattered by your kind comments regarding our staff and the Concierge’s attentiveness. If there is anything I can assist with prior to your arrival for future visits, please feel free to reach out to me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beach Palace Cancun
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

This is by far, the best hotel I have ever stayed in my life. Luxurious at the maximum level, service impecable, and on top of it, location, location, location.
I ran Chicago Marathon on October 13th, it was my second visit to Chicago, Peninsula should be ranked number one in Chicago, and easily on the top 10 of the world!!!
Rooms are big and spacious, beautiful furniture, natural flowers all around, restaurants great too, if you see the entrance mat be you can say it is a regular hotel, but once you get in the elevator and you get to the main lobby, its like getting in a different dimension...
Everybody should try the Peninsula Moments!!!

Room Tip: Choose Michigan Avenue view!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Lumito69,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your visit to participate in the Chicago Marathon; we hope it went well for you! We appreciate your generous comments on the service, location, spacious guest rooms, décor and restaurants. Additionally, we are flattered by your recommendation; thank you kindly.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stay here every now and then when in the city. It never disappoints! The staff is top notch, the property is beautiful, the location cannot be beat! The large bathroom is reason enough to stay here! I love that the toilet is in it's own little room, and the tv by the tub and mood lighting are nice touches. My only criticism with this visit was that our bed had a small dip in the middle, making it a bit uncomfortable. We only stayed one night, so we did not ask for a room change. I am sure the staff would have done something about it if we had asked. I should note that my husband had stayed here earlier in the week and he did not have a problem with his bed. I love the vibe in the bar. We did not sit down for tea, but there was a fabulous string trio playing classical versions of currently popular music which was beyond cool! I can't wait to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Traveljunkies87,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago when you visit Chicago. We appreciate your gracious remarks, specifically regarding the staff, location and bathroom amenities. We are concerned to learn your bed was not comfortable and I would appreciate the opportunity to speak with you directly so we can investigate the room you stayed in. I hope you will please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

First time in Chicago. Couldn't have asked for a better time and place to be with great friends. Hotel was confortable while still satisfying my needs for five star qualifications. Staff was helpful inrecommending local restaurants and services.
Chicago itself was great, educational and the food and wine very respectable.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Michael M,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula for your first visit to Chicago! We are happy to hear you enjoyed the Windy City and that you found the staff to be helpful in recommending local restaurants and services. Thank you for your gracious comment on the comfort and five star qualities of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
43 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 30, 2013

The Peninsula Chicago is a property that lives up to its reputation in every way. From the room service to front door to reception staff -- every Hotel employee is first rate and focused on service orientation. The property is immaculate and well maintained. This is a first class hotel without being stuffy. We can't say enough good things about the Hotel and can't wait to come back. and special props to Josephine at the front desk and bell man Linus, who treated our dog Jackson as if he was visiting royalty. It's the little gestures that mean a lot.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear Amanwarren,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your gracious review. We are grateful for your comments on our being pet friendly, the service and staff. We have shared your kind remarks with Josephine and Linus as well; thank you for mentioning these team members by name!

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Monterrey, Mexico
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

We traveled to Chicago on the weekend of the Marathon. They have exceptional service. When we arrived our room had not a great view so I called the front desk and they changed our room in less than 10 minutes. On the night before the marathon they stocked our room with gatorade, bananas and everything we needed for the race the next day. I thought that this was very thoughtful as we just mentioned we were running at our check in. I will definitely return!!!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Peninsula_CH, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2013
Dear MLL72,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your generous review. We are grateful for your comments on the service and our ability to anticipate a runner’s needs for the marathon. We hope the Chicago Marathon was enjoyable for you and we look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.