We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Now that's 5 star!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Canada, eh
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Now that's 5 star!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

We stayed at the Peninsula to celebrate our 10th wedding anniversary. We stayed in a junior suite on a special rate where we paid for two nights and received the third night free.

The hotel is something special! The service is impeccable, the staff are friendly, helpful and approachable and the rooms are very clean, comfortable and nicely decorated.

The room itself was large - it had a king size bed, a couch alongside a large picture window and a very roomy bathroom with a stand-in shower, large jacuzzi tub, two separate sink areas and a dressing table. The room utilized electronic controls allowing you to indicate if you wanted your room to be serviced or if you didn't want to be disturbed. At the door was a control panel which also provided the outside temperature and humidity for the day - very handy as you made your way out for the day.

Service was incredible - too many little touches to mention but here is one example. My wife was reading a book and she left it out, face down and open to the page she was reading. When we returned from our day out the cleaning staff had put a book mark inside at the page she was reading.

The location is excellent - right on Michigan Avenue and within walking distance of most of the main, downtown tourist sites.

We largely ate out, including breakfast most days at a little cafe down the street, however we did eat breakfast one day in the hotel and it was very good. You do pay hotel prices for food and can likely find better deals elsewhere, but the quality and service were certainly very good.

This is an excellent, true five-star hotel. It isn't cheap and if you wince at prices, don't consider staying here. If you value exceptional service and exquisite surroundings, this is a place to stay.

Room Tip: Upgrades to junior suites and suites are worth it. Some suites have entire banks of window overlooki...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 22, 2013
Dear CanadianBeans,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your generous review. We are delighted to learn you enjoyed your stay, in particular, the service, staff, cleanliness, guest room size and comfort, as well as the hotel’s location. We appreciate your kind comments on the little touches during your stay and we hope to welcome you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

796 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    656
    86
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
122
237
45
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Inverness, IL
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

Everything was as expected-- fantastic! Everyone and every service was spot on! We enjoyed all aspects of the hotel including the restaurant and room service. The entire staff was perfect. It was actually an usual experience to order room service and have it delivered promptly, great quality and hot!




Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear JohnGH2080,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your kind comments. We appreciate your remarks on the service, restaurants and staff. In particular, we are happy to hear your room service order was delivered promptly and correctly.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2013 via mobile

We have stayed at luxury properties all over the world and the Peninsula Chicago now makes our list as a top favorite and definitely our #1 choice for Chicago. The service is amazing - they have trained everyone to pay such attention to detail - it was so impressive! Everywhere we went in the hotel - they knew our names and it's not a small hotel...very impressed! The spa attendants knew I enjoyed green tea and always made sure it was seeping and ready for me before and after treatments. The rooms are very well appointed and luxurious - I love the separate dressing area and the bathroom was amazing (especially the TV in the bathtub!). We spent several after dinner evenings at The Bar and it's appropriately named as no other hotel bar comes close to matching the service and ambience. Also, our concierge, Douglas, was extremely helpful and so wonderful. Thank you to everyone at the Peninsula and we can't wait to return!

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear ChappaquaUSA,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay. We are flattered to learn you consider us as your #1 choice in Chicago, thank you! We appreciate your kind comments on the attention to detail, The Spa, your guest room and The Bar. We are grateful to hear Douglas was helpful as well and we all look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Murfreesboro, Tennessee
Top Contributor
74 reviews 74 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

Stayed here in part for a business meeting and then was joined by the family. I was able to pay more and get a larger room and was put in the Junior suite which was lovely. We have stayed here many times though, and the room we far prefer is the executive suite, which is the smallest suite available. It is by far the best bang for your buck. I like it much better than even the larger ones despite the additional square footage. The floor plan makes it feel larger and you feel more spread out. With that being said the Junior suite was perfect for three people and my daughter was able to use the pull out sofa for her bed instead of having to get a rollaway. It was lovely as always and the service can't be beat. The meeting facilities are top notch, I loved it. The best thing about this hotel though is the location. Also, all dining options are great too and super easy and convenient if you are a guest here, particularly if you have inclement weather. Overall wonderful and I don't know how you get much better than that.

Room Tip: The executive suite, which is the smallest suite available, is by far the best bang for your buck. I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Mitzicmich,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your gracious feedback. We are delighted you enjoyed the meeting facilities for the business portion of your stay. We are grateful to hear you and your family were comfortable in the Junior Suite, accommodating your daughter on the pull-out sofa bed. We appreciate your kind remarks on the service and location, as well as the dining options in the hotel. We understand the Executive Suite is your preferred suite type; we will note this in your profile. Should you need assistance in booking your next stay, please feel free to reach out to me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
Reviews in 32 cities Reviews in 32 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 12, 2013

The only fault i could find with this hotel is that the lobby is on the 7th floor. Excellent from start to finish. Rooms are delightful and spacious. Staff are overly helpful and friendly and location can not be beaten. Gym and spa are great and offer all you would expect from a top line hotel e.g. headsets for the treadmill etc. If you can afford it no need to look elsewhere.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear VincentChase,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for posting your kind review. We appreciate your feedback on The Lobby. Although The Lobby is located on the fifth floor of the hotel allowing for more privacy for our guests with less street noise distraction, we regret any inconvenience this may have caused you. We are pleased you enjoyed your guest room, the hotel’s location, Fitness Center and The Spa.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Top Contributor
77 reviews 77 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2013

OMG! Where do I start? It was a wonderous exoerience to step into Peninsula. Staff is more than 5 star!! they are 10 star!!!!

Everyone is so friendly and professional. Rooms are extremely clean and well equipped. Go for the high floor rooms and if you can splash out for the suites which have bathrooms with views!

The housekeeping service is so quick and efficient - they came up after 1 minute of calling - never seen that before....

The Spa is magnificent - enjoy pedicure and massage

Will definitely going back! Enjoy!

Room Tip: High floors, suites are amazing - away from lifts.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear DKLONDONUK,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your generous review. We are humbled by your comments on the staff and service and we appreciate your remarks on the guest room, housekeeping and The Spa. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bloomfield Hills, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 10, 2013

Outstanding 5 star hotel, room beautiful with sitting area and dressing area. Beautiful spa and amazing pool. The staff cannot do enough for you. There is a wonderful bistro next door with wonderful breakfasts, snacks and lunches.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 16, 2013
Dear Sue E,

Thank you for staying at The Peninsula Chicago and for sharing your gracious review. We appreciate your kind comments, specifically on the guest room, The Peninsula Spa, staff and offerings at Pierrot Gourmet – our street-level Bistro-café.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.