We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel. A real 5 star experience” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 176 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Singapore, Singapore
Senior Contributor
31 reviews 31 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Excellent Hotel. A real 5 star experience”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2013

Lots of natural light, large rooms, prime location. A great choice when in Chicago. Professional and helpful service with an Asian touch. Very close to shopping, restaurants. Can walk to all amenities. Major famous restaurants located next to hotel.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Vid29,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for providing your generous review. We are thankful you enjoyed the location, large guest rooms and you felt the service was professional and helpful with an Asian flare. We are delighted you rated your experience as 5-star and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

926 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    761
    101
    40
    14
    10
See reviews for
148
283
50
280
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
NYC
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

The Peninsula hotel in Chicago was Fantastic.
The service was awesome and the room was terrific.
The location was in the middle of the city Perfect for getting to all the shops and tourist sights.
Their breakfast was very well served and the food was great.
A little pricey but well worth it ; it was our 40th anniversary and they send up to our room
a bottle of champagne and some chocolate covered strawberries.
Steve

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Steve E.,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to celebrate your 40th anniversary and congratulations! We are thrilled to be a part of your special occasion and appreciate your generous review. We are glad you enjoyed the guest room, location and service, as well as breakfast during your visit. We also appreciate your comments on the service and look forward to welcoming you back again to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 15, 2013

In a city with many luxury hotels the Peninsula is in a class by itself by repeatedly demonstrating its continuing regard for the guest, its most important reason for being. One example would be the casual mention of a birthday while enjoying an aperitif in its woody and welcoming bar. Thus, also accompanying the drinks came a tasty mini-dessert with a lighted candle. The wide and welcoming public spaces - far superior to most other luxury hotels in Chicago - are decorated in subtle but distinct near-East colors and styles. One of only 3 Peninsula branded hotels in the United States, the property is ideally sited steps from the Magnificent Mile and Rush Street with its numerous restaurants and night life. Guest rooms offer every imaginable comfort and a few delights not anticipated, such as the built-in bath TV with separate tub controls, or the very large HD tv that graciously swivels bedside, or the various mood-light positions or, well, one could go on and on. Alright, here's one more: North facing rooms have truly exceptional views of the 1869 Water Tower, reputedly the only structure to survive the Great Chicago Fire, and, just behind, the tapering and magnificent John Hancock Center soaring above for 100 floors. In a city of superlatives, the Pen ranks with the best anywhere in the world.

Room Tip: Best views - Water Tower and Hancock Building - are in north facing rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Jeromeoconnor,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and for providing your gracious review. We appreciate your kind and thoughtful comments on the décor, location, guest rooms and amenities and are particularly grateful for your comments on our attentiveness to guest satisfaction. We are overjoyed to have met your expectations and pleased we were able to delight with a complimentary birthday dessert!

We look forward to welcoming you back again to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warrington, UK
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2013 via mobile

We treated ourselves to an Executive Suite for three nights as it was the first days of our honeymoon. The suite was excellent. Very spacious, light and comfortable. The staff couldn't be more friendly and helpful. The spa and pool area are very peaceful with very few other people around. The gym is well appointed and you can always get on the machine that you want. The location is excellent for exploring the city. It's by far the best hotel we've ever stayed in and we hope to explore more of the Peninsula hotels in the future.

Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Warringtonmcfc,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago to be a part of your honeymoon celebration and congratulations! We are delighted you enjoyed your guest room and found the staff be friendly and helpful. We also appreciate your comments on The Peninsula Spa and Fitness Center, and we are glad you were able to take advantage of the pool during your stay. We hope you do return to The Peninsula Chicago and are able to visit our other locations. Please contact me directly if I am able to assist with your reservation at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knoxville, Tennessee
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

Just spent July 4-7 at this wonderful hotel. I have been to Chicago many, many times over the years but this is my first stay at the Peninsula. We arrived on a very early flight from TN and arrived at the hotel around 7:30 am expecting to store bags and check in later. Instead the upgraded room was ready and the front desk gentleman took us to the room and showed us around. He even refused a gratuity!
The room was awesome. Great amenities, technology, incredible bath and view.
The fitness center was superb, and the locker room was outstanding. Robes, towels everywhere, steam room, water, chilled washcloths. And a nice fitness center is very important to us.

We then proceeded to the pool sun deck where we were brought chilled water and towels. Ordered room service which was brought right to our loungers. Fantastic. Mark from room service and Jun at the sundeck provided great service.

Lobby bar was very cool. Had some champagne and a fun time there along with a few drinks after dinner.

Already planning another trip to the Peninsula later this month. My only regret was not spending more time in the hotel, especially the Spa. We'll correct that next visit!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear N2Knees64,

We are thrilled to receive your review and thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago! We appreciate your thoughtful comments regarding your stay including the room, amenities, technology, view and fitness center. We also thank you for your kind remarks on The Peninsula Spa and we are delighted you were able to enjoy The Spa Sundeck. We are glad you had an enjoyable experience with our staff and room service and we have passed along your comments to Jun’s supervisor.

We are also appreciative of your feedback on The Bar and to hear you are already planning your next trip to The Peninsula Chicago. I would be happy to assist in your reservation, including scheduling your appointments at The Spa, if you would please contact me directly at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 9, 2013

First time staying at this beautiful, elegant hotel, where if your trying to impress a loved one, this is a great experience..

Downtown, upscale hotel. The privacy from checking in on another floor, which is not when you enter the hotel, was classy.

I felt a bit under dressed as I flew in later in the evening as folks where going out for dinner, I was in the elevator with folks from France, Italy, this was the place to stay.

Oh, the rooms, unbelievable, plush, classy, the bathroom I had, well the whirlpool tub, with a a tv built into the wall, which was very discreet. All the lights, and switches are labeled on the wall, mood lighting, turn all the lights on, etc.

The service was great....

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, July 19, 2013
Dear Dyann_12,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and sharing your comments. We are overjoyed to hear your first experience with us was enjoyable! We appreciate your remarks on the entrance, rooms, technology and bathroom amenities. We also are glad you found the service to be great and the hotel was to your liking.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago again soon!

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 8, 2013

The Peninsula in Chicago has everything - comfortable, well-appointed rooms, spacious public areas, a large and well-equipped gym, good restaurants and an exceptional staff. And, it is well located in downtown Chicago.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#6 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Splendia, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Tingo and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.