We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Luxury abounds in great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 179 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
northern california
2 reviews
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Luxury abounds in great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

If you want it all - service, comfort, class, location, choose the Peninsula Hotel in Downtown Chicago. Restaurants are wonderful. Staff helpful. Rooms have great beds and comforts you wouldn't have thought of. Furnishings are class, class, class. Quiet. Can walk everywhere. Unfortunately seating in outdoor roof restaurant and near pool was very very limited.

Room Tip: You don't have to pay more for a view as all the rooms are great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChi, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, June 3, 2013
Dear lisasf,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago and taking the time to provide your kind feedback. We aim to provide the highest pedigree of service and are pleased to hear you found our staff to be helpful.

As Chicago continues to warm this season, the availability of our outdoor dining is highly coveted and we encourage reservations. We hope you were able to dine with us on The Terrace, take advantage of the Pierrot Gourmet patio or order from the Naturally Peninsula menu at The Spa Terrace. Should you join us again, we would be happy to assist with your reservation.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

972 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    800
    105
    42
    15
    10
See reviews for
155
296
51
301
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (157)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2013 via mobile

Travelling for a living makes you appreciate the little things that the staff at the Peninsula do to make you comfortable and the things others forget. Luxury, comfort and style. I will definitely return.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Top Contributor
119 reviews 119 reviews
26 hotel reviews
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 4, 2013

Seriously this is the best hotel ever. Check with your employer to see if you can get a corporate discount or search online for the best rates, but even if you do pay more you won't be upset. The service is terrific, the rooms spacious, and just overall the best hotel EVER! Check out the fitness room and the exercise classes are a must. Everyone must stay here at least once! Pierrot Gourmet downstairs is also a must as well. You can't go wrong here!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Treat yourself and the one you love to a stay in a Peninsula Hotel. It sure isn't cheap, but the experience is just wonderful. I was in the Windy City for the first time for a business trip. What a vibrant place, great for a weekend break.

The staff at the Peninsula are unobtrusive but superbly trained. The Peninsula management should be proud of everyone who works at their Chicago property. On my second day, I returned in the afternoon to my room. Ten minutes later, a member of guest services staff came to my door with a box of chocolates (just amazing, by the way). They also offered me several bottles of water, which was gratefully received after a busy day. Half an hour later, they asked if I wanted a turn down service for my room. I just felt pampered the whole time.

I was in a deluxe room - spacious, with a king bed. The bathroom was the last word in marble luxury (although the glass doors are a little impractical - just a tiny quibble). The bath was so spacious, and I loved having a TV there.

Breakfast is a delight - simple menu options cooked to the very highest standards. The dining room is the last word in vaulted opulence; a lovely place to enjoy a meal.

Make sure you take time for a dip in their lovely pool - the view of the Chicago skyline from there is stunning.

The hotel is perfectly located just round the corner from Michigan Avenue, and all the retail wonders on the Magnificent Mile.

I was so reluctant to leave this fabulous hotel. Go on, live a little and enjoy an unforgettable stay at the Peninsula Chicago. You deserve it!

Room Tip: The Deluxe Room I had did not have a city view (not that it mattered at all). But I believe you get...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear WriterzBlok,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are happy we could host you on your first trip to the Windy City and make your experience memorable. We are also pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, the attentiveness of our staff and quality of the amenities. We are glad you joined us in The Lobby and were able to experience The Peninsula Spa, and the pool.

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
21 hotel reviews
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

I was recently in Chicago on business and stayed 2 nights at the Peninsula. Very nice atmosphere. Very civilized feel bringing together nicely a historic sophistication with modern friendly informality. Rooms were clean, well planned space and had a crisp new feel. The most striking part of the experience was the service. At every turn people went out of their way to be both friendly and helpful. I ordered room service for dinner one night and as promised it was delivered in less than 30 min. The workout facility had a broad range of excellent equipment and someone even walked around handing out cold towels. Also, they had free wi-fi throughout the hotel a minor point but unusual for a high end hotel. The experience felt like what the Ritz hotels have aspired to in providing the perfect guest experience, but the Ritz chain seems to be going the wrong direction

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our service, your room, atmosphere and complimentary Wi-Fi. We are glad we delivered on our room service promise and you enjoyed the fitness facilities of the hotel.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013 via mobile

The staff was fantastic. All of them. We had an amazing experience. Nothing was sub-par. The room was clean and comfortable. I almost didn't want to venture out into the city. The pool is the best I've seen in Chicago, or really any hotel, for that matter. Our stay was not inexpensive, but it was worth it.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Bixamus,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the service, room and comfort as well as the incredible pool in The Peninsula Spa. We love hearing our guests enjoy and take advantage of the amenities and always appreciate the feedback.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
42 hotel reviews
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 27, 2013

From checkin to checkout the entire experience is a pleasure. Spacious lobby, great staff, nice restaurants and bar, spacious rooms and bathrooms with high quality linens. The restaurants close a little early (compared to other major cities), however the bar does have a small but good food selection. The bedding requires special mention - mattress, pillows and linens all top quality and appear new and fresh. Small touches everywhere - turn down service, chocolates at night, bathroom products - all top quality.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay and providing your feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities and personal touches to your visit. We are also glad you visited our dining venues and were able to join us at The Bar. While The Lobby does close at 10:00 pm Sunday through Thursday and 10:30 pm on Friday and Saturday, we offer 24-hour room service to our guests. We apologize if we were not more helpful in directing you to this information. Should you need any assistance in making a reservation for one of our restaurants, please contact me direct at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Business Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Splendia, Priceline, getaroom.com and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.