We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delighted to stay at the Peninsula Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 14 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Boston, Massachusetts
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Delighted to stay at the Peninsula Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 24, 2013

After staying at numerous 5 star hotels in Chicago over the years, I must admit this hotel is the best of the bunch.
I recently had the pleasure of staying at the Peninsula Chicago for three nights.
The location of the hotel is perfect. The staff was just awesome and very attentive to my needs.
The hotel is elegant, and well kept. My room was spacious and the bedding was very comfortable. I simply enjoyed the large bathtub.
I found the food in the restaurants to be superb. The attention to detail and luxury was impeccable, right down to the delicious nut mix they served at the bar! WOW, that stuff was good.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, May 6, 2013
Dear Robin,

Thank you for sharing your gracious comments on your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed our location, the attentiveness of our staff and quality of the amenities. We are also glad you joined us in our dining venues and found the food to be superb. The nut mix is also a personal favorite.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

768 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    634
    83
    28
    13
    10
See reviews for
118
230
44
242
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (120)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
maritimes
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2013

The Peninsula Chicago was amazing. The lobby is on the street level and then the check in and hotel itself is maybe 15 floors up. The rooms are lovely and spacious. There is a turn down service in the evening. Nice views, my room faced the street and it I could hear the sirens a few times during the night. The pool is lovely, not huge but a nice spot to read the newspaper and have a little swim. I loved the steam room, just off the pool area and the strawberry infused water was a nice touch. The service was perfect and the location was ideal. There's also a sweet little private skating rink off their terrace--I didn't use it but it looked like fun. There is also a private car service in the evening for guest use.

Room Tip: rooms facing the street were a little noisy even though the rooms are all on high floors. Those sire...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Happytraveller333,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay and for providing feedback on your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms and turndown service, as well as the location. The hotel is close to a hospital, adding to the sounds of the city. We are also glad to hear you were able to enjoy the amenities in The Peninsula Spa during your stay. The skating rink will return this winter season, open to all guests; $10 for adults, $5 for kids which benefits our children’s charities partners. We are pleased to hear your overall experience was “perfect” and we look forward to welcoming you back at The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Guatemala City, Guatemala
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

The Peninsula Hotel Chicago is a must for anyone who travels to Chicago. It has an outstanding staff, great location and the restaurants are 5 star. I went on business and stayed an extra day just to enjoy the Hotel. The bedding was exceptional, pillows were great. I loved the chocolates they had for us on the nightstand so much that I bought some to bring home with me. The bathroom was divine. Service was the best of the Peninsula chain that I have experienced. I am looking forward to my upcoming trip to Chicago so much due to the Peninsula Hotel. You do get a surprise with the entrance as it is a bit strange on the street level, but once you get up to the lobby you are transported into greatness. A truly wonderful Hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a Michigan Avenue view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Patricia,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your gracious feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago, as well as the restaurants, amenities and service. We hope to welcome you back soon and look forward to offering you another 5-star experience.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Finleyville, PA
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Beautiful rooms & cleaned twice daily! Loved having a soaking tub, separate shower, TV & phone in bathroom. I got hotel earlier than expected & room was not ready. I had planned on having tea in Lobby Restaurant, but it was a little too early & hostess did not seem to grasp that I just wanted to get a table & wait for the tea. She seated me @table by the busing area. I ended up getting a glass of wine with fruit & cheese plate. My waiter apologized for where I was seated & even paid for the glass of wine when I explained I had asked to have the afternoon tea but was told it was not time. We did enjoy having the I-pod docking station & free Internet in our room. We were a party of 3 females & had looked forward to using the pool after checking site out, but it was closed our entire stay, 1 reason for not giving 5 stars. They had arranged with a nearby hotel to use their pool, but it was very cold & not very luxurious to have to go outside to another facility to swim. I tried the little restaurant attached to hotel for breakfast on my own the last day, it was superb & I look forward to taking my sister there on my next trip. (The only drawback to it was having to go outside to get to it. I had not worn a coat because I thought there was an entrance inside--they should make that clear in the hotel literature!). Would stay here again if I could afford to, but that probably won't happen unless Orbitz has another good deal!

  • Stayed March 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for staying with us at The Peninsula Chicago and providing feedback on your experience. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the room amenities and cleanliness of the hotel. We apologize for the inconvenience of the pool closure during your stay. We are glad to report the pool is now open and we hope to have you return to experience the pool and upgraded surrounding area during your next stay. We also appreciate your note regarding Pierrot Gourmet’s entrance and, although we do mention the entrance is street level in hotel literature, our staff should have been more helpful in making this clear. We look forward to welcoming you and your sister on your next visit and hope you have a chance to try our macarons – they are a house favorite.

We are also pleased to hear you were able to join us in The Lobby. Our Afternoon Tea seatings are 2:30 pm and 3:00 pm Monday through Saturday and 3:30 pm on Sundays and we offer our apologies that the hostess did not clearly express this to you. Our pastries and tea menu items are prepared fresh before Afternoon Tea service so we apologize we did not have the full service available to you at your earlier arrival.

We are delighted you stayed to enjoy wine with a fruit and a cheese plate and glad to hear your server accommodated your seating to a more preferred location.

Please feel free to contact me directly in the future should you need assistance in making a reservation. Please contact me direct at (1-312) 573 6520 or via e-mail at RichardSorensen@peninsula.com. Thank you.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Danville, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

This hotel is rated 5-star, 5-diamond and truly sets the benchmark for customer service. I've stayed at luxury chain resorts such as the Ritz-Carlton and the Four Seasons in many different locations so I tend to be very tough on handing out compliments (given the high rates these resorts charge you expect a certain level of service). The Peninsula Chicago still impressed me through and through despite my already high expectations. From the bellman pulling up curbside to the concierge to room and maid service, they all exceeded my expectations. They certainly are deserving of the 5-star/5-diamond rating and in my opinion should be the standard to be measured against.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

We thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago for your recent stay and providing feedback on your experience. Your gracious comments on the service and our 5-star, 5-diamond ratings are appreciated. We hope to continue to be the standard of excellence and are pleased to hear we met your expectations. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

My visit to the Peninsula was amazing. From the beautifully appointed art and displays in the lobby to the amazing spacious rooms, my entire weekend was over the top. The staff was friendly and extremely helpful. All the meals we had were perfectly prepared ans served with a smile. I highly recommend a stay because words can not express the experience. PS if you want spa services book early.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CJ W, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 23, 2013
Dear Koi777,

Thank you for providing your gracious feedback of your experience at The Peninsula Chicago. We are pleased you enjoyed the décor and spacious rooms, as well as the friendly service during your stay. The Peninsula Spa is in high demand so we always recommend to our guests and Spa Members to make reservations in advance. We hope you were able to take advantage of The Peninsula Spa and we look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula Chicago soon.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 7, 2013 via mobile

Just returned from two nights at this perfectly placed downtown hotel. Staff was always nearby offering a helping hand or asking how they could make your visit better. Room was sparkling clean with thoughtful amenities throughout. Bathroom was luxurious and I never wanted to leave! Beautiful property, excellent staff and I hope to return again soon.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Friend of The Peninsula,

Thank you for taking the time to provide your gracious feedback. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your recent stay at The Peninsula Chicago, as well as the friendly staff, spotless rooms, and thoughtful amenities. We enjoyed making your stay memorable and hope to welcome you back again soon.

Warm Regards,

Richard Sorensen
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Jetsetter and Venere so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.