We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing afternoon tea” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Relaxing afternoon tea”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

During a day of shopping in downtown Chicago, we had tea in the dining room. Wonderful service. The treats were delicious and the presentation outstanding. We enjoyed a relaxing afternoon tea to the beautiful music of a stringed quartet. Reservations are required. Jeans are acceptable, but no flipflops. A must to be included for a day of shopping in Chicago. Walking distance from Macys.

Room Tip: Did not stay in the hotel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, January 30, 2013
Dear Natesmimi,

Thank you for choosing to experience Afternoon Tea in The Lobby recently. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the cuisine as well as the lively String Quartet band playing in the background throughout the afternoon.

We appreciate receiving your feedback and look forward to seeing you again soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

711 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    582
    81
    26
    12
    10
See reviews for
104
209
44
223
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
55 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2013

I had great expectations for the Peninsula, and perhaps that was unfair. In any event, there is nothing bad with it, but the rooms in terms of layout and design are completely dull, the bathrooms not up to par really. The service is friendly enough, but could use some efficiency. I don't remember the breakfast or other dining, which does not say much about it, but in this respect the hotel should have benefit of the doubt. The location is great, of course.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Virginia Beach, Virginia
Top Contributor
188 reviews 188 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 58 cities Reviews in 58 cities
76 helpful votes 76 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

My first experience with the Peninsula Hotel chain was in Singapore. That hotel, although elegant in the common areas, was more like a dorm in the rooms, with plain décor and hard beds. I’m happy to say that the Peninsula in Chicago is not like that. It is elegant through and through. The lobby is grand. Afternoon tea and Sunday brunch are great events at the Peninsula. The rooms are grand, the beds are comfortable,
and they have excellent amenities.

The location is good. There are many good restaurants in the neighborhood.

Room Tip: High floors, so you can see Chicago.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Mr. Mayoplan,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent visit to Chicago, we truly appreciate your business. While The Peninsula Excelisor is a lovely hotel in Singapore, it is not associated with our hotel company or Hong Kong and Shanghai Hotels, we apologize if you were under a different impression. We do have hotels in the following cities: Shanghai, Tokyo, Hong Kong, New York, Tokyo, Bangkok, Chicago, Manila, Beverly Hills and will soon be opening a hotel in Paris as well.

I am pleased to learn you enjoyed our hotel, your guest room as well the many amenities we offer. I’m also happy you had a chance to join us for both Afternoon Tea and Sunday Brunch, as those are two dining experiences that are quite unique and showcase our chefs’ great talents.

Thank you for leaving a review of your experience. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
191 helpful votes 191 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

Had a great few nights here.
Had a beautiful suite with a bathtub looking along the Main Street.
I came to visit a friend and I'm happy I choose this hotel because its perfectly located for shopping along the golden mile, and the staff are amazing. Concierge summed me up in one go and knew exactly what I was looking for and what would interest me.
Would I come back? Yes. Highly recommend it

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, January 11, 2013
Dear Gumjoytravels,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your experience at the hotel as well as the service, convenient location and recommendations you received from our Concierge Team.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula soon.

Warm regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Little Rock, Arkansas
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is my first visit to the Peninsula Chicago and I hope it will not be my last. I was there for a conference and I thoroughly enjoyed the hotel. The room was well appointed, hotel staff very helpful and the food delicious. The location of the hotel is perfect. I cannot say enough good things about the Peninsula!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear Brownie0022,

We appreciate your positive review and thank you for choosing to stay with us during your trip to Chicago. We are delighted to hear you had an excellent first stay with us, and that you enjoyed your guest room and the service you received as well as our cuisine.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 30, 2012

This is one of the best hotels I've ever stayed at. Our room was lovely - mood lighting option in every room, separate shower with small bench within and wonderful bath products, great bed and linen, and wonderful service. Every member of staff made me feel welcome and it didn't feel false. The bar served great cocktails and beer. Very upscale but not pretentious. We can't wait to plan our next trip to Chicago and will definitely stay at the hotel again. Recommended!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, January 7, 2013
Dear CWD22,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at The Peninsula recently. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed the amenities in your guest room as well as the service you received throughout your stay.

We’re thrilled to hear you will be visiting Chicago again and look forward to welcoming you back, hopefully in the near future. If you need assistance planning your future visit, please do not hesitate to contact us.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri, United States
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 25, 2012

Positives first: area is ideal...right off the Magnificant Mile. Also, the immenities were good, and close to many restaurants. Now, the negative. I reserved a non smoking room, and was assigned to a smoking room. Some acquaintances checked in after me (shared a room). They reserved a non-smoking room, but was offered an upgrade to a bigger, non-smoking room for no extra charge. After checking out, I waited over an hour for my car. Finally, I was told it was parked waayyy down the street. When I walked to it, the tire was on a complete flat and no one said a thing. It was a Sunday and I was in tears, until someone helped me find a tire place that was open. I haven't stayed there again, and I wrote a letter of complaint but never got a response from management. Poor business all around. Saw three celebrities though (although I didn't know who the 3rd was, only that he was an athlete planked by 3 women lol).

  • Stayed March 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula
Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
#4 Business Hotel in Chicago
#5 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#5 Family Hotel in Chicago
#11 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Amex, Tingo, Otel, TripOnline SA, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.