We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“This is the Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Magnificent Mile)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Free room upgrade
Ranked #6 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
Bronx
Level Contributor
158 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“This is the Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 14, 2012

What a treat! This Hotel is wonderful. The staff go out of their way to treat you like you should be treated in a hotel. Super friendly and polite. The place is immaculate. The rooms were comfortable and elegant, roomy and had mood lighting as well. The maid service tuned the room up like no tomorrow. Turned down the bedding, set the mood lighting, set the music to soft low music, folded all the towels wrapped up all my charging cords put out my slippers, etc, etc. The Spa was warm and inviting, the men's locker room had plenty of showers a steam room and a reading area with robes and slippers for everyone. The reception area had tea with honey and orange sliced water. The Hot tub and pool area were spotless and the view from the hot tub overlooks the city skyline. If you have some cash this is a must stay!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. MichaelBronx,

Thank you for writing such a pleasant review on both TripAdvisor and Yelp, we greatly appreciate it. We are thrilled to hear you experienced a wonderful stay and enjoyed the service throughout your visit with us. I’m also happy you were able to enjoy our relaxing Spa area; it’s quite soothing after a busy day. We hope you can also join us this winter and have a chance to skate on our new skating rink located on our outdoor terrace.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, we look forward to your return.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,016 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    835
    109
    45
    16
    11
See reviews for
169
311
52
307
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (161)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

They have a wonderful staff that ensures our client’s stay @ the Peninsula. Our client has been very happy with staying here. They are responsive with any concerns (even though nothing major). Great to deal with & will definitely work with again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear RyanCorporateHousing,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear your client has enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came for a three day stay at the Peninsula Hotel recently . From the time we checked in until the time we left , we were treated royally . The rooms were exquisite and the location was optimal to shopping and dining . The housekeeping staff called us by name and no request was too small . Be prepared to pay for what you get , but lets say that I have payed comparable rates for much less . We will be back next year !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Flounder1109,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. We are thrilled you both enjoyed your room, our location as well as the service you experienced during your visit as well.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Level Contributor
171 reviews
93 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed at the Peninsula for a work week and I have to say that I am both very impressed and surprised. Suprised because I can't really fault anything. The location is fabulous, the hotel building itself i immaculate, the service is sensationally good, the rooms are very large and in excellent shape, the restaurants serve fabulous food (try the Chinese Shanghai Terrace..very tasty), the gym and spa is world class at the 20th floor overlooking chicago. I could write a very lengthy review describing especially how good the service is but there is no need. Its a fantastic place, so if you are looking for a top notch classic place in Chicago and if you can afford it then it comes with my top recommendations. Its rare for a hotel to come across the way they market themselves, this one do, actually its nearly better than the marketing, which says a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. RichardU71,

Thank you for taking a moment to write such a pleasant review. I’m so pleased to learn you had a chance to experience not only the hotel, but Shanghai Terrace and The Spa and Fitness Center during your business trip. We truly appreciate the kind words and look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Level Contributor
124 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I think that there is an arms race of customer service being waged in Chicago right now between The Peninsula and The Waldorf. The Pen has always been a wonderful wonderful place (the best in Chicago and one of the best anywhere for a long time) but, in recent years, was bumped off the top spot by The Elysian/The Waldorf. During the stay it was clear that someone knew that we'd been staying at The Elysian as of late and every effort was made to win us back. Fore example, we ate lunch in the lobby before a meeting and our food was a bit late (it was probably our fault for being crunched for time etc.) and that night a bottle of nice champagne and wonderful chocolates with a note of apology appeared in our room. As another example, we like it cold in the room at night and somehow they have been paying enough attention to that that the thermostat was set each night to how we like it. All very impressive and I can't wait to return next weekend with two of our Children for a Chicago weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. J.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your most recent trip to Chicago. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return with your entire family. We look forward to welcoming you back this weekend.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Level Contributor
18 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at The Four Seasons in Chicago for 2 nights in November and my only regret was that it wasn't 2 weeks. It is truly best in class. From the beautiful lobby which houses a fabulous restaurant and quintessential bar, to the beautifully appointed rooms, this hotel earns top ratings across the board. The Peninsula is an iconic global brand with no greater example of perfection than the Peninsula Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Hmay3,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at The Peninsula, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent trip. We always appreciate comments from our guests and are happy to learn you had a great experience.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Penninsula and it was great. Love the location. Right down the street from Roy's Restaurant and a close and enjoyable walk to Whole Foods Market. It was cold in Chicago when I went so the walk was very cold, but that is not the Penninsula's fault. Just beautiful hotel. Love it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Deluxe Penninsula Suite and the Grand Penninsula Suite. The Grand Penninsula Suite ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Deno B.,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago during your trip to Chicago once again. I’m happy to learn you enjoy our location. I hope you return again soon and that the weather is more pleasant so you can experience everything the city has to offer both indoors and outdoors. We hope you can also visit us this winter and enjoy our outdoor skating rink located atop our terrace this winter.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Near North Side
The Langham, Chicago
The Langham, Chicago
#1 of 178 in Chicago
5.0 of 5 stars 1,191 reviews
Magnificent Mile
Four Seasons Hotel Chicago
Magnificent Mile
Park Hyatt Chicago
Park Hyatt Chicago
#7 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,043 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Gold Coast
The Talbott Hotel
The Talbott Hotel
#2 of 178 in Chicago
4.5 of 5 stars 1,839 reviews
Gold Coast
Thompson Chicago, a Thompson Hotel
Near North Side
Trump International Hotel & Tower Chicago
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Magnificent Mile , Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Chicago
#2 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#6 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotwire, Odigeo, Splendia and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.