We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great staff!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“Great staff!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 13, 2012

They have a wonderful staff that ensures our client’s stay @ the Peninsula. Our client has been very happy with staying here. They are responsive with any concerns (even though nothing major). Great to deal with & will definitely work with again in the future.

Room Tip: All rooms are fantastic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear RyanCorporateHousing,

Thank you for taking a moment to write a review about your recent experience with us. We are happy to hear your client has enjoyed their stay with us and look forward to working with you again in the future.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    641
    84
    29
    13
    10
See reviews for
120
231
45
243
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (121)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 12, 2012 via mobile

My wife and I came for a three day stay at the Peninsula Hotel recently . From the time we checked in until the time we left , we were treated royally . The rooms were exquisite and the location was optimal to shopping and dining . The housekeeping staff called us by name and no request was too small . Be prepared to pay for what you get , but lets say that I have payed comparable rates for much less . We will be back next year !

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. Flounder1109,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. We are thrilled you both enjoyed your room, our location as well as the service you experienced during your visit as well.

We look forward to your next visit.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm Sweden
Top Contributor
138 reviews 138 reviews
78 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 10, 2012

Just stayed at the Peninsula for a work week and I have to say that I am both very impressed and surprised. Suprised because I can't really fault anything. The location is fabulous, the hotel building itself i immaculate, the service is sensationally good, the rooms are very large and in excellent shape, the restaurants serve fabulous food (try the Chinese Shanghai Terrace..very tasty), the gym and spa is world class at the 20th floor overlooking chicago. I could write a very lengthy review describing especially how good the service is but there is no need. Its a fantastic place, so if you are looking for a top notch classic place in Chicago and if you can afford it then it comes with my top recommendations. Its rare for a hotel to come across the way they market themselves, this one do, actually its nearly better than the marketing, which says a lot.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. RichardU71,

Thank you for taking a moment to write such a pleasant review. I’m so pleased to learn you had a chance to experience not only the hotel, but Shanghai Terrace and The Spa and Fitness Center during your business trip. We truly appreciate the kind words and look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
114 reviews 114 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
46 helpful votes 46 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 9, 2012

I think that there is an arms race of customer service being waged in Chicago right now between The Peninsula and The Waldorf. The Pen has always been a wonderful wonderful place (the best in Chicago and one of the best anywhere for a long time) but, in recent years, was bumped off the top spot by The Elysian/The Waldorf. During the stay it was clear that someone knew that we'd been staying at The Elysian as of late and every effort was made to win us back. Fore example, we ate lunch in the lobby before a meeting and our food was a bit late (it was probably our fault for being crunched for time etc.) and that night a bottle of nice champagne and wonderful chocolates with a note of apology appeared in our room. As another example, we like it cold in the room at night and somehow they have been paying enough attention to that that the thermostat was set each night to how we like it. All very impressive and I can't wait to return next weekend with two of our Children for a Chicago weekend.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Mr. J.,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your most recent trip to Chicago. I am thrilled to hear you enjoyed your stay and look forward to your return with your entire family. We look forward to welcoming you back this weekend.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore, Maryland
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2012

I stayed at The Four Seasons in Chicago for 2 nights in November and my only regret was that it wasn't 2 weeks. It is truly best in class. From the beautiful lobby which houses a fabulous restaurant and quintessential bar, to the beautifully appointed rooms, this hotel earns top ratings across the board. The Peninsula is an iconic global brand with no greater example of perfection than the Peninsula Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Hmay3,

We are pleased to hear you enjoyed your time at The Peninsula, thank you for choosing to stay at our hotel during your recent trip. We always appreciate comments from our guests and are happy to learn you had a great experience.

We look forward to seeing you soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 7, 2012

This is the second time I have stayed at the Penninsula and it was great. Love the location. Right down the street from Roy's Restaurant and a close and enjoyable walk to Whole Foods Market. It was cold in Chicago when I went so the walk was very cold, but that is not the Penninsula's fault. Just beautiful hotel. Love it.

Room Tip: Stayed in the Deluxe Penninsula Suite and the Grand Penninsula Suite. The Grand Penninsula Suite ha...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 20, 2012
Dear Deno B.,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula Chicago during your trip to Chicago once again. I’m happy to learn you enjoy our location. I hope you return again soon and that the weather is more pleasant so you can experience everything the city has to offer both indoors and outdoors. We hope you can also visit us this winter and enjoy our outdoor skating rink located atop our terrace this winter.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We stayed at the Peninsula in early December for a quick getaway weekend. Not much more I can add here beyond what other positive reviewers had to stay, but wanted to add if you are traveling with children to let them know when you make your reservation.

Upon returning to our room the first night, our girls found two little Christmas teddy bears, a Peninsula makeup bag filled with soaps, gels, toothbrush, floss, and kid toothpaste, and a fun dessert tray with popcorn, cookies, gummy bears, jello, water, and nuts and fruit for the adults. This hotel is beautiful and treats kids wonderfully. My girls thought it was very fun and felt special from the treatment they were given by hotel employees. The pool and hot tub didn't disappoint, and the location is superb. Peninsula makes it hard to stay elsewhere - will return.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, December 6, 2012
Dear Jk4837,

I wanted to thank you and your family for choosing The Peninsula Chicago during your visit to the city. I am thrilled to hear your daughters enjoyed our family-friendly amenities as well as our festive Peninsula Page Bears and felt acknowledged throughout their stay. We strive to make each guest feel welcome and relaxed, no matter their age.

I am happy to hear you had a chance to experience the pool and found our location to be convenient as well.

Thank you for such positive feedback, we look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec

General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.