We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Peninsula is great in any city -but Magnificent on the Mag Mile” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Save Saved
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Room Upgrade and Amenity
Ranked #5 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Houston
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
“Peninsula is great in any city -but Magnificent on the Mag Mile”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 27, 2012

Once you stay at a Peninsula hotel, you will not want to stay anywhere else. The brand is synonymous with excellence but primarily located in urban settings/cities...the Peninsula Chicago is consistently rated one of the top hotels in the USA. The rooms are luxurious and the staff is exactingly accommodating. Located on Michigan Avenue, the hotel is literally in the middle of everything: museums, restaurants, shopping and the lakefront. Because we travel regularly with our children, I feel the hotel is family friendly but sophisticated enough that it is not for every family.
The health club and roof top pool are a treat year round and this visit I had a chance to take some exercise classes that were more challenging than any I have tried -ever.

Room Tip: I always ask to see my room before I have our bags delivered. There are some amazing views to be had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Writeholt,

Thank you for your loyalty to The Peninsula, as well as your kind words about The Peninsula brand. We greatly appreciate your review and are pleased to hear that you and your family enjoyed our rooms, service, location as well as the Fitness Center.

We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Warm regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

795 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    655
    86
    31
    13
    10
See reviews for
122
237
45
250
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Everything about this hotel is superb. The location is great but and the hotel exudes quality from every standpoint. The staff are welcoming and professional in every way. The Lobby restaurant , where we enjoyed breakfast and dinner, is delightful. The bar is cool and buzzing . And the accommodation perfect with large rooms and exceptionally comfortable beds. Throughout the hotel, the decor is marked by understated style and elegance. I recommend the Peninsula unreservedly.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Zinwah,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave such a complimentary review, as well as extend my appreciation to you for staying at The Peninsula recently. We are pleased to hear you enjoyed a variety of features, including the location, service and accommodations during your trip.

We look forward to your return.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

Stayed here during the Ryder Cup weekend. What a treat. Excellent service, comfy beds, plush rooms. Great location in downtown Chicago. Taxis always available. Had an early flight out, and the kitchen prepared and packed a yummy to go breakfast. Bar has a sleek and uptown feel to it. Totally spoiled!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Dear Thymefortravel,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula Chicago during the Ryder Cup event. We are thrilled you experienced superb service and enjoyed our accommodating guestrooms and amenities.

We look forward to your return in the near future.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Staff extremely helpful at all times. Rooms extremely nice but some of the electronic/automatic things seemed almost retro. NO COFFEE POT in the room. The main restaurant has nouveau cuisine - so very small portions. Yet they almost make up for it with all the little extras that they bring including a small loaf of sweet bread to take with you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear JuniperCreek,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip to Chicago. I was pleased to hear you found our staff attentive and friendly and that you had a chance to experience The Lobby as well. We appreciate all your feedback and would be happy to ensure a coffee pot is placed in your room the next time you stay with us. We also have complimentary coffee available in The Lobby from 6:00 am to 8:00 am and in The Spa from 5:30 am to 11:00 am daily.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location and excellent spa. Only glitch was checking in early. The front desk indicated a room would be ready in an hour and a half. It took 3 hours before we could check in. After that it was smooth sailing. Wonderful service, lovely small boutique, deep soaking tub and excellent work out facility.

Room Tip: The rooms are state of the art so be sure to have the bellman show you where the lights and heat tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Oceans50,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We appreciate your kind words about our convenient location, service and spa. I do apologize for the issue with your early check-in. Thank you, again, for taking time to leave us such valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula soon.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
42 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms are huge and comfortable. The hotel is classic yet modern. Very inviting by their excellent staff at the front desk and concierge. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Chicago if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear AFA86,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We greatly appreciate such a wonderful recommendation and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom as well as the service during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 33 cities Reviews in 33 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is what i would call a classic style of Chicago grand hotel, with luxurious grand public rooms, great service, personable staff, and quality rooms & fittings. Only negatives for me were the lobby restaurant which was very cold (re' atmosphere not temperature) and uninspiring, and the bar which though lovely was just too small for the size of hotel and number wanting to use it.

Room Tip: this is far from the tallest hotel in Chicago, so unlike some others the higher the floor doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Booking.com, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Travelocity, Otel, getaroom.com, BookingOdigeoWL, Priceline, Venere and Jetsetter so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.