We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A bit weird, but worth experiencing” 4 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“A bit weird, but worth experiencing”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Staff extremely helpful at all times. Rooms extremely nice but some of the electronic/automatic things seemed almost retro. NO COFFEE POT in the room. The main restaurant has nouveau cuisine - so very small portions. Yet they almost make up for it with all the little extras that they bring including a small loaf of sweet bread to take with you.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear JuniperCreek,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us during your recent business trip to Chicago. I was pleased to hear you found our staff attentive and friendly and that you had a chance to experience The Lobby as well. We appreciate all your feedback and would be happy to ensure a coffee pot is placed in your room the next time you stay with us. We also have complimentary coffee available in The Lobby from 6:00 am to 8:00 am and in The Spa from 5:30 am to 11:00 am daily.

We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    733
    96
    37
    14
    10
See reviews for
140
268
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2012

Great location and excellent spa. Only glitch was checking in early. The front desk indicated a room would be ready in an hour and a half. It took 3 hours before we could check in. After that it was smooth sailing. Wonderful service, lovely small boutique, deep soaking tub and excellent work out facility.

Room Tip: The rooms are state of the art so be sure to have the bellman show you where the lights and heat tur...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 21, 2012
Dear Oceans50,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We appreciate your kind words about our convenient location, service and spa. I do apologize for the issue with your early check-in. Thank you, again, for taking time to leave us such valuable feedback.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula soon.

Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
49 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2012

The rooms are huge and comfortable. The hotel is classic yet modern. Very inviting by their excellent staff at the front desk and concierge. I highly recommend this hotel for your stay in Chicago if you want to splurge.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Dear AFA86,

Thank you for staying with us during your recent visit to Chicago. We greatly appreciate such a wonderful recommendation and we were happy to hear you enjoyed your guestroom as well as the service during your stay.

We look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warwick, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
130 reviews 130 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2012

This is what i would call a classic style of Chicago grand hotel, with luxurious grand public rooms, great service, personable staff, and quality rooms & fittings. Only negatives for me were the lobby restaurant which was very cold (re' atmosphere not temperature) and uninspiring, and the bar which though lovely was just too small for the size of hotel and number wanting to use it.

Room Tip: this is far from the tallest hotel in Chicago, so unlike some others the higher the floor doesn'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marietta, Georgia
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012 via mobile

Wish I could have stayed more than one night. Hotel is 1/2 block off Michigan Ave near Water Tower so close to great shopping and restaurants. Staff was over-the-top friendly and extremely helpful. Room was lavish and SUPER quiet. We had a reduced room rate from the show we were attending. Only regret was not trying the Sunday Brunch - we went out instead but their brunch looked great.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Ms. MerryBanker,

Thank you for taking time to leave us such a pleasant review and for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I was happy to learn you experienced friendly service throughout your stay and enjoyed our guestrooms as well. I hope you’ll return again soon so you can experience The Lobby firsthand. The Sunday Brunch serves a variety of incredible dishes, and is further enhanced by our live entertainment.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Peninsula soon.

Kind regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dayton, Ohio
Top Contributor
98 reviews 98 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 49 cities Reviews in 49 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Great service from all almost every employee, but a little overpriced if you can't take advantage of discount rates. Wonderful lounge and cafe next door that is part of hotel.
Restaurant also tremendous but pricey. Workout facility is one of the best I've been to and valets were tremendous. All in all highly recommended if you can make it affordable with a discount.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 12, 2012
Dear Mr. Davew49,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I was happy to learn you had a chance to take advantage of The Lobby and Pierrot Gourmet, as well as The Spa’s Fitness Center.

We look forward to seeing you again soon.

Warm regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 1, 2012 via mobile

My husband and I and another couple stayed at the peninsula just for an overnight trip. The Hotel was excellent. The rooms were very large and very clean. The bathroom was amazing! The only complaint I would say would be the bed, it wasn't that comfortable and the pillows were down down pillows. But that is just my preference and opinion. The staff were great and helpful, but this was not our first time to Chicago. Great location! We went to The Capital Grille for dinner. The food was great and the service was top notch. Would definitely stay again!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, November 7, 2012
Dear Jaxnewholland,

Thank you for choosing The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I am pleased to learn that you enjoyed many aspects of our hotel, including the spacious rooms and well-appointed bathrooms. I’m sorry you didn’t find our mattresses comfortable. We offer one brand of mattress, however several types of pillows are available that may provide additional relief and ensure your stay is as relaxing as possible.

We look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President - USA East Coast
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#3 Family Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Amex, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Travelocity, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.