We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Defines Five Stars” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Peninsula Chicago

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Peninsula Chicago to your Saves list
The Peninsula Chicago
5.0 of 5 Hotel   |   108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Offers & Announcements
Free room upgrade
Ranked #5 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chicago
Top Contributor
248 reviews 248 reviews
57 hotel reviews
Reviews in 116 cities Reviews in 116 cities
111 helpful votes 111 helpful votes
“Defines Five Stars”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I spent 3 days at the Peninsula for a convention. The physical side of the place will either appeal to you or not. What I believe appeals to everyone is the pride, professionalism and service of the staff. Whether the presenter needed an extra reading light for his speech, some extra chairs were needed for the room or there was a special need for the bar, the staff was always there ready to remedy any problem. All one had to do was look like they had a problem, and a staff member was there to help. They beautifully walked the fine line between obsequious and readily available. I could go on about the rooms and the food......but maybe you should find that out for yourself!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear Pixelpanderer,

I want to thank you for taking the time to leave a review after spending several days with us during your convention. I am delighted to hear you not only had a chance to enjoy your guestroom and the many restaurants, but also felt well taken care of by our staff during your meetings.

Thank you again for joining us, we look forward to your return.

Best regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

893 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    734
    96
    39
    14
    10
See reviews for
142
268
49
275
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (145)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
winnipeg, mb
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 18, 2012

The staff of the hotel tried to be very curtious, friendly and kind, however, the hotel prices far exceeded the quality. The room air quality was very poor. The room size was not sufficient for a price tag of $ 640.00/ night. The hotel was not geared toward anyone with a physical handicap. The sinks jutted out with black marble, yet it was very difficult to brush my teeth. Their was no grab bar for the toilet or shower. When I asked the housekeeping not to tuck my comforter in at the end of the bed, it was routinely tucked in. Also, the restaurant food was very average for the price, especially in the Lobby Restaurant. At high tea, the bread was stale on the finger sandwiches.The Piero Gourmet had good food but was very noisy. The location was good but very noisy. It needs some work!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
95 helpful votes 95 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

Shiny and beautiful at first glance, but scratch the surface and something is missing. As a qualifier; I have stayed at many top hotels around the world including The Peninsula NYC, which this is NOT. Basically, this isn't my first time at the rodeo. Please see my other reviews.

I booked this property for 3 nights through the American Express Platinum Fine Hotels and Resorts program. Typically, this entitles you to a room upgrade, free continental breakfast, early check-in/4pm late check-out, and a hotel amenity specific to the property. In this case, that was a 100 dollar credit to be used at the spa. At the time of my booking, there was a promotion for "stay 2 nights, get the 3rd night free".

Check-in was very smooth. When our car arrived, someone was waiting curbside to take us to our room. The driver had clearly given them the heads up about our arrival. Very slick. We were taken directly to the room (we did NOT receive an upgrade) with a view of Rush Street, and the tourist hot-spot/pizza joint across the street. We were not really told any specifics about what was included with our package or other details about the room/hotel; we were given an envelope and asked if we had any questions.

Room: The room is pretty and spacious for an entry-level room. The closet is very small, but there is plenty of room for suitcases. The bathroom is large and well-lit but has only one vanity, which is odd in a hotel of this caliber. There is a full desk with fax machine (people still use those?), and small sitting area with loveseat and cocktail table. There is a central control system for lighting, phone and privacy that works pretty well, but seems antiquated. The one at St. Regis Bal Harbour, for instance, is touch screen, and much more advanced. The whole time I was here, I thought, "this thing would give my parents a coronary". Negatives: single vanity, uncomfortable bed, flat, lifeless pillows, torn sofa cushion and stained desk chair.

Getting in and out of the hotel onto the street is A PROCESS. The location of the hotel is fantastic, but to utilize it, you must take the elevator down to the lobby, walk past the front desk and concierge, down another hall, take another elevator down to another lobby, and go out the door onto the sidewalk. Admittedly, it's kind of a "princess complaint", but it's not very well thought out, and I thought it would prove problematic if there were a fire in the hotel. Just my opinion.

Room Service: Ordering was easy, the food came within the window they specified, and by room service standards, the food was above average for taste and presentation.

Service: A month before arrival, someone from the hotel called to see if there was anything special I needed. I set up car-service from the airport, and also explained that we would be celebrating a birthday and I would like a cake for the room on our first night when we returned from dinner. I was told that I would get a call back that afternoon, after she spoke with the pastry chef. A week passed with no call, so I called the concierge, spelled out all the details again, feeling confident that it would all work out. Three days before our stay, I got another call from the hotel saying that someone had spoken to the pastry chef, and did I still want a cake. I said, "yes, I want a cake, but I never heard back from you, so I worked it out with the concierge." She said, "oh, I will contact the concierge and cancel their order and put this one in instead." I said they could work it out between the two of them since I had given both the exact same details about the cake.

Day of arrival: The car service was wrong. I specified a type of car (because we were celebrating I wanted everything top-notch), which wasn't there; although the staff at the airport from Metropolitain were very friendly and efficient. After going out for lunch at Pierrot Gourmet (hotel restaurant) where the service was poor if I am being nice, and shopping before dinner, we returned to the room to find the cake on the table waiting for us. Nothing like a big piece of chocolate cake BEFORE dinner!

Check out: I was charged for the third night on my bill, which they would not adjust, despite the fact that I had confirmation from AMEX. Instead, they offered the use of their phone so I could hash the issue out publicly in their lobby while other people are checking in and checking out. I declined, and said I would address it when I got home. It felt very... Econo-Lodge.

Bottom line: Blame me, blame AMEX, but at the end of the day it falls to The Pen to coordinate their programs, and that wasn't the only issue. The bar is chic and beautiful, room service is above average, the rooms are spacious and quiet. We did not receive an upgrade, despite the hotel not being full, which I confirmed with a staff member. I thought the service was inconsistent, I did NOT feel valued as a guest, and since I am spending my first day home after the trip squabbling with the hotel and AMEX about 600+ dollars in charges, instead of basking in the memories, I would probably not return. I hear the Waldorf-Astoria is gorgeous, with similar rates and larger, newer rooms with fireplaces!

Room Tip: I'm certain the rooms on Rush and Superior are quieter, but the view adds something to the exper...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hong Kong
Top Contributor
142 reviews 142 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 15, 2012

I usually give the Peninsula a five star rating but on my last trip I had an issue with the location of mini bar and safe under the TV in the wall. Before heading to dinner, I pushed the TV back toward the wall (out from turn down service), and bent down to get my wallet out of the safe. As I stood up, the TV had swung back over my head from the wall and I cracked my head open, blood everywhere. I was able to make it to the lobby, only to pass out. Security called the ambulance and fire department, but after signing a liability waiver so I could leave the hotel, no one ever checked up on me again. I could have easily gone back to my room and passed out dead from a concussion. The Peninsula is one of the best business hotels in all of the US, but watch out for that TV and make sure it is pushed hard back in to the wall!!! The safe and mini bar should be moved out from underneath it.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Poole, Dorset
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
79 helpful votes 79 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 14, 2012

We stayed here prior to going to the Ryder Cup. The service was the thing that we remember the most. Staff are obviously very well trained and it made it a very relaxing stay with everything we wanted taken care of. Our room was great with fabulous views. We splashed out on an executive site but hand't realised that it came with the use of a fabulous mini cooper plus driver at our disposal for up to 3 hours a day. This was pure luxury. Room service was also excellent and they even brought our deserts 20minutes after our main course. Not cheap overall but worth it.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ThePeninsulaChicago, General Manager at The Peninsula Chicago, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear BMLPoole,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Peninsula during your recent visit to Chicago. I am pleased to hear our service and staff have made a lasting impression on you. We strive to ensure every guest feels welcome and relaxed during their stay.

I’m glad you enjoyed the view from your suite and hope you have a chance to take advantage of our convenient MINI Cooper service during your next trip to Chicago.

We look forward to seeing you in the near future.


Warmest regards,

Maria Zec
General Manager
Regional Vice President
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

Just returned from a five night stay in an executive suite at the Peninsula Hotel and it couldn’t have been better. The suite with windows on three sides looking out on Michigan Avenue and Lake Michigan, just fantastic. The hotel staff were all very nice, friendly and helpful. The hotel offers a three hour tour in their custom mini-cooper for suite occupants. We did it one afternoon lots of fun, do if you can and ask for Dwayne. Hotel also offers a hotel car to run you place in town for dinner or a show. Nothing not to like about this hotel, we will be back soon.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
121 reviews 121 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

I was completely impressed by the level of service as well as how well our room was maintained. My husband and I thoroughly enjoyed our 3 night stay. All staff were exceptionally courteous and helpful. Housekeeping was the best I have experienced in the past year. Yes, the rates are not cheap, but you get value for your money. I would stay at this hotel again in a heartbeat.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Peninsula Chicago? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Peninsula Chicago

Address: 108 East Superior Street, at North Michigan Avenue, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Chicago
#3 Spa Hotel in Chicago
#4 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#4 Family Hotel in Chicago
#5 Luxury Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Hotel Class:5 star — The Peninsula Chicago 5*
Number of rooms: 339
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Located at Water Tower Park on the "Magnificent Mile," the city’s premier shopping district, The Peninsula Chicago is the city's most luxurious and sophisticated hotel, offering guests all possible amenities and services. The Peninsula Chicago is a proud recipient of the Five-Star, Five-Diamond Award, and was also recently awarded "#1 Large City Hotel In US And Canada" by readers of Travel + Leisure. The Peninsula Chicago's 339 luxurious guestrooms and suites are among the largest in the city and are exquisitely furnished in a contemporary yet classical style, with a state-of-the-art electronic system that provides guests the ability to control guestroom features with the touch of a button. At the top of The Peninsula Chicago, you’ll find the world-renowned Peninsula Spa. An intimate, indulgent environment featuring innovative spa treatments, gracious service and magnificent facilities including a half-Olympic length swimming pool on the 19th floor overlooking the Chicago skyline. With three distinctive restaurants and a bar, guests can choose from a diverse array of superb dining options. Shanghai Terrace is notable as much for its intensely flavored Shanghainese and Cantonese delicacies as for its matchless service and 1930s supper club atmosphere; The Lobby provides an incredible breakfast, lunch and dinner menu, live entertainment and delectable afternoon tea in elegant surroundings; The Bar offers a sophisticated menu of cocktails, port; and Pierrot Gourmet is a European-style cafe ideal for casual, light fare. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, HotelTravel.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Jetsetter and Tingo so you can book your The Peninsula Chicago reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Peninsula Chicago Hotel Chicago
Peninsula Chicago
Chicago Peninsula

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Peninsula Chicago, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.