We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Place to Stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #45 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Great Place to Stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

I've stayed here multiple times, most recently in April, 2013. I needed a cab this next AM. They had one waiting for me when I got downstairs. Room was clean. I can verify what others have said to be accurate & true. The room was clean & neat. I love their breakfast buffet. For this reason alone, I prefer staying at Fairfield vs, their top of the line Marriott brand. Even though it is a 2 star hotel, they give you 5 star service. I am a Marriott Rewards member...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am so happy that not only did you enjoy your Experience but you have stayed with us multiple times at that! We pride ourselves on providing exceptional customer service and am glad we were able to make your trip enjoyable. Hope to see you again in the near future! Happy Travels!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

890 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    441
    357
    60
    22
    10
See reviews for
232
198
52
236
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (166)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Madison, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
76 reviews 76 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

My husband and I were just looking for a nice weekend getaway from which we could explore downtown Chicago for the first time; this hotel was a great choice. Just 1 1/2 blocks from Michigan Avenue Shopping, about 4 blocks to Navy Pier, with many terrific restaurants within walking distance. We had a King-bed room, which was basic but well appointed and very clean. A nice white on white décor with splashes of orange gave the room a fresh feeling. The bed was wonderful - nice and firm, fresh crisp linens, and extra pillows! The staff we encountered were polite and helpful, suggesting places for a good meal, and a map w/ price guide when we slid into the hotel at the later edge of dinner time on a Friday. The included breakfast was basic, but do-able, included scrambled eggs, sausage, make-your-own waffles, cereal, juice, coffee, yogurt, donuts, bagels, toast. Try to eat a little on the earlier side. At 9:00, it was very crowded and the hot food was running out quickly. Staff did open up extra rooms for breakfast seating. No pool, but there is a small, simple work out area. Valet/overnight parking is pricy ($43/ night) so glad we took the Amtrak! Will definitely stay here again!

Room Tip: upper floors for best view & less morning noise. Ours was on 5th...our window faced the green w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I couldn't agree with you more! Our location is hard to beat. We do try our best to provide as detailed service as possible and am glad you were able to Experience that while you were here with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

From the time I arrived at the door, I received the attention I travellers deserve. He greeted me opened the door. I then proceeded to the registration desk and was treated very well and given my room key promptly. When I was leaving for dinner the concierge, Charles, offered many suggestions and coupons for surrounding restaurants and bars.

The room was clean and tidy and the hotel was right in the heart of all there is to do in Chicago. I am very delighted with the service and hospitality I received and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, May 12, 2013
I am so happy to hear about your Experience with us. Charles is a valuable asset to our team and definately a great reflection on the service we are trying to provide. I also couldnt agree with you more, as our location is one of the best. I am glad that your enjoyed yourself and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Greenville, South Carolina
Top Contributor
105 reviews 105 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
34 helpful votes 34 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 8, 2013

Stayed here on business a week ago and it was such a great place to be. Location was perfect for the "L" and food/entertainment. he room was comfortable, spacious, and clean. The bathroom was very nice and large as well as the vanity area for getting ready. Upon check in the staff was so nice and helpful. I will stay here again next time I am in the Chicago DT area.

Room Tip: Ask for a front high floor. The view is great.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Stayed two nights with family of four in chilly April. We parked the car a few blocks away (deal through a prepaid parking site) and didn't use it until we left on the third day. Walk two short blocks to Michigan Avenue and from there get to all the major destinations by bus, foot, or El. The hotel is clean and relatively updated. Rooms are small (standard for Chicago), but sufficient. Breakfast was somewhat of an ordeal when the hotel was full. The room is not big enough to serve everyone and there's lots of waiting and dodging. The food itself is basic, Americinn-level, assortment of make your own waffles (wait!), toasts, meager cereal, bad coffee, etc. Fine if you aren't expecting more, but it is a little disappointing. Nevertheless, for the money, this is a good value.

Room Tip: Upper floors will be best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Decatur, Indiana
Senior Contributor
45 reviews 45 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

The front desk guys and bell hops (are they still called that?) were so fun & full of personality. I'm a smoker so it was nice to know they were there when I'd go out for a cig after dark. The room was very clean and I loved the fun orange colors. My one and only complaint was that no one told me about any complimentary breakfast. I didn't know about it until I was checking out and heard someone else talking about it. Here's it's on a different floor. It would have been so nice to have a free breakfast each morning... Great location to Navy Pier too.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Bend, Wisconsin
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel is in a great location in downtown Chicago. It was easy walking to the Magnificent Mile and to the Navy Pier. There were a lot of restaurants very close by to choose from also. The staff was very friendly and the room was cozy and clean. I would suggest getting down to breakfast early, we got down a littley after 9 am on a Saturday morning and the breakfast room was very crowded, there was a long line for the waffles, the coffee pot was empty and there was no place to sit. There was a coffemaker in the room so we just grabbed a few things to eat and headed back to our room. My one big complaint about this location is the difficulty in getting a cab. I would strongly suggest on busy nights like Friday or Saturday to have the front desk arrange for a taxi at the time that you will be needing one. We needed one on the Friday night we were there and it was impossible, the younger guy that was working for the hotel outside tried for over 10 minutes hailing a cab for us. He went inside and one of the older guys working there told us to walk down one of the main roads to try and get a cab. We ended up walking over to Michigan ave and had to go about 3 blocks before being able to find one to take us where we needed to be. It took a little time when we needed a cab to go to the train station the next day also, but it wasn't quite as bad. Overall this is a nice hotel to stay in a great part of Chicago.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#33 Business Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Odigeo, Travelocity and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.