We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Streeterville)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points
Ranked #49 of 178 Hotels in Chicago
Certificate of Excellence
York Region, Canada
Level Contributor
86 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
“Very Good Stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

The management was very welcoming and accommodating. We were travelling with a large group and were not scheduled to check in later in the day. There was a terrible rain storm and the management offered a conference room and complimentary breakfast to our group until the weather let up. The hotel itself is a boutique style and has a very nice lobby. The rooms are clean and average. My room was in a bad spot as it opened up to a solid wall and a loading dock for garbage drop off that was rather noisy every morning. A different room woudl have solved that issue, but overall it wasn't a big deal. Continental breakfast had a good variety and was of a decent quality. Overall a very nice stay.

Room Tip: Avoid the rooms that back onto the loading dock, or ask for a higher floor. I was on the 4th, but I...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Kswck_Dinner_Jckt York Region, Canada
As a management team we were so pleased to read your comments surrounding your experience here at The Fairfield Inn & Suites. Group business is very important and being able to accommodate a large group with minimal trouble is always our goal. Being able to get you in, store your luggage and provide breakfast with a positive response from your group was a success for us! Thank you for telling us about your experience while at our property, service does matter to us.
Being a Downtown property, room location is always a challenging situation; Chicago is a city under construction, with new buildings going up over night. I apologize about the room location and will try to pre block you in a quieter room next time you visit us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,008 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    496
    405
    72
    24
    11
See reviews for
272
231
55
260
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (192)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York, New York, United States
2 reviews
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

I stayed here during a conference in Downtown Chicago. The hotel was clean, the service was excellent and allowed me to get on with my day efficiently while still making sure all my needs were met. The breakfast provided a great start to my day. Additionally the rooms were fresh, and the beds comfortable.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear Jesse G New York, New York, United States

Thanks Jesse for reviewing us for future Chicago Convention attendee's, I'm so happy that our staff was able to provide you with the efficient service needed to allow your day to run smoothly. Our hotels main focus is our guests comfort and happiness and it seems as if we achieved this with you! We appreciate your kind review and look forward to having you here again when you have time to enjoy our city to its fullest! Thank you once again for your kind words, we really appreciate the review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ocean Springs, Mississippi
Level Contributor
46 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 22, 2013

This is one of the best Fairfield hotels I have stayed in. It is in a great location between the Navy Pier and the Miracle Mile, and just a short walk to great attractions like Millennium Park and the Art Institute. The hotel staff was delightful, and the rooms were spacious for a big city hotel and extremely clean and comfortable. The room we had was fairly quiet but we still picked up a good bit of street noise on the 13th floor. The hotel served the typical Fairfield type breakfast that is adequate to get you going in the morning. The breakfast was fairly spacious but tended to get crowed at times. All in all, a great stay.

Room Tip: Go to higher floors to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 30, 2013
Dear K D, Ocean Springs, Mississippi

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a wonderful review of our property. Our staff truly does care about our guests and it shows when we receive such glowing remarks. We are fortunate that our hotel is located in the heart of Downtown Chicago which as you stated makes enjoying everything we have to offer quite easy. We would love to be your hotel of choice when in the Chicago area so tell your friends and family about us and hurry back! Thank you for your time and appreciation of our staff!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Troy, Michigan
Level Contributor
21 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 19, 2013

The Fairfield Inn is situated just a few blocks east of Michigan Avenue and is in a great location for shopping, dining, and attractions. The building is older and the decor as well but everything is well maintained and clean. The staff is extremely helpful and friendly. They suggested a roll away bed at no addition cost for our party and were great in helping us with directions and transportation routes. The breakfast offered was plentiful and a good variety was offered including hot and cold foods (eggs, waffles, cereals, yogurts, muffins, oatmeal and fruit to name just a few). The wait staff in the breakfast area was very attentive cleaning tables, opening addition room areas to eat, emptying garbage and filling up food. The price for our stay was extremely reasonable especially for downtown Chicago. The hotel is next to a hospital and the sirens from the ambulances did keep up one member of our party the first night. After all the walking and fresh air the next 2 days, noise was not a night problem.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for your kind words about our hotel. I am sorry to hear that the sirens from the hospital kept you up on the first night but am happy to hear that it didnt effect your Experience here with us. We strive hard to have the best service in the area and am glad you were able to enjoy it during your stay with us. Hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
70 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

Very well located Fairfield Inn in the heart of Chicago downtown Mag Mile. Hotel is not new but has been kept in very good shape. Rooms are regular size but well furnished. Very functional room with all amenities in the right place. Breakfast is offered with the room charges, and it has limited options but quite convenient for a quick morning breakfast.

Room Tip: Look for the corner suite room on the weekends
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to review us, here, on TripAdvisor. I would have to agree our location is second to none and very convenient. Glad to see you enjoyed your time here. I would like to also note that we have taken several comments in to consideration and now offer an expanded breakfast that includes scrambled eggs and sausage. Hope to see you again soon and that these addition can make your experience that much more enjoyable.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sacramento, California
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 14, 2013

What a great place to stay, steps from Michigan Ave, plenty of shops and restaurants in the area. The staff was amazing to name a few: Carlos, Monica and Charles gave us excellent service during our stay (others were great as well). They were very professional and at the same time were personable. They were very helpful at explaining what to do in Chicago and how to get around. The room was clean and somewhat small but had everything we needed. It is true that the hotel is situated near a hospital and you hear the ambulances but it didn't ruin our stay. We would definitely return to this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to review us. I am especially glad to hear that Charlesm Carlos and Monica were able to make your Experience here so enjoyable. They are definately great assets to our team and are extremely greatful to have them. Thank you once again and look forward to hopefully seeing you some time in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kenosha, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
19 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2013

Location and price are what make the Fairfield on Ontario stand out from the countless hotel options. Situated steps from Michigan Ave, the Fairfield lacks the glamour of other hotels but makes up for it in service. The front desk staff was friendly and accommodating. The valet staff was good when you could find them. The exercise room is more like a closet with 2 treadmills and an elliptical.

I stayed here for almost two weeks and wouldn't hesitate booking another reservation at the Fairfield.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, April 22, 2013
Thank you so much for the kind words. I do realize we are lacking in space for a full excercize room but try and make up for it with service. It seems that your Experience here was a positive one and love to hear about our guests experiences. I am pleased to see that you may be staying with us in the future and look forward to seeing you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Chicago hotels
Magnificent Mile
Courtyard Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
Near North Side
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/River North
Near North Side
Homewood Suites by Hilton Chicago Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Downtown / The Loop
Comfort Suites Michigan Avenue
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Streeterville , Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#38 Business Hotel in Chicago
#47 Family Hotel in Chicago
#50 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Odigeo and Hotels.com so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.