We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect weekend getaway” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #39 of 169 hotels in Chicago
Middleton, Wisconsin, United States
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Perfect weekend getaway”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2013

Perfect hotel for our mother/daughter weekend shopping getaway. Just what we needed! Great staff, very nice room, Fairfield Inn breakfast, easy valet parking, steps from everything. Thank you--we hope to be back soon with the rest of the family!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Thank you! It is always a pleasure to here from our guests after they have stayed with us. It is our goal to provide a memorable Experience for each one of our guests and am glad to read that we were able to do so for you. We look forward to seeing you again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

845 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    424
    338
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
225
189
49
219
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (153)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Right off Michigan Avenue, you are in THE place for experiencing Chicago. The hotel is a good size to avoid the convention-like crowds. Cozy and comfortable. The rooms, if not recently renewed, are excellently maintained and designed. Everything is coordinated, complete and works. And CLEAN. Like every Marriott, the staff are welcoming and helpful to the right degree. They know when you need assistance or do not. I will stay there again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We agree, the possibilities are endless for things to do in the area and are glad you took advantage of our location. We hope you choose to stay with us on your next trip!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
60 reviews 60 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Keep in mind that this is a Fairfield and not a higher-end JW Marriott but this is an excellent hotel. The location is perfect for anything north of the river and still close for Grant Park and the loop. Probably one of the most friendly staff that I have ever encountered at a Chicago hotel from the parking valet to the desk clerks. The property is pretty basic but a great bed and very clean.

Room Tip: Timothy O'Tooles is a great place for a drink or lunch/dinner located in the same block. Higher...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with our staff and enjoyed our prime location in the city. The hotel is set back 1 block from Michigan Avenue and it is wonderful to be a few short feet from the hustle and bustle of the city. We hope you visit us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oswego, Illinois
1 review
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2013

My husband was admitted to NorthWestern Memorial Hospital on Tuesday, January 8. He had a liver transplant Thursday, January 17. I had a wonderful experience with the staff. Yazniel, Monica, Charles, Jarret, and Jennifer, were so pleasant. Everyday they showed true concern for my husband. They even offered prayers for him!
I wanted some milk before I went to bed. Charles told me to wait, and soon he appeared with two containers of milk.
The room, 601, was always clean and fresh when I returned from a 10-11 hour day at the hospital.
The bed was ever so comfortable. I felt safe and secure in my room.
In the morning I would go to the breakfast area and take a banana, cereal, and milk to the hospital with me . The breakfast area was always so clean and well stocke with healthy options.
When it was time for me to ckeckout, the staff was just as gracious!
Whenver we need to stay downtown, this Fairfield is our home away from home!
I have to admit, the decor in the lobby leaves a lot to be desired, not too elcoming. That would be my ONLY negative.
Sue S

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ron J, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 6, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay with us. We are happy to hear you had a great experience with our staff! We definately pride ourselves on welcoming each of our guests like family. I hope that your hospital visit produced exceptinoal results as well. I look forward to seeing you again on your next trip to our Wonderful city.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 30, 2013

it was a great stay, we had over 30 people with reserved rooms (from one night to 10 nights). With such a large group they were very accommodating - Ricky, sales coordinator was great to work with. We enjoyed our stay - the staff was friendly (calling us cabs, setting our dinner reservations, etc). Make sure to walk a block down the street and eat the The Grand Lux - the menu is outstanding and staff very friendly. The Fairfield also had a good breakfast every morning on the 2nd floor - everything is always well stocked (even healthy options - oatmeal, yogurt, fruit). I will definitely be back to the Fairfield.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. Ricky Molina is a fantastic asset to the Fairfield Inn & Suites Sales Team. He takes care of all the details and any special needs for our groups. He ensures a seamless experience from check-in to check-out. If your group is visiting Chicago for another convention, please contact us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Top Contributor
87 reviews 87 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2013 via mobile

Great location- right near Michigan ave, many restaurants, stores, coffee shops
Good value - about $99 for a refundable rate
Parking- not higher than any other Chicago hotel. At $40 you have in and out privileges and can leave the car til 6 on checkout day.
The room- ok not great. I had read ask for a higher floor - we were on 15. Our heat was not working but they took care of it right away.
The breakfast- ok not great. (Crowded) but Starbucks and Dunkin donuts are both nearby.
We would stay here again - good value for your money.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. If you love breakfast, also check out West Egg. It is located on the corner of Ontario and Fairbanks. They have excellent food. We look forward to a future visit from you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha, Nebraska
Top Contributor
199 reviews 199 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 71 cities Reviews in 71 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2013

The service at this hotel may have been the best service I've ever experienced. Not just at a hotel, but anywhere. They weren't overbearing and really cared about the customers. It's in a good area of Chicago with good restaurants around. I recommend Timothy O'Tooles at the corner or Epic Burger.

The decor in the hotel is different and at first odd, but it grew on me.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jennifer K, Front Office Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, January 26, 2013
Thank you so much for taking the time to share a review of your experience at our location. The entire team at the Fairfield Inn & Suites is 100% dedicated to our guests and I am so pleased that you experienced this and shared it with the Trip advisor community.

We are centrally located close to many downtown eateries but I happen to be a fan of both Timothy O'Tooles and Epic Burger.

Our boutique style hotel and decor is out of the ordinary for most Fairfield Inn & Suites but this is just one of the many ways we like to stand out in the Chicago hotel community. Thank you once again for the very positive review and we look forward to serving you and all the Trip advisor members who visit the Downtown Chicago area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#45 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#50 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.