We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Value/Location” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 167 hotels in Chicago
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Value/Location”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013 via mobile

Stayed in early January, during a warm period, and due to the wonderful location walked just about everywhere.
Red Line was about 4 blks away, CTA about 2 blocks, so did not miss much of what we wanted from Chicago.
Staff was welcoming both coming and going, only negative was small room, however, really only there to wake, and then wind down and sleep.

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. Please visit us in the summer or fall when the weather is even nicer to walk around! Next time you stay with us, stay in a double bedded room or suite. Those are our largest rooms and we think you will truly like them.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

756 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    383
    302
    47
    17
    7
See reviews for
201
169
45
197
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (129)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2013

This hotel was in a great location for a business trip to Chicago. It is about a block and a half from Michigan Ave. with plenty of restaurants, close proximity to bus-lines, about a 12 minute walk from Orange line (came in from Midway), etc. Front desk staff was very friendly and always willing to arrange a cab or give advice. Breakfast spread had a decent variety and was a huge perk on early mornings. They do have an exercise facility, which I used, although it is quite small. Overall great place to stay in Chicago-we will continue to choose this spot in the future!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments and sharing with our future guests your experience. We are glad you good advantage of the CTA orange line. We also are close to the red line, for future reference. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chico, California, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2013

This hotel is in a perfect locationfor access to the downtown area. My husband and I found it perfect for a getaway. Staff is wonderful.We walked everywhere. Ihave stayed at Fairfield Inns around the country, and this is one of the best. We are looking forward to our next visit.

Room Tip: We received a surprise upgrade - they automatically offered us a better room at the same price. if y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for the review and naming us your favorite Fairfield Inn & Suites. Please tell your friends about your experience and think about us when you visit Chicago again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

We have stayed at many Fairfield Inns around IL and IN and they are fairly consistent - when you walk into the lobby HERE you will not know where you are! Very modern, jazzy lobby area with registration staff who jump to help you. There is a sense of a city "boutique" hotel, but at the prices they charge, you are getting an amazing bargain. We had a corner king room and felt very comfortable and did not experience any noise or other distractions. The breakfast room is bit funky with its little yellow plastic chairs, but another attempt to be "cool". Fairly standard Fairfield Breakfast which we are always satisfied with. The pillows were a thick feather model which does not work for me and they quickly brought me a flatter polyester style which was perfect. Location is fantastic as everyone notes - barely two blocks to Michigan. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for the great review. It is fun for us at the hotel to tell future guests that we don't look like a typical Fairfield Inn & Suites. Our pictures on our website and all social media outlets accurately display our unique look. We are happy to hear that staff took great care of you and was able to bring you a different pillow for your comfort. We hope you continue to compare us positively to all the other Fairfield's you visit. Please stay with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Freeport, IL
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at this Fairfield Inn on a Saturday in January, 2013. We used the valet parking package which was just a bit more than the self-park option and worth it with three kids ages 8, 6 and 3 years.

The hotel was clean and the staff extremely friendly. We arrived in the morning and our room was not ready yet, so they took my cell phone number and called me when the room was available. We had a room on the top floor (15) which had somewhat of a view (at least not a view of a brick wall). The decor is modern and in good condition. We had a king suite which was perfect (adults and 3-year-old in the king, other two kids on a pull out sofa). Having two TVs in the room was welcome when we all wanted to chill in the evening with different shows. Our room also had a small fridge and microwave.

The front desk staff again, was very friendly. The bellman told us more than once we should stop by the second floor for some hot chocolate in the breakfast room at any time.

The location was fabulous. We took about a 10-minute walk to the Signature Room for lunch (95th floor of John Hancock building) and another 10-minute walk to Ed Debevic's for dinner.

Breakfast was pretty standard fare for this type of hotel: oatmeal, bagels, pastries, hard-boiled eggs, waffles, egg sandwiches, yogurt, some apples and bananas. I'd definitely stay here again.

Room Tip: Higher floors give you a bit of a view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your excellent review. We are so happy you had a great stay. I agree with your tip: stay on a higher floor. Our 15th floor also has an elevated ceiling, which makes all the rooms feel much larger. If we have rooms available on the 15th floor for any future visits, please request one at check-in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tulsa, Oklahoma
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites for 2 nights recently. The room was clean and comfortable and the breakfast was an added bonus. Although, I would suggest heading to the breakfast room early. At 9:30 it was fairly busy. The entire staff was helpful and friendly. We would definitely stay her again!

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your review. We also appreciate the comment about arriving early to breakfast. That is an excellent suggestion. Breakfast is available from 6:00-10:00am every day. However, on the weekends, or during the holiday season, it is typical for guests to sleep in and rush to breakfast before it closes. 8am is probably the perfect time to get a seat and enjoy yourself on a busy holiday weekend. We hope you visit us again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2013

This was a very nice hotel. The location is great. My only gripe was that the front desk did not know that Lincoln Park Zoo Lights were not on the day we went there by taxi. We had asked at the front desk if getting a return cab would be a problem. They said it would be no problem, but the Zoo was not open that evening. It cost us $20 in cab fare. Other than that, our two night stay was wonderful. They also have a very nice breakfast . We would stay here again. It was a very good bargain.

Room Tip: We had a mini suite for the same price as a regular room. It was very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, February 1, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are so sorry for the misunderstanding regarding the zoo lights. Moving forward, we have a new program in place with our front desk staff informing them of the dates, times, and events in the city. We hope this will eliminate any misinformation given to our guests. We hope you did have a fantastic stay shopping and dining during your trip.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn
Chicago Fairfield
Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#33 Family Hotel in Chicago
#35 Spa Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Marriott, Tingo, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Asiatravel.com Holdings, Hotels.com, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.