We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Experience” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #47 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Chardon, Ohio
1 review
“Great Experience”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

My mother, my daughter and myself stayed in a suite, it was very clean, spacious and the staff went above and beyond to make our experience wonderful. It was in short walking distance to all the shops. The continental breakfast was great also.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for the review. We are glad you had a nice trip to Chicago with your family. We hope this is an annual trip and we can see you all again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

903 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    445
    364
    61
    22
    11
See reviews for
236
203
52
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 15, 2012

This hotel is about 1.5 blocks from the Magnificent Mile shopping area and a block more to a bus stop. Our room was a bit small but very comfortable. They had a large flat screen TV and even called us after check in to be sure we had everything we needed. The room had funky updated colors and ammenities with plenty of plug ins for recharging everything. The breakfast was amazing, waffles, hard boiled eggs, cereal, danish bagels, Jimmy Dean sandwiches, juice, and more. We stayed on the 14th floor and the elevators were fast and available. The lobby and breakfast area staff were very friendly and accommodating. Loved the free internet. This was a very reasonable choice in this high end area. I would stay here and again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your positive review. We are so glad to hear we were a perfect fit for your trip to Chicago. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, Illinois
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 14, 2012

Stayed at the Fairfield Inn and Suites only one night for a girls night out. The location is perfect for shopping, eating, entertainment. Very nice reception area and always a friendly face to help out. Charles the doorman was awesome and very helpful. We felt very safe in the area. Nice and bright.

Room Tip: Rooms are not huge, but perfect for a quick overnight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recognizing Charles, the bellman. We are happy to hear you felt safe and enjoyed the company of the staff at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. We look forward to your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jacksonville, Florida
Top Contributor
83 reviews 83 reviews
40 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

This hotel is contemporary and fun. The downside is the rooms are tiny with no real closet but that could be expected from a downtown location. It came with Free Breakfast. We only went down for it once because it was just a bunch of pastries and the only thing hot was oatmeal. Over all, the stay was fine but you are paying for the location, not the hotel!!!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we only offer a deluxe continental breakfast at the hotel but we do have Jimmy Jean's breakfast sandwiches, waffles, and oatmeal as our hot items. It is a basic breakfast to jump start your day but has a variety of cold items. We also are within walking distance to West Egg, which is a fantastic breakfast/lunch restaurant. If you are looking for a full hot breakfast, we definately suggest checking them out. Our location is unbeatable, so if you are busy on vacation or working, our proximity other destinations may be more important, like you mentioned. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Fairfield Suites for 3 nights for shopping/sightseeing/meeting friends. The location is perfect, very central to everything...easy walking to Aquarium and Navy Pier and right around the corner from the main shopping area. Well lit entrance and safe feeling location. Nice reception where there was always staff ready to help day or night. Rooms were pretty basic but that didnt matter to me on a short trip. Toiletries were very handy as AA lost my bag for 30 hours. Plenty tv channels. Masses of towels in the bathroom which I appreciated, sometimes hotels are a bit greedy with towels. Breakfast was ample, nothing special and the breakfast room was nice. They work round you for cleaning the room daily.
I would def stay here again if I am back in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like we were a great fit for your needs; proximity to restaurants, shopping, and tourist sites, like Navy Pier and the Shedd Aquarium. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our plentiful towels. We recently upgraded our towels and they are more plush than in the past, as well. Also, we are glad housekeeping was able to be flexible with cleaning your room. We always want to make our guests feel comfortable and meet their requests, when available. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hats off to KENNY in particular at the front desk. Will stay there anytime....felt safe, welcomed and comfortable - all the things I need on a business trip. Housekeeping was also really sensitive to my meeting needs and phone calls - never an issue. The propserty is within walking distance of everything on Michigan making it convenient to restaurants, stores, other hotels for meetings - even Navy Pier in good weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recognizing Kenny! We are proud of our fantastic front desk and housekeeping staff. They obviously went above and beyond to make you feel safe, welcome, and comfortable while you were traveling to Chicago for business. We hope you think of the Fairfield Inn & Suites on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We cannot say enough about the fabulous weekend we spent at the Fairfield. The staff were very accommodating, very friendly, always asked us how our day was, remembered our names, and went out of their way to book us into local attractions. The room was clean, & comfortable. Location of the hotel is great! Very short walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and many more 'must see's' in Chicago. Great complimentary breakfast, Starbucks across the street and good restaurants within walking distance. We loved our stay here! Felt like a home away from home. Two canadian girls

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, "Two Canadian Girls!" It is great to hear that the front desk staff acted as a fantastic concierge during your stay. They are a great resource for all the must-see tourist attractions and restaurants in the area. We hope you visit Chicago again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#40 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#56 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Marriott, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.