We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Perfect central hotel for shopping or sightseeing.” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #35 of 168 hotels in Chicago
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
59 reviews 59 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
“Perfect central hotel for shopping or sightseeing.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 13, 2012

Stayed at the Fairfield Suites for 3 nights for shopping/sightseeing/meeting friends. The location is perfect, very central to everything...easy walking to Aquarium and Navy Pier and right around the corner from the main shopping area. Well lit entrance and safe feeling location. Nice reception where there was always staff ready to help day or night. Rooms were pretty basic but that didnt matter to me on a short trip. Toiletries were very handy as AA lost my bag for 30 hours. Plenty tv channels. Masses of towels in the bathroom which I appreciated, sometimes hotels are a bit greedy with towels. Breakfast was ample, nothing special and the breakfast room was nice. They work round you for cleaning the room daily.
I would def stay here again if I am back in Chicago.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like we were a great fit for your needs; proximity to restaurants, shopping, and tourist sites, like Navy Pier and the Shedd Aquarium. We are pleased to hear you enjoy our plentiful towels. We recently upgraded our towels and they are more plush than in the past, as well. Also, we are glad housekeeping was able to be flexible with cleaning your room. We always want to make our guests feel comfortable and meet their requests, when available. Please visit again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

806 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    401
    328
    52
    18
    7
See reviews for
215
180
47
211
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (144)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
San Diego, California
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

Hats off to KENNY in particular at the front desk. Will stay there anytime....felt safe, welcomed and comfortable - all the things I need on a business trip. Housekeeping was also really sensitive to my meeting needs and phone calls - never an issue. The propserty is within walking distance of everything on Michigan making it convenient to restaurants, stores, other hotels for meetings - even Navy Pier in good weather.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments and recognizing Kenny! We are proud of our fantastic front desk and housekeeping staff. They obviously went above and beyond to make you feel safe, welcome, and comfortable while you were traveling to Chicago for business. We hope you think of the Fairfield Inn & Suites on your next visit to Chicago.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Red Deer, Alberta, Canada
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 12, 2012

We cannot say enough about the fabulous weekend we spent at the Fairfield. The staff were very accommodating, very friendly, always asked us how our day was, remembered our names, and went out of their way to book us into local attractions. The room was clean, & comfortable. Location of the hotel is great! Very short walking distance to the Magnificent Mile, Navy Pier and many more 'must see's' in Chicago. Great complimentary breakfast, Starbucks across the street and good restaurants within walking distance. We loved our stay here! Felt like a home away from home. Two canadian girls

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review, "Two Canadian Girls!" It is great to hear that the front desk staff acted as a fantastic concierge during your stay. They are a great resource for all the must-see tourist attractions and restaurants in the area. We hope you visit Chicago again in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blaine, Minnesota
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Excellent location! The vallet service and front desk associates were excellent. The breakfast area was stocked with all the items I needed. My room was neat, modern and very clean. I only stayed one night but would stay for an extended weekend. Shopping and restaurants in the area were great. I called the valet in the morning for my car and the car was ready when I arrived outside. Best Fairfield I've ever stayed in.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are happy to hear we made your quick, 1 night stay with us convienent and efficient for your travel needs. We hope you visit us again for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Williamsburg, Virginia
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
35 hotel reviews
Reviews in 45 cities Reviews in 45 cities
36 helpful votes 36 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

Stayed at the Fairfield because the price was less ourtageous than other DT Chicago hotels. Room was small, but clean and had two chairs. Staff was fine and it was about what I expected. Two things, however, reduced its rating. The first was the heatpump which was terribly noisy and make a strange noise everytime it started. The second thing is its proximity to the NW Hospital -- ambulances with sirens blaring were in and out all day and all night. Oh well, it was less expensive.

Room Tip: Stay on side opposite hospital.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your honest review. We are happy we met your expectations but disappointed we didn't exceed them. Our rooms are average size for Chicago, 275 sq. feet for a standard king room but our suites are 330 sq. feet. Our suites may be a better fit for your expectations. They include a microwave, refrigerator, and a good size seating area. Our suite prices are fairly comparable to our standard rooms. Regarding the distrubance from NWM hospital, it is obviously hard to predict the noise level due to our proximity. Rooms facing Ontario Street may be quieter. However, if you are visiting Northwestern Memorial Hospital, you can't get any closer by staying with us. Please visit us again on a future trip to Chicago
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Champaign, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012

I recently stayed at the Fairfield Inn downtown and have to say I was pleasantly suprised. Right from the start, the staff was attentive, the hotel looked modern and inviting and the room was defintetly more upscale and larger than any other Fairfield I've stayed in. Of course you pay a little more for staying downtown but I'd stay at the Fairfield before booking at the Courtyard. I'm a Marriott member so I always book through them first and will certainly stay here again!!

Room Tip: All the rooms are good!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 16, 2012
Thank you for your review. We are pleased to hear you were pleasantly surprised by our hotel and services. We definately don't look or act like a typical Fairfield Inn & Suites and we appreciate that you recognize that we stand a part from the norm. Thank you for being a Marriott member and we look forward to you staying with us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Top Contributor
182 reviews 182 reviews
100 hotel reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
110 helpful votes 110 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

I've stayed in this neighborhood a few times, so I took a chance on the Fairfield Inn for one night. As a platinum elite, I would have expected a nicer/larger room or possibly a suite, but I was stuck in a corner room that seemed "small" to me. The room layout was enteryway, straight ahead to small sink (with very little counter space) - then a small bathroom; to the left was the drawers and bed/bedroom. Even though the room was small and hard to manuever around, everything was functioning and there was minimal street noise. The neighborhood was nice, tons of mid-level food offerings are steps away.
The free breakfast in the morning was adequate, but there were quite a few people, so seating was limited. I ate quickly and departed. Service was good. The staff is very friendly.
Overall, I'd give this an average, just because I expect a little more space in a room and I was not "wowed".

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, November 8, 2012
Thank you for your review. I am sorry we were not able to upgrade you to a suite since you are an elite Marriott member. However, as along as we have rooms available, we always upgrade when possible. Our breakfast area can get busy but we also have our boardroom open for additional seating. We hope that you stay with us again and we will definately WOW you!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#29 Business Hotel in Chicago
#36 Family Hotel in Chicago
#48 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, Venere, BookingOdigeoWL, TripOnline SA, Marriott, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.