We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Hotel in Downtown Chicago” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Near North Side)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #47 of 174 Hotels in Chicago
Omaha, Nebraska
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Great Hotel in Downtown Chicago”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2012

I recently visited Chicago on business and stayed at the Fairfield Inn & Suites. The value was great for they city, it was centrally located, safe area, friendly staff, clean rooms, handy business center to print my boarding pass and free internet. I couldn't have asked for a better value.

Room Tip: I stayed in the room with a King bed and a sofa bed. It was spacious and provided a nice alternativ...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for your comments and telling our future guests about our clena rooms and our friendly staff. Please think of us again when you are traveling to Chicago for business or pleasure.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

902 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    444
    364
    61
    22
    11
See reviews for
236
202
52
238
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (168)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Denver, Colorado
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 43 cities Reviews in 43 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 22, 2012

I travel to Chicago on business often. I don't spend much time in the hotel, so in this economy value takes precedence over luxury. When this property showed up as the best rate at a Marriott property downtown, I somewhat reluctantly booked this over the other options. I've been in my share of interstate Fairfield Inn locations. But this location does not fit the stereotype!

Sure, the lobby is not as elegant as the JW. But the place is modern, clean, and the staff are just as professional as the JW down the way. At less than half the price! The room is not quite as nice, and the bed not quite as luxurious, but it's a really clean, efficient and comfortable space well suited to my business needs (and economic realities).

The location is handy to both upscale and casual eating, from fine steakhouse to local pizza to better fast food. Dominick's is nearby, and it's more like a Whole Foods than a typical Dominick's, with a great wine selection and healthy food to go options. And breakfast was fine and very handy.

Sure, if I was splurging on a romantic getaway weekend, I'd try the Marriott on the Magnificent Mile, the JW or the Renaissance. But for my business needs, or a family looking for a great "home base" for visiting Chicago on a budget, it's a great option.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 27, 2012
Thank you for the wondeful review! We are so happy you had a memorable stay with us. Thank you for pointing out that the hotel does not fit the stereotypical Fairfield Inn & Suites as most guests are accustom to staying at. Also, the greatest compliment you can give us is that we are just as professtional as the JW Hotel. Yes, we have the basics, as a select service hotel, but our proximity to fine dining restaurants and luxurious shopping gives guests the best of both worlds; a economic and luxurious travel experience. Please continue to tell others about the hotel and we look forward to your future stays with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glen Dale, West Virginia
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 21, 2012

My husband and I recently spent 5 nights here. We had a regular room with a queen-size bed.
The room was very small and had no surface space for suitcases and other items. We struggled to function in the space. On our third day we switched to a suite. It was more expensive but worth it.
This is a typical Fairfield Inn in a large city. The service was good, the rooms clean but small, the location was excellent (close to Michigan Ave., restaurants, Northwestern Hosp., Hancock Building, etc.)breakfast was included in price and lasted until 10:00 AM which we enjoyed. One person could stay comfortably in a regular room, more than one person should reserve at least a room with double beds or better yet, a suite.

Room Tip: Reserve the largest room you can afford.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We appreciate that you described our suite verses a standard room. I also like to spread out my personal belongings when I am at a hotel, as well, and our suites are a great option for that. The two closet spaces, 2 tvs, cd player, microwave, refrigerator, and living space, makes it a wonderful room for a couple of days in Chicago. Please visit us again and request a suite for your next stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver, Washington
Top Contributor
84 reviews 84 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2012

Service was fantastic; Charles, Felipe, Kenny, Jacques (spelling? sorry).
Thanks for the smiling service and willingness to help with, well, recommendations, directions, and the jokes. We enjoyed that you can keep it so professional and relaxed easy going fun at the same time.

The location is perfect and although you don't have a lakefront view the price and service AT that location is great.

Room Tip: Breakfast lounge on floor 2 - keep that in mind if those kind of things might bother you for your ro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review and telling everyone how fantastic the service was from Charles, Felipe, Kenny, and Jaqueia. We have a great front desk staff and we are so happy to hear they made you feel like you were at home. We look forward to you visiting us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southport CT
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

This hotel is an excellent choice for a trip to Chicago. All the major attractions are nearby (shopping, Navy Pier, Millennium Park, the Art Institute) and lots of restaurants within walking distance. Parking is available and look for discounts when booking your room. Staff was all very helpful and courteous. We only stayed one night but were able to check our bags and leave our car in the garage for the following day as we did our sightseeing. Hotel is charming on the outside, reminded me of a boutique European hotel, but very modern and up to date inside. Rooms were clean and bathroom was well lit and spacious. You could pay lots more to stay in Chicago and if you want a hotel with restaurants and other amenities, this is not the place for you. But for the most part Fairfield Inn has everything you need. Would definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. We appreciate you highlighting our location to local attractions, convenient parking, and our unique, boutique inspired hotel decor. I am sure you can agree that we are not a typical Fairfield Inn & Suites. We are unique in our service and decor. We have all the necessities to make your stay enjoyable in downtown Chicago. Please visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The employees were extremely friendly, helpful and curteous to a very fun bunch of ladies visiting Chicago. The location was ideal for shopping, eating and Navy Pier. We felt very safe day and night. The free breakfast was well supplied and the entire hotel was very clean. We were never awakened by slamming doors - it was peaceful and we had a great night rest. The decor is really updated and modern adding to the overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a nice weekend get-a-way with the ladies to enjoy shopping down Michigan Avenue and ate at numberous restaurants. We appreciate you telling our future guests reading these reviews that you were not woken up by slamming doors and it was a quiet hotel in the heart of downtown Chicago. Please visit us again next year with the ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

From the moment my wife and I arrived to checkin at the hotel, the front desk staff did everything they could to make our stay an excellent one... from offering a room with a better view, accommodating a few of our requests for extra services, to holding our bags for us on the day we left.

The complimentary breakfast is excellent with a solid selection that will please everyone. I also appreciated the three free computers with Internet access and printers.

Just 2 blocks off the main shopping strip and a few blocks from the beaches and downtown, the hotel's location is extremely convenient.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased to hear that the staff took great care of you and your wife. The team here truly cares about our guests and ensuring everyone has a great stay. We appreciate your review on our breakfast selections. Although we offer a continental breakfast, it does have a good variety of items for all taste pallets. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Near North Side
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#32 Business Hotel in Chicago
#42 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#54 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Marriott, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.