We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Super friendly staff and clean property” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Save Saved
You added Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611 (Gold Coast)   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Deal
Free Breakfast
Ranked #38 of 169 hotels in Chicago
cleveland
1 review
“Super friendly staff and clean property”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2012

The employees were extremely friendly, helpful and curteous to a very fun bunch of ladies visiting Chicago. The location was ideal for shopping, eating and Navy Pier. We felt very safe day and night. The free breakfast was well supplied and the entire hotel was very clean. We were never awakened by slamming doors - it was peaceful and we had a great night rest. The decor is really updated and modern adding to the overall great experience.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for your review. It sounds like you had a nice weekend get-a-way with the ladies to enjoy shopping down Michigan Avenue and ate at numberous restaurants. We appreciate you telling our future guests reading these reviews that you were not woken up by slamming doors and it was a quiet hotel in the heart of downtown Chicago. Please visit us again next year with the ladies.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

838 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    419
    336
    56
    19
    8
See reviews for
223
187
49
218
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (149)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 16, 2012

From the moment my wife and I arrived to checkin at the hotel, the front desk staff did everything they could to make our stay an excellent one... from offering a room with a better view, accommodating a few of our requests for extra services, to holding our bags for us on the day we left.

The complimentary breakfast is excellent with a solid selection that will please everyone. I also appreciated the three free computers with Internet access and printers.

Just 2 blocks off the main shopping strip and a few blocks from the beaches and downtown, the hotel's location is extremely convenient.

I can highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Director of Sales at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 22, 2012
Thank you for the great comments. We are so pleased to hear that the staff took great care of you and your wife. The team here truly cares about our guests and ensuring everyone has a great stay. We appreciate your review on our breakfast selections. Although we offer a continental breakfast, it does have a good variety of items for all taste pallets. We look forward to your future stays with us!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 13, 2012

THis hotel is in a perfect location, right across the street from the worlds best popcorn shop! We only stayed one night, as we were picking my daughter up from camp. This location is a block from Michigan Ave. My only complaint is that the TV didnt work correctly, and they never came to fix it, even after I called. The breakfast was continental and it was adequate if you wanted something really light. The breakfast room however was very small and congested.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed Garrett's Popcorn. The Chicago Mix; cheddar & carmel is a hotel favorite. We are sorry to hear about the television not being fixed efficiently during your stay. I have informed the front desk and engineering departments about this discrepancy and communication error for the future. We hope you stay with us again to get that famous Chicago popcorn!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Twin Cities
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2012

Very nice employees at the front desk. Very clean rooms.
Free breakfast was typical Marriott fare which means not very good (almost everything comes from a box). But hey, its free and we found something we could stomach every day.
The rooms are small since this is an older hotel but the decor is modern and nice.
The location to Michigan Ave and the Pier is great.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Did you get the chance to try our fresh waffles at breakfast or whole fruit? They are delicious. Also, we appreciate that you noticed our decor. The hotel was built in 2000, so it is only 12 years old and renovation was completed in 2009. We are lucky to have a great staff to maintain its presentable appearance. We look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marshfield, Wisconsin
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2012 via mobile

We were surprised to find the location landed us right in the middle of downtown Chicago. We easily walked to restaurants, shops, and sights. The hotel was clean and staff were courteous and helpful. The only qualm we had with the room was the a/c-- it would quickly freeze the room and yet if you turned it down, the room would get stuffy. Other than that, it was very quiet and we slept well. I was surprised at how clean the bathroom was-- kudos! Breakfast was adequate- typical fare.. We would definitely return!

  • Stayed August 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. We are glad you enjoyed your time in Chicago! We appreciate your comment about the clean bathrooms. Our housekeeping staff works so hard and those little comments mean a lot. I have passed this comment to our Housekeeping Director so she can share it with her team. Next time you stay with us, try opening the windows slightly in your room. This might give a good balance between the extreme air conditioning a nice breeze to keep you comfortable. We hope you visit us again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
highland park illinois
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

When in Chicago, we like to stay at the Monaco (way funner and more attractive) or the Fairmont (much cushier). But I was meeting friends who wanted to up their Marriott points, so we stayed at this Marriott property. The staff was very nice, the room was very clean, and the location was very good. But the room was tiny, the bathroom kinda blah, there was no closet or minibar or robe or any other perk--it was just pretty basic all the way around. But it does offer comp get-your-own breakfast of cereal, waffles, bagels, and hard-boiled eggs, and that's a nice little bonus.

Room Tip: Ask for a high floor that faces the street (that's what I had, but my friend had a low floor roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. Yes, we are a basic hotels with all the essentials to make your stay comfortable and convenient. We don't have the frills of a full service boutique hotel in Chicago, but we feel most guests expect that upon arrival. Next time you stay with, request a room on the 15th floor. They have elevated ceilings and they make the rooms appear much larger. We hope you choose to stay with us again!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Frankfurt, Germany
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 10, 2012

Fairfield Inn is situated in a 2 minutes distance to Michigan Avenue. The main attractions are in walking distance.
There a lots of restaurants and shopping facilities around.
The hotel inside is very clean, the staff friendly, reliable and attentive.
Free Continental Breakfast was included, everything was filled up immediately.
Although the room was next to the lift, it was quiet. The room was proper, comfortable and convenient. For a longer stay an additional cupboard would be nice to have.
Free high-speed internet was available and very stable, so we could organize the stay very easily.
The hotel is to be recommended

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stefanie K, Manager at Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, responded to this review, August 16, 2012
Thank you for your comments. It sounds like you had a great stay with your family. We appreciate that you emphasized the friendly staff, reliability, and attentiveness toward our guests. We are proud of our staff; as they do a wonderful job taking care of everyone. We hope you return to Chicago again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile

Address: 216 East Ontario Street, Chicago, IL 60611
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Chicago > Gold Coast
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#25 Business Hotel in Chicago
#43 Romantic Hotel in Chicago
#48 Family Hotel in Chicago
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile 2.5*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to our Marriott Flagship Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago downtown hotel. Our unique, contemporary hotel features 15 stories, located in the heart of the Magnificent Mile, with 185 guestrooms and suites. We are friendly, fun, but yet down to business. We provide a comfortable, affordable oasis in Chicago’s Downtown. All rooms include breakfast and high speed Wi-Fi Internet. We are one of the closest hotels to Navy Pier and Michigan Avenue shopping. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Tingo, Travelocity, BookingOdigeoWL, Marriott, Priceline, TripOnline SA and Venere so you can book your Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Fairfield Inn And Suites Chicago Downtown
Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown Hotel Chicago
Fairfield Inn Chicago
Fairfield Chicago
Chicago Fairfield Inn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fairfield Inn & Suites Chicago Downtown/Magnificent Mile, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.